[SOLVED] CT60e not booting.

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
ube
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

[SOLVED] CT60e not booting.

Post by ube »

As the title states, see pictures (if I manage to add them, on mobile).

It was working just fine yesterday up until 2am this night. I might have done a quick power on/off/on, when I think about it (my power button is two Dupont cables as of now).

I've swapped memory stick, disconnected HD and Floppy.. Can't think of anything else, apart from if there is a way to reset (any?) configuration stored on the ct60e. Oh, the machine works just fine with the CT60e disabled.



Link to images: second image is first boot, first image is after pressing reset. https://imgur.com/a/a8Ox2id
Last edited by ube on Sun Feb 24, 2019 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b
stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: CT60e not booting.

Post by stormy »

Sometimes if you reset a few times it will bring it back to life
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb
User avatar
ube
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: CT60e not booting.

Post by ube »

Tried that, I'm guessing you're thinking of "black on power on" related to NVRAM? Mine shows picture at power on, just won't go into boot.
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b
Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 794
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: CT60e not booting.

Post by Rustynutt »

Have had to reflash one on ocassion. Not sure what caused it.
User avatar
ube
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: CT60e not booting.

Post by ube »

Rustynutt wrote:Have had to reflash one on ocassion. Not sure what caused it.
My man! How do I go about to do this? I can't really say that I've found so much documentation regarding the ct60e, or CT60/63 for that matter..
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12908
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60e not booting.

Post by wongck »

May be that the speed is gone, and it goes too fast and crashes after the Falcon /CT60 screen comes on.

Do you have a switch to toggle between 060 & 030?
If yes then switch it to 030 mode and power on.
It should come up 030 mode, then use CT60CONF CPX to change the speed to like 60 or 70 MHZ. Click OK.
Now do not power off but flick switch back to 060, it will hang of course.
Press the hardware reset. See if it boots.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
tjam
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:54 pm
Location: Finland

Re: CT60e not booting.

Post by tjam »

You can try to reset CT60 nvram with resetnvm.prg. It's included in tos060.lzh which you can find here:
http://didierm.pagesperso-orange.fr/files/tos060.lzh
User avatar
ube
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: CT60e not booting.

Post by ube »

tjam wrote:You can try to reset CT60 nvram with resetnvm.prg. It's included in tos060.lzh which you can find here:
http://didierm.pagesperso-orange.fr/files/tos060.lzh
No luck.
wongck wrote:use CT60CONF CPX
I'm guessing the one from the file tjam linked? No luck either.

However, I probably should replace the clock module anyways, it's bad. Just the thing that stuff worked just fine even if the battery was depleted. :/
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b
Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: CT60e not booting.

Post by Galvez »

I have solved similar problems (I got the same screen showed in the second picture) by re-flashing the TOS.

The flashing tool is quite straight forward
http://jil.guru/32bit/CT60e/Tools/Legacy/

You can do it in 030 mode

Here is the TOS image to be flashed, I guess ct60e103.bin is the image you need to flash.
http://jil.guru/32bit/CT60e/TOS/Legacy/
User avatar
ube
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: CT60e not booting.

Post by ube »

Setting 90MHz, power off, enable ct60e, power on did the trick.
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12908
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60e not booting.

Post by wongck »

ube wrote:Setting 90MHz, power off, enable ct60e, power on did the trick.
Glad it's working now by setting the correct speed.
I suspected the speed was corrupted and too high when I saw only part of the welcome screen is shown before it crashing.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12908
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60e not booting.

Post by wongck »

ube wrote:
wongck wrote:use CT60CONF CPX
I'm guessing the one from the file tjam linked? No luck either.
Whichever the CT60e is using. That one above, by Didier, may not work for Ct60e. I don't know, as I use CT63.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Post Reply

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”