ct60e - beware RF inteference

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 771
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

ct60e - beware RF inteference

Post by stormy »

Hey guys,

I noticed that internal PSUs, Picos etc can cause strange effects like crashing, memory errors, data transfer corruption. I noticed shielding the internal PSU helps, but not completely. I have come to this conclusion by trying different internal PSUs, external PSUs and trying with different forms of shielding. I think the ct60e is very sensitive to RF and as such I have gone back to an external ATX.

Anyone else experienced this? Or maybe this sheds some light on problems others are having.
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: ct60e - beware RF inteference

Post by 1st1 »

Not yet, but when my ct60e is active in 060 mode, I can hear some more noises out of the Falcon external attached speaker than on a standard Falcon or this one before adding the card. This is something I have to look closer later.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
User avatar
Trixster
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 1:15 pm
Location: England

Re: ct60e - beware RF inteference

Post by Trixster »

No issues so far, using a pico psu
Atari Falcon CT60e | Atari 2600 | Atari Jaguar | A1200 80mhz B1260 Indi AGA2 Ide-fix Express | SNES
A4000/060 CS Mk2 Indi AGA Voodoo3 G3 950Mhz PPC Deneb | A3000/060 WarpEngine CV64 Deneb 486SXLC2 | PS1
Acorn A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Atom | Master Turbo | A500 | C64 | 3DO | Saturn | PS2 | CPC6128 | X68000
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2805
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: ct60e - beware RF inteference

Post by alexh »

mzry wrote:I noticed that internal PSUs, Picos etc
Pico ATX is an external PSU not an internal. Isn't it? Sure it is. Or is it half and half?
User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1200
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: ct60e - beware RF inteference

Post by dhedberg »

alexh wrote:
mzry wrote:I noticed that internal PSUs, Picos etc
Pico ATX is an external PSU not an internal. Isn't it? Sure it is. Or is it half and half?
The external part is an AC-DC converter. The internal part is a DC-DC converter, usually accepting an input in the range of 12-25V DC. So I guess you can call it half and half! :-)
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org.
Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo It's that time of the year again, or click here to feel the JOY.
User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1471
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: ct60e - beware RF inteference

Post by paul92706 »

dhedberg wrote:
alexh wrote:
mzry wrote:I noticed that internal PSUs, Picos etc
Pico ATX is an external PSU not an internal. Isn't it? Sure it is. Or is it half and half?
The external part is an AC-DC converter. The internal part is a DC-DC converter, usually accepting an input in the range of 12-25V DC. So I guess you can call it half and half! :-)
Ah! This makes good sense!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI
User avatar
checksum
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 9:36 am

Re: ct60e - beware RF inteference

Post by checksum »

Trixster wrote:No issues so far, using a pico psu
+1
Post Reply

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”