CT60e is coming :)

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1471
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by paul92706 »

Faucon2001 wrote:I have checked on eBay they are several 68060 RC50 and RC75 for sale around USD$100. I don't know if they are genuine.
ya i think those aren't the genuine ones, exxos knows more about these CPU's, if i'm correct the genuine ones go for a few hundred bucks and hard to find.
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI
User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by exxos »

paul92706 wrote:
Faucon2001 wrote:I have checked on eBay they are several 68060 RC50 and RC75 for sale around USD$100. I don't know if they are genuine.
ya i think those aren't the genuine ones, exxos knows more about these CPU's, if i'm correct the genuine ones go for a few hundred bucks and hard to find.

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/C ... /index.htm

I wasted a lot of money on trying to locate genuine ones. There might well be ones out there, but its easy money for them to grind off the 002 number and re-print 004 on there and sell them as REV 6 when they are not.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2382
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by calimero »

^ omg! This is terrible! I did not have a clue about this nightmare around 68060...

---

I do not want to spoil party but Amiga Vampire 600 project and entire FPGA approach seems much cheaper and more versatile...
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1471
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by paul92706 »

Wow, this seem's to be a mission to search for a good genuine 060, there seem's to be alot of fakes! Holy moly!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12943
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by wongck »

calimero wrote: I even creamed more stuff in that hole :D
IMG_7551a.jpg
IMG_7529a.jpg
Very Nice !! :megaphone: :cheers:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12943
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by wongck »

exxos wrote:Going by prices on ebay of CT60 falcons, it would seem around £400 seems to be the going rate for a CT60 with a CPU. Falcon adding 400+ ontop of the price of course. I can't remember what I paid for my CT60...
I paid around 350EUR each for my CT63 that was in 2010ish (or earlier, can't remember).... and both can be OC to 106MHZ without any issues.
Funny thing is I am using my Firebee nowadays.
But just had a struggle over the last weekend considering whether to use my falcon/CT63 instead of the FB.
Some stuff don't seems to work so right on the FB.... :roll:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by exxos »

wongck wrote: Some stuff don't seems to work so right on the FB.... :roll:
I've had that with someone who was testing GB5 out ages ago, really strange graphics problems on the windows. Overall the "vibe" I get isn't to great with firebee :shrug:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12943
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by wongck »

exxos wrote: I've had that with someone who was testing GB5 out ages ago, really strange graphics problems on the windows. Overall the "vibe" I get isn't to great with firebee :shrug:
To be fair, it is afterall an hobbyist thingy.... like this CT60e.
No real management to answer to..... and can get away with most stuff... :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by exxos »

wongck wrote:
exxos wrote: I've had that with someone who was testing GB5 out ages ago, really strange graphics problems on the windows. Overall the "vibe" I get isn't to great with firebee :shrug:
To be fair, it is afterall an hobbyist thingy.... like this CT60e.
No real management to answer to..... and can get away with most stuff... :mrgreen:
Is there was management involved then nothing would work! :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by Faucon2001 »

Is there on Atari a soft similar to Amiga to know the full pedigree of the 68060 (as seen on some links)?

If it's the case, the risk when you buy on eBay is limited ; you test the ship when you receive it, and if it's a fake you ask eBay for refund and send it back together with a complaint for fake / illegal product. Refund comes in less than 24h. I have done this several time and it works great.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by exxos »

Faucon2001 wrote:Is there on Atari a soft similar to Amiga to know the full pedigree of the 68060 (as seen on some links)?

If it's the case, the risk when you buy on eBay is limited ; you test the ship when you receive it, and if it's a fake you ask eBay for refund and send it back together with a complaint for fake / illegal product. Refund comes in less than 24h. I have done this several time and it works great.
The CT60 booster displays the CPU revision number on boot, so its easy to tell with that.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator
User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1471
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by paul92706 »

Faucon2001 wrote:Is there on Atari a soft similar to Amiga to know the full pedigree of the 68060 (as seen on some links)?

If it's the case, the risk when you buy on eBay is limited ; you test the ship when you receive it, and if it's a fake you ask eBay for refund and send it back together with a complaint for fake / illegal product. Refund comes in less than 24h. I have done this several time and it works great.
that is the beauty of ebay!
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI
User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by qq1975b »

it is a pity this "fake 68060" "cancer". Stock of real 68060 rev.6 is lower every day and it will be more and more expensive. 100 € 2 years ago and now around 150... I suppose CT60 should evolve in the future to a FPGA concept
Trying to learn...
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4199
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by Dal »

qq1975b wrote:it is a pity this "fake 68060" "cancer". Stock of real 68060 rev.6 is lower every day and it will be more and more expensive. 100 € 2 years ago and now around 150... I suppose CT60 should evolve in the future to a FPGA concept
Or take the Firebee approach and slap a Coldfire on there with additional support for missing instructions coming from the FPGA? This will give you an accelerated machine with true Falcon compatibility including access to the DSP (something Firebee owners are still waiting for).
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2808
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by alexh »

Part of the problem is that someone designed a 68040->68060 socket adapter for the Amiga and suddenly lots of 040 accelerator owners wanted 060 processors. Without that demand they would still have been €100
User avatar
Athlord
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:00 pm

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by Athlord »

Oh i am a lucky Man!
Some years ago, i get some 68060 for less money....
You better run - Motörhead
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4477
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by DarkLord »

Hey Jürgen! Hadn't seen you on in awhile - hope everything is going well with you.

I too was lucky enough to get the correct revision for my CT60 back when they first
came out and it was much cheaper then. There was still lots of "fake" ones even then
though.

PS My STacy with the Pak board that you helped me with so much is still going strong!
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
arcx
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 12:13 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by arcx »

exxos wrote:
arcx wrote:I haven´t tried that one yet,it´s arriving next week. Totally confused again about the NVT.
NVT ? Whats arriving next week exactly ?

Well it´s here and I´m not pleased, but I´m sure it ´s just a manufacturing fault again. NVT = New Varr Time which is mainly used during the transient time so of no use to me.
User avatar
arcx
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 12:13 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by arcx »

shoggoth wrote:LaurentS, well this is your lucky day - there are other threads on this forum where you can participate in a constructive manner :)
Are there other threads `bout the CT60e ? I´m missing the good stuff here.
User avatar
arcx
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 12:13 am

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by arcx »

bartek030 wrote:
exxos wrote:I am not a overall fan of it not fitting in the original case because of the PSU issue.
CT60e is designed to use with ATX (pico) psu. It fits without problems in falcon case.
I know that not everybody loves them, but it's rather problem with quality of pico psu than CT6x itself.

And another guy in Poland made some tidy switch / plug to use with Pico.

This is so cool.
cyberish
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:18 pm

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by cyberish »

… so what the heck ? Any news on this?
Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 830
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by Rustynutt »

Below are a couple of reliable sources item numbers at the end of this drivel, you know the site to search on.

As far as price goes, really didn't think that mattered in the Atari world.
If it's too much, maybe go look at the 8 bits, or buy a TT and find an FX card for it....or even commission one to be built. You almost can't pay anyone enough to take on jobs like that anymore. It's all done with passion and labor of love. After all, we are talking about Atari Falcons here.

Most users excess their Atari hardware for one of three reasons. To allow those that don't have access to the hardware to continue the legacy and contribute to the user base (as Rodolphe did with the once in a life time find of the French Atari Falcons literally unearthed), to fund up/down grades ( Atari fun goes both ways ), or need the room/significant other says something has to go! :)

Rodolphe has always been "rough" with his words :) Just have to read through them.
Not only is he one hell of an engineer, he'd make a great hard hitting CEO :)

Think most all "bugs" were worked out, especially with so many users and developers (one in particular comes to mind, how many sent donations for his work?). It's not like he had an entire Motorola clean room staff to design, code and build the cards for him. This isn't big business.

As far as CPU's not included, so a new developer is suppose to not only source CPU's in quantity (not to mention getting the exact mask everyone "thinks" they need), they are suppose to layout thousands in advance for prospective buyers that are worried about a $100 bucks here and there. It's not like they can solder 6 MC68000's together and get an 060.

Surely, he's on edge knowing what is expected of his " pre-engineered" effort. Hell, retracing on the board must be nerve racking enough. One little glitch from a multi-layer board a few thousands of miles away, and hours and hours to hand fix a possible glitch, as well as working around a manufacturing schedule. Yea, he's got it easy...

What about when SV went to pre-order. Nature tried to have me convince the wife to let me purchase two :) I didn't, so one "poor" little CT sits with only RGB graphics connected to a Sony BVM D24E 1WU with all the cards and only 385 hours. That was a shiny penny.....

There are better, more senseless arguments to be had in cell phone comparison/review forums. Kind of like back in the early Atari/Mac/Amiga/Jaguar/Playstation debates. What every happened to Sinclap anyway?

I talk to damn much......
BTW, anyone on the forum have an SST board? I have a "My Dad Flew the SST" patch :)

68060 auction item numbers

251112318733

311441212049

[img]
Blinkenlights-original.png
[/img]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4199
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by Dal »

Rustynutt wrote: BTW, anyone on the forum have an SST board? I have a "My Dad Flew the SST" patch :)
Yes - I have one installed in a MegaST.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 830
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by Rustynutt »

Dal wrote:
Rustynutt wrote: BTW, anyone on the forum have an SST board? I have a "My Dad Flew the SST" patch :)
Yes - I have one installed in a MegaST.
Only seen photos and read (drooled) over the magazine articles of the day, as well as Dave Small's stories :)

What's the performance like compared to a PAK board?

It's one of those things that seem to have always been on my radar :)
I've got a pretty clean MST 2 that hasn't been hacked, crying to have something put inside :)

I bugged Steve at Wizztronics over a few years until he finally sold me a developer Sparrow he had. Not a bad deal considering. I'd read about most of the IC's being socketed, just had to have it. The one he sold had most IC's surface mounted. I really wanted to play with the DSP. Like so many other mistakes, sold it to a user in Lancaster, California back in the late 90's or early 2000. I can honestly say, it didn't run much "Falcon" software at all. Didn't get photos, been so long don't remember much about it, other than it seem to be an STe with a different badge :) Which in reality it was. May have been why Steve had so many issues with the Barracuda 040. Don't know if he was using the Sparrow as a development platform or not. I'd met Steve at one of the Sacrament Atari shows, he had one of the "working" Barracuda's in the trunk of the rental car. Definitely a professional piece of hardware. At the time they were going for what Rodolphe ended up producing years later, and didn't want a bunch of wires hanging off to install it in the Falcon, or patch after patch to get it to boot. It did work however, just not marketable.

Could you post some photos of the installation if you have them handy.
Gotta be one of the coolest pieces of history out there !
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4199
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: CT60e is coming :)

Post by Dal »

I posted some info on my site about it:
http://www.septicsurgeon.net/Hardware_M ... ation.html

And

http://www.septicsurgeon.net/Gadgets_By_Small_SST.html

Sadly I had a problem with one of the GALs and since then, I've been unable to get the fastRAM working. Dave small sent me a ton of information, but never found the time to really go through it all. I'm sure I'll get it going again one day. In the meantime, it works perfectly as a 68030 accelerator with no fast ram enabled.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
Post Reply

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”