Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
DOB
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:19 pm

Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by DOB »

Hi,

So I have a fully loaded Falcon with a CT60/CTPCI with a Radeon 9200 card and a EtherNat board. Everything is flashed and up to date. I am using a Compact Flash on the Falcon IDE as my hard drive.

Tos works great, I can get whatever resolution on my Radeon. The Falcon is solid with no problems.

So I want to get a fully functional Mint system running with graphic output to the Radeon and network connection thru the EtherNat. I tried using EasyMint, but the installation never seems to fully work. I'm just not knowledgeable enough about Mint to get a functional system working. Does anyone have a dummies guide to Mint installation for this type of system? I feel like installing Mint has reduced me to a babbling idiot.

Any help/info, no matter how basic would be greatly appreciated. I want to start from scratch in my head and try to understand Mint.


Thanks.
Dylan
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by wongck »

DOB wrote: So I want to get a fully functional Mint system running with graphic output to the Radeon and network connection thru the EtherNat. I tried using EasyMint, but the installation never seems to fully work. I'm just not knowledgeable enough about Mint to get a functional system working. Does anyone have a dummies guide to Mint installation for this type of system? I feel like installing Mint has reduced me to a babbling idiot.
Hi Dob, welcome to AF. Frankly you're not the 1st to say EasyMint is not so easy, but it does somehow works for lots of people. If you need help on Mint, I have on my website some information on setting up Mint including networking and X-windows environment. Fell free to browse it. One thing, it's for Mint 1,16 and the latest version is 1,18 so I do need to update it sometime.... anyway the site is here.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by christos »

9/10 times the problem with easymint is that there isn't an lnx partition. If it finds that everything should work. Easymint needs an update though. Or we need a new distribution.
DOB
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:19 pm

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by DOB »

wongck wrote:
DOB wrote:
Hi Dob, welcome to AF. Frankly you're not the 1st to say EasyMint is not so easy, but it does somehow works for lots of people. If you need help on Mint, I have on my website some information on setting up Mint including networking and X-windows environment. Fell free to browse it. One thing, it's for Mint 1,16 and the latest version is 1,18 so I do need to update it sometime.... anyway the site is here.

Thanks Wongck. Great website! I'm gonna give EasyMint one last try before using your manual installation.

What about getting Mint to work with CTPCI/Radeon? Any tips on that?
Cheers,
dOb
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by wongck »

DOB wrote: What about getting Mint to work with CTPCI/Radeon? Any tips on that?
8) yeah.... I also need to update that into the personalising Mint section.
You just need set video settings, video = modecode, in the Xaaes.cnf.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
DOB
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:19 pm

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by DOB »

wongck wrote:
DOB wrote: What about getting Mint to work with CTPCI/Radeon? Any tips on that?
8) yeah.... I also need to update that into the personalising Mint section.
You just need set video settings, video = modecode, in the Xaaes.cnf.

Is there some specific video settings you recommend?
Cheers,
dOb
User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 902
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by jfl »

DOB wrote: So I have a fully loaded Falcon with a CT60/CTPCI with a Radeon 9200 card and a EtherNat board. Everything is flashed and up to date. I am using a Compact Flash on the Falcon IDE as my hard drive.

Tos works great, I can get whatever resolution on my Radeon. The Falcon is solid with no problems.

So I want to get a fully functional Mint system running with graphic output to the Radeon and network connection thru the EtherNat. I tried using EasyMint, but the installation never seems to fully work.
I had to reinstall EasyMiNT a few weeks ago on my FalconCT63 and it was as complex as clicking the "next" button and waiting for the process to finish. I don't understand what people are doing to be having such problems. Have you completely read the documentation before installing? If not, well don't bother. It won't work. EasyMiNT might indeed need an update but it's still a pretty slick piece of software.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by wongck »

It ought to be easy as the name suggested. But you are right, there are a bunch people who had some problems with it.
May be it is asking them something that have one more button than NEXT.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by wongck »

DOB wrote:Is there some specific video settings you recommend?
Sure.... later when I check my system, I will let ya know.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by Klapauzius »

I will try to install Mint on my CT60/CTPCI tonight and will report here how I get on with it.

Actually I will install Mint only because I can't get MagiC to boot on the CT60 yet (don't hit me for that, dear Mint users). :wink:
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by wongck »

DOB wrote: Is there some specific video settings you recommend?
OK, so I am using video = 0x40A5 for 1280 x 1024 x 16M. This is for a old square LCD monitor.
I have a list of modecode in my tutorial (point #2) and also how to get a modecode yourself.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by wongck »

Klapauzius wrote: Actually I will install Mint only because I can't get MagiC to boot on the CT60 yet (don't hit me for that, dear Mint users). :wink:
I guess you have tried the 060 compliant PRG for MagiC from Didier's website.
I do not use MagiC (but I liked it when I was using it before) so I would not be able to suggest any workaround.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by Klapauzius »

Ok, just installed Mint on my CT60 without any issues.
However, I used a pre-installed version from my F030's HD (the one that Christos prepared for me), put it onto the same partition # and just copied the Mint060 kernel into the AUTO folder.

Works fine so far. :)
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by christos »

That was based on mikro's umint. You can also change the xaaes kernel to the 060 one. It should be a bit better optimised.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by wongck »

Mikro umint include netwroking as well, so it pretty good.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
DOB
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:19 pm

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by DOB »

wongck wrote:Mikro umint include netwroking as well, so it pretty good.

Is it possible to get a copy of Mikro's umint?
Cheers,
dOb
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by frank.lukas »

DOB wrote:
wongck wrote:Mikro umint include netwroking as well, so it pretty good.

Is it possible to get a copy of Mikro's umint?

http://mikro.naprvyraz.sk/download.htm
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
DOB
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:19 pm

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by DOB »

frank.lukas wrote:
DOB wrote:
wongck wrote:Mikro umint include netwroking as well, so it pretty good.

Is it possible to get a copy of Mikro's umint?

http://mikro.naprvyraz.sk/download.htm

Thank you. I will give it a shot.
Cheers,
dOb
DOB
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:19 pm

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by DOB »

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you everyone.

Between using Mikro's uMint and Wongck's outstanding website, I finally got Mint running with my etherNat and Radeon graphics.

Now the fun begins.
Cheers,
dOb
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by christos »

Don't forget to update to the newest kernel and XaAES.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by wongck »

DOB wrote:Thank you! Thank you! Thank you everyone.
Between using Mikro's uMint and Wongck's outstanding website, I finally got Mint running with my etherNat and Radeon graphics.
Now the fun begins.
You're welcome.
Yes the fun begins now. :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
DOB
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 7:19 pm

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by DOB »

christos wrote:Don't forget to update to the newest kernel and XaAES.
Where do I get the newest kernel and XaAES?

Thanks again.
Cheers,
dOb
User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 902
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Installing Mint on CT60/PCI Falcon

Post by jfl »

DOB wrote:
christos wrote:Don't forget to update to the newest kernel and XaAES.
Where do I get the newest kernel and XaAES?
Here: http://freemint.org/
Go into "FreeMiNT snapshot builds" and downlad "trunk*.tar.bz2".
Word of acaution: do not modify you current setup in any way. Simply deactivate your current MINT*.PRG binary. You'll be able to get back to your current setup in case something does not work right.
Post Reply

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”