New production run for CT63

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

jd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: Ruislip, UK

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by jd »

A bit late but seems the 8th and final production run will be commencing soon.

Get you last orders in....

http://www.atari.org/news/index.php3?id ... umber=1847
User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by viking272 »

jd wrote:A bit late but seems the 8th and final production run will be commencing soon.

Get you last orders in....

http://www.atari.org/news/index.php3?id ... umber=1847
I've ordered and paid for mine. They are scheduled to be released in March but I'm giving a little leeway on that time :-)

Now that means I have a few months to build up a case that will take CT63, upgraded PSU, then decide on whether I want CTPCI to give me Radeon 7500 graphics and LAN card or go with SuperVidel.
User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by Beetle »

Hi
I've ordered and paid for mine. They are scheduled to be released in March but I'm giving a little leeway on that time :-)
Now that means I have a few months to build up a case that will take CT63, upgraded PSU, ....
And so did i. My TT-cased Falcon is running on ATX power now, with a nice place waiting for the ct63.
Power switching is still done by original Atari switch, i removed the powersupply's switch and AC jack.

Image
What Atari do you want to modify today?
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2828
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by alexh »

viking272 wrote:I've ordered and paid for mine. They are scheduled to be released in March but I'm giving a little leeway on that time
How much were they?
User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by Beetle »

viking272 wrote:
alexh wrote:I wonder what price he's selling them without 060? I bought a tray of 6 * MC68050RC50 (E41J) earlier this year for a cool $35 + postage.

Rodolphe pointed me to his website: http://www.czuba-tech.com/CT60/english/prices.htm

An excerpt of pricing is:

CT63 with 68060-Rev.6 at 90 MHz (cooler included) 320 €
CT63 without 68060 (cooler included) 240 €
MC68060 Mask 71E41J (Rev.6) - Runs at 90 MHz minimum 100 €
CTCM (Clock synthetiser Modul) for CT60 15 €
Cooler (low profile : see the CT63 photo) 5 €
CT63 fitting on Falcon mainboard + checking 50 €
Falcon mb repair (parts not included) 60 €
CT63 fitting on Falcon mb to be repaired (parts not included) 90 €
viking272 already answered you that question :D
What Atari do you want to modify today?
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2828
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by alexh »

€240 is too rich for my blood with the current value of the UK pound :(

I know I will regret it cos I missed out on the Galaxy GFX card for the MegaSTe and still regret that :(
HitPoint
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:41 pm
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by HitPoint »

But this is _Final_ production, and it will never be prduced again
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4497
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by DarkLord »

HitPoint wrote:But this is _Final_ production, and it will never be prduced again
Whenever I hear someone say that, I can't help but wonder, what would they do if they
got 100 certified buyers 6 months later... :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
Beetle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:09 pm
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by Beetle »

According to a posting of Czuba-Tech on dhs.nu, there might be a successor to the ct63 instead of a new batch of it.
The 8th batch of CT(63) will be launch in few days...as soon as I get the 20 orders I need.
Actually I have 14 orders.
Please contact me asap if you want to buy one.

It will be the last. CT63 will be stopped in his actual design and be replaced one day (...) by a new board (should I say a new computer).

Otoh, i've been told he stated 'last batch ever' several times before :)

But any way, it seems even if this really is the last batch of ct63, it won't be the last chance to get a fast Falcon 030. :cheers:
What Atari do you want to modify today?
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4497
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by DarkLord »

Beetle wrote:According to a posting of Czuba-Tech on dhs.nu, there might be a successor to the ct63 instead of a new batch of it.
The 8th batch of CT(63) will be launch in few days...as soon as I get the 20 orders I need.
Actually I have 14 orders.
Please contact me asap if you want to buy one.

It will be the last. CT63 will be stopped in his actual design and be replaced one day (...) by a new board (should I say a new computer).

Otoh, i've been told he stated 'last batch ever' several times before :)

But any way, it seems even if this really is the last batch of ct63, it won't be the last chance to get a fast Falcon 030. :cheers:
Great, always like having "possibilities" on the horizon for our fav machines. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
samf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: Ashburn, Virginia USA
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by samf »

DarkLord wrote:
Beetle wrote:According to a posting of Czuba-Tech on dhs.nu, there might be a successor to the ct63 instead of a new batch of it.
The 8th batch of CT(63) will be launch in few days...as soon as I get the 20 orders I need.
Actually I have 14 orders.
Please contact me asap if you want to buy one.

It will be the last. CT63 will be stopped in his actual design and be replaced one day (...) by a new board (should I say a new computer).

Otoh, i've been told he stated 'last batch ever' several times before :)

But any way, it seems even if this really is the last batch of ct63, it won't be the last chance to get a fast Falcon 030. :cheers:
Great, always like having "possibilities" on the horizon for our fav machines. :)
I second that sentiment!! :D
Atari Computer Nut
Virginia U.S.A.
C-Lab/CT060 Falcon,
256mb TT Ram, 14mb ST Ram,
4Gig hdd, IDE DVD Drive
simbo

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by simbo »

273 euros ~ 200 quid or so + - some greedy fat banks daily farting allowance
is a nice price if you concider the falcon cost about 800 quid new

i think ill order one
im getting sick of restrictions now even with nemesis @55mhz
and i want a tower etc one day also

.........................
the last ever lol (|:¬>'}

my local pipes skins and incence shop has a last ever chance closing down notice in his window now for 25 years

email sent so lets see .... maybe it will make a nice christmas pressy to self
User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by viking272 »

simbo wrote:273 euros ~ 200 quid or so + - some greedy fat banks daily farting allowance
is a nice price if you concider the falcon cost about 800 quid new

i think ill order one
im getting sick of restrictions now even with nemesis @55mhz
and i want a tower etc one day also
I got an e-mail lastnight saying mine was being shipped today. I wouldn't of minded but have just moved and have a million jobs before unpacking Falcon/CT63 and building it
:-/
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by wongck »

mine arrived but I am sending it back for repairs..... :(
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
HitPoint
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:41 pm
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by HitPoint »

what`s wrong? don`t work? Rodolphe says it test it before send....

im waiting mine too....
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by wongck »

HitPoint wrote:what`s wrong? don`t work? Rodolphe says it test it before send....

im waiting mine too....
A black screen come out on 060 mode. 030 mode is working only but I get random HDD I/O issues.
Even unable to reflash the board, so Rodolphe think some address lines have some bad solders.

:(
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
eskwadrat
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:15 pm
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

MC68060 retail price

Post by eskwadrat »

Am I dreaming or is it real...
http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSea ... ds=mc68060
It looks like Freescale (former Motorola) raised the price bar and distributor sells MC68060 (50MHz) for over $478 for 206-PGA version. Am I missing something here?
And here is a pricing for 1000+ qty.
http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/sit ... metric_Tab
So unless someone has 060 batch stashed for last 15 years, with these prices it’s hard not to say “goodbye”.
ps. Also, does anyone know what happened with http://www.czuba-tech.com website? It's no longer accessible. :coffe:

____________
MISTer Patreon
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: MC68060 retail price

Post by wongck »

eskwadrat wrote:ps. Also, does anyone know what happened with http://www.czuba-tech.com website? It's no longer accessible. :coffe:
it is now called http://www.powerphenix.com :coffe:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by wongck »

wongck wrote: A black screen come out on 060 mode. 030 mode is working only but I get random HDD I/O issues.
Even unable to reflash the board, so Rodolphe think some address lines have some bad solders.
:(
Update:
The CT63 is now back from repairs. seem to be working fine now minus some minor hiccups. :D
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
simbo

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by simbo »

as for price of high speed 68000 better collect the old macs now

from intel takes over the chip till now is just about enough time
for companies to get sick of old machines

and sell by local auction

here in glasgow you can buy a lot of old mac like needed chips live in
for about equivelent of $300 for about 50 or 60 working machines

lots of people should grab old macs now
after looking at there specs online

take a laptop and a net dongle to an auction to check spec

you can make a good set of bits breaking them up for scsi drives and mpu /fpu etc ram

the boards you can cook off what you need using IR etc even ball gate arrays and rework there ball connections
using a simple grid plate and lamp smd {total cost 500 quid}


anyway a lot of 5 machines or look about
can save you heeps on old mpu motorola who doesnt exist past some sort of admin for these chips
demands
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by wongck »

Intel already taking over....

look at AMD, or what is left of them.... no more chip frontend for them. They are sold off.
look at what's in the netbooks..... and those new all-in-one phones....
look at what's in the latest Mac now.... enough said.

With so many Atari emulators, they are faster and cheaper than a CT63.
CT63 is not too stable, so better off with an emulator... bcos both have same stability.
At least with an emulator, you get to know of the stability alot faster.... because it is alot faster then CT63.

or may be it's just my luck.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4497
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by DarkLord »

Hmm, can't speak for everyone, but my 95mhz CT60 equipped Falcon has been
-very- stable...

and I know its a tired old argument, and I suppose one day when every last bit
of actual Atari hardware is gone, that I'll have to use an emulator, but until then,
I much prefer the real thing. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by wongck »

Well, it is solid... when it feels like it. But not too often.
Mine normally refuse to boot up, and that's at stock 66MHz.

I suppose it may be environmental.
I am in the region where the equator is - reads hot + humid.
Most US/EUR countries are cool & dry.
OK, maybe not the dry part (esp Scotland :lol: ).... in winter.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by wongck »

DarkLord wrote:I much prefer the real thing. :)
Yeap, so do I.
Emulator looks like one but does not feel like one.
That's why I am asking if anyone have any idea of a reverse-Eiffel.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
simbo

Re: New production run for CT63

Post by simbo »

maybe you need to upsicks and move somewhere less temperate to avoid problems with boots
some drying agent bags can be used inside replenish once a week by heat them in the oven for a few hours
to dryout the crystals
and get a big snail fan with built in coolers
Post Reply

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”