bigdos8 crash on ct60e

Discuss CT60/CT63, CTPCI, SuperVidel and EtherNAT hardware here.

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

bigdos8 crash on ct60e

Post by TXG/MNX »

Hi,

I use my netusb and have the following files in the autofolder:

usb.prg > storage.prg > netusb.prg > bigdos8.prg

It works great when I boot my Falcon030 in original 68030 mode. When I use it when running in 68060 mode bigdos crashed.
Is there a fix or patch for bigdos8 or a working alternative that can run under TOS not mint/magic or other system ?
ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1163
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: bigdos8 crash on ct60e

Post by ThorstenOtto »

I don't use bigdos, but there are links to two different, patched versions in the german forum
Perdrix24
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:47 pm

Re: bigdos8 crash on ct60e

Post by Perdrix24 »

TXG/MNX wrote:Hi,

I use my netusb and have the following files in the autofolder:

usb.prg > storage.prg > netusb.prg > bigdos8.prg

It works great when I boot my Falcon030 in original 68030 mode. When I use it when running in 68060 mode bigdos crashed.
Is there a fix or patch for bigdos8 or a working alternative that can run under TOS not mint/magic or other system ?
Try this order:
USB, BIGDOS, STORAGE, NETUSBEE.
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 881
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: bigdos8 crash on ct60e

Post by 1st1 »

No, you need to put bigdos as the last program in auto folder. This is because bigdos does not only replace GemDos, but, also has it's own memory management and it controls the startup of GEM desktop. So any program behind bigdos in auto folder will not be started.

Please note to use bigdos-f.prg (f=falcon) for full operation on Falcon. It's in the Bigdos 8 package, at least in my private server file collection. For me that one works fine, even with ct60.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
Post Reply

Return to “CT60 / CT63 Area”