Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post all your Kryoflux related topics in here. From questions about the hardware through to disks you've managed to image up and, probably most importantly, write back without any problems :)

Moderators: DrCoolZic, mr.vince, Moderator Team

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2824
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by alexh »

Anyone tried adding the IPF DLL library to Hatari, or STeeM?

http://www.softpres.org/download
User avatar
rdemming
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 9:55 pm
Location: Amstelveen / The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by rdemming »

KryoFlux just released the IPF decoding library under the MAME license. Hopefully this makes it easier to add IPF support to the Atari ST emulators.

Robert
There are 10 kinds of people. Those who understand binary and those who don't.
User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by DrCoolZic »

Yes this is nice. I hope someone will use this lib to provide IPF support in Steem and Hatari
Dio
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by Dio »

It's very easy to add support for it. Took just a few hours to add the new FDC class for Emu and it works extremely well.
User avatar
mr.vince
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:22 pm

Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by mr.vince »

Chapeau. Nice to see it's being used for something. :-)
zerobyzero
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:14 pm

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by zerobyzero »

First post here, so, Hi to everybody.

I'd like to start testing of kryoflux dumps in ST emulators. Is there any released emulator with IPf support?

Regards.
User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by DrCoolZic »

Dio wrote:It's very easy to add support for it. Took just a few hours to add the new FDC class for Emu and it works extremely well.
Would you be able to do it in Steem? This would be great :)
Dio
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by Dio »

At the moment I don't have time to work on my own emulator, let alone anyone else's :D . Understanding the IPF library would be rather a lot easier than understanding STeem, I reckon. It's properly documented and everything.
zerobyzero
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:14 pm

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by zerobyzero »

Bump

News about this? Don't we have any st emulator with ipf support yet?

Regards.
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by Steven Seagal »

zerobyzero wrote:Bump

News about this? Don't we have any st emulator with ipf support yet?

Regards.
IPF support will be part of Steem SSE 3.5, and I know Hatari is integrating it too, so don't you worry dude, not yet but soon!
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2709
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by spiny »

hurray :D
User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by npomarede »

In fact, I already added it to Hatari this summer and it worked succesfully with all the ~200 images I had, except with one game where an error was discovered in the capslibrary that emulates a specific WD1772 command.
As soon as capslibrary is fixed to handle this and no other problem is seen, it will be released for Hatari 1.7

Nicolas
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5250
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by simonsunnyboy »

So if Kyroflux will be working, I wonder why you turned down adding support for the HxC compatible HFE files? Kyroflux with support for copyprotection should be more problematic to emulate.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by npomarede »

simonsunnyboy wrote:So if Kyroflux will be working, I wonder why you turned down adding support for the HxC compatible HFE files? Kyroflux with support for copyprotection should be more problematic to emulate.
?
Because kryoflux already support emulating a WD1772 at the bit level, while HxC doesn't ? Are you sure you understand how the disk image are made and what is required to handle them ?
HFE is just a file format, as IPF is. But IPF also comes with the capslibrary to handle these files in an emulator, as far as I know, there's no equivalent library to use in your own program if you want to handle HFE files.

I didn't "turn down adding support" for HFE, I told you it required a huge work to also support the WD1772 that can handle HFE at the bit level (as a real magnetic head would do) and emulate the whole FDC from this bit stream.
The HFE file is only useful per se on real hardware, where you want to replace the bit stream coming from a real floppy drive's head by the bit stream recorded on a different media (usb, sd, ...) and "inject" it into the real drive interface as if it was coming from a real drive.
I you want to use HFE file into an emulator, you need a supplementary layer to interpret the raw bit stream and rebuild all the WD1772 commands/deconding ; this is a lot of work, rather similar to the one I made to rewrite the WD1772 from scratch to use ST/MSA disk image, but with an additional MFM decoding, and I don't have time / don't feel like doing it again to support raw stream.

If HxC provides in the future the necessary WD1772 emulation level to decode HFE file in an emulator, I will look how to add it to Hatari.

Nicolas
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5250
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Thanks for the explanation. Such sort of code reuse ofcourse would make perfect sense. I'm looking forward to the changes then :)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
zerobyzero
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:14 pm

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by zerobyzero »

Great news.

Thanks to the programmers :cheers:
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by Steven Seagal »

npomarede wrote:In fact, I already added it to Hatari this summer and it worked succesfully with all the ~200 images I had, except with one game where an error was discovered in the capslibrary that emulates a specific WD1772 command.
As soon as capslibrary is fixed to handle this and no other problem is seen, it will be released for Hatari 1.7

Nicolas
Is this game Lethal Xcess? I must mess with a variable of the emulation to have it loading in Steem.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by npomarede »

Steven Seagal wrote:
npomarede wrote:In fact, I already added it to Hatari this summer and it worked succesfully with all the ~200 images I had, except with one game where an error was discovered in the capslibrary that emulates a specific WD1772 command.
As soon as capslibrary is fixed to handle this and no other problem is seen, it will be released for Hatari 1.7

Nicolas
Is this game Lethal Xcess? I must mess with a variable of the emulation to have it loading in Steem.
Yes, it's Lethal Xcess, the force int command on index pulse is wrong in caps at the moment. Some measures need to be made on a real WD1772 to implement it completly.

Nicolas
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by Steven Seagal »

In the Windows version at least, the library doesn't support writes, which is a bigger issue than just one game. Because of that, there's an annoying alert box popping up ("command A0 not implemented") in many games and Sundog doesn't work.
I can imagine ways to circle around write support in Steem, but not around the popup boxes, and it would be useless work anyway if a next version of CAPSimg directly supports writes.
The best course now seems to release Steem with IPF support as it is, that is as good as the library itself, and count on Steem fanboys to go scream at the Kryoflux forums. :) That is, if they have IPF files to play with in the first place.
The same for Lethal Xcess, the game will run when a better version of the library will be released, it's not up to Atari emulators.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by npomarede »

Steven Seagal wrote:In the Windows version at least, the library doesn't support writes, which is a bigger issue than just one game. Because of that, there's an annoying alert box popping up ("command A0 not implemented") in many games and Sundog doesn't work.
Linux version of capsimg doesn't support write either, but at least there's no popup window, the atari program will just complain that the disk is write protected.
The best course now seems to release Steem with IPF support as it is, that is as good as the library itself, and count on Steem fanboys to go scream at the Kryoflux forums. :) That is, if they have IPF files to play with in the first place.
Unfortunatelly, easily finding IPF seems to be a problem so far for end users. There's no centralized archives due to copyrigth reason and if the available IPF games remains at ~300, I'm afraid the format will never get much traction from the ST scene as a viable archive format (this is sad, as Kryoflux provides an open source library, but the IPF creation remains "closed", while on the other end Pasti provides easy image creation for anyone, but no open source library for non windows platforms. Not really a win-win situation regarding archiving and emulating :( )

Nicolas
zerobyzero
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:14 pm

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by zerobyzero »

I think it's just a matter of time. ipf will be more and more popular because everybody wants their games preserved in the best posible way.
User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by npomarede »

zerobyzero wrote:I think it's just a matter of time. ipf will be more and more popular because everybody wants their games preserved in the best posible way.
The format will become popular if .IPF files are publicly available. So far the situation on this point is not really clear, disks are archived by the the Kryoflux/SPS team, but they're not made public for copyright reasons.

Nicolas
zerobyzero
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:14 pm

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by zerobyzero »

The same is applicable to Commodore Amiga, wich is the first system to recive ipf files. They were never officially released and today ipf files are quite popular. We have access to ipf files for other systems like zx spectrum or atari st since just a couple of months. That's the reason I think we must be patient.
User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by npomarede »

zerobyzero wrote:The same is applicable to Commodore Amiga, wich is the first system to recive ipf files. They were never officially released and today ipf files are quite popular. We have access to ipf files for other systems like zx spectrum or atari st since just a couple of months. That's the reason I think we must be patient.
I don't know if it's a matter of time. If you look at http://www.softpres.org/games&search=&v ... 0&offset=0, the latest addition are from 2.5 years ago, including some Atari ST images. And yet, those existing Atari ST images are not publicly available (except for the people that submitted the original image if I understood clearly the policy).
Maybe more disks were submitted/archived recently, but it's not updated in these pages.

So I don't think it's about being patient, I think SPS don't want to take the risk to distribute copyrighted IPF image.
Maybe this will change, or maybe some other sites could host those file in some countries were legal risk of being sued are less likely to happen so that SPS can't be worried about that.

Nicolas
zerobyzero
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:14 pm

Re: Kryoflux in ST emulators?

Post by zerobyzero »

Yes, 2.5 years is a lot... for other projects, not much talking about sps :D. As far as I know, they never release the images, they are released by the people who own the original games. Is a slow process but they need the extra motivation of knowing that the files are useful for someone. So, we need compatible emulators with ipf. For example, zx spectrum files received an important boost because the release of Spectaculator with added ipf compatibility.
Post Reply

Return to “Kryoflux”