Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

A place to discuss current and future developments for STeem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by DrCoolZic »

Good job :cheers:
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Steven Seagal »

There, I just fixed some features not working as well as announced (better now than day after release):
- (boiler) monitor for value written, and I suspect this feature must still be improved
- Jumping Jackson auto hack only worked in boiler

Usual addresses:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemss ... SE%20Beta/?

http://ataristeven.t15.org/Steem.htm


EDIT: and now no hack needed for Jumping Jackson, only 6301 (R222)
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Steven Seagal »

As promised Steem SSE 3.6.0 was released on 28/02/2014, Windows and Unix builds.

Improvements of v3.6.0
------------------------

- Option 'Drive sound'

- Improved P.S.G. sample playing emulation

- More practical sound volume sliders (logarithmic scale).

- Disk manager icon options 'Single side' and 'Stop motor'

- Shifter registers emulation improvements:
UMD 8730 STF, The World is my Oyster STF, Ventura/Board and Sphere,
XMas 2004, Panic...

- 6301 (IKBD) improvements: Crazy Cars 2, Jumping Jackson
Notice that as of v3.6, all ACIA and IKBD improvements of the SSE version
depend on option '6301 true emu'

- Other fixes (too numerous to mention!)


Bugfixes of v3.6.0
--------------------

- bugfix no sound live when recording sound

- bugfix DirectX rebuild "surface" when lost (eg after long delay)

- (*) CPU: remove "intercept OS" on RTE: ReDMCSB Megamax C project

- (*) CPU fix STOP condition in trace mode: Hackabounds Demo

- CPU fix timing MOVEM M->R .L: Hackabounds Demo

- CPU bugfix rounding in <EA> = -(An), now more specific in
ADD.L and ADDA.L: Fullparts, Ishar3 cracktro

- CPU exception bugfix: Crazy Cars 2 STX (first fixed v3.4, broken v3.5)

- CPU prefetch timing bugfix CMPI.L: Japtro disk 2

- MFP bugfix patch timer D: Second Reality 2013

- MFP bugfix: Sinfull Sinuses (just the crash)

- Bugfix shifter trick line+20 on large display, Hacks on: Riverside,
pcsv62im

- Shifter tricks bugfix: Pete Mega Four #1

- bugfix threshold for 508cycle lines according to WU

- ACIA fix: Grumbler

- (*) Bugfix: bogus value in PSG emulation when no DMA sound

- bugfix FDC bogus "lost data" flag: Super Monaco Grand Prix

- bugfix FDC IRQ staid on with command $D8: Super Monaco Grand Prix

- floppy drive bugfix Jumping Jackson MCA (broken v3.5.3)

- HBL "jitter": 3615GEN4 HMD Giga (first fixed v3.5.1, broken v3.5.3)

- (*) hard drive: correct date & time (from Petari)

(*): bugs already in Steem 3.2, other bugs were mine


Download:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemss ... SSE%203.6/

http://ataristeven.t15.org/Steem.htm

Support:

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewforum.php?f=94.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by dlfrsilver »

congrats Steven, i just tried this new steem 3.6, it's very good. many games that were not working are doing fine !

Thanks a lot pal, and keep up the good work :) !
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !
User avatar
Greyfox™
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:27 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Greyfox™ »

Waaahhhhoooo..I know what I'm doing this weekend :) again a super thanx and greeting to Steven Segal for again another quality update and release of the wonderful STeem emu. You sir are king :D

Thanks for everything!
↓↓Click Banner to See More↓↓
Image
-== Making Atari great once more ==-
User avatar
dlfrsilver
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1496
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 1:41 am

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by dlfrsilver »

Blood Money is now working in STX format :D yahoo !!!

Enchanted Land does not need anymore the patch to run via steem in original or crack :)
Now SPS France representative since the 19th of June 2014. Proud to be an SPS member !
gothmog
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 5:23 pm

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by gothmog »

- (*) CPU: remove "intercept OS" on RTE: ReDMCSB Megamax C project
I did not dare to ask you to look into this issue while I worked on ReDMCSB but I'm very glad you did it by yourself.

However, I just tried to compile ReDMCSB with Steem 3.6.0 and it is still not fully working completely. There is no crash anymore (bombs) and two game versions compiled successfully (this was impossible in previous versions of Steem).
But in my test, after compiling the first two versions then the compilation stopped working. The compiler seems to exit immediately after being started, without any visible error but also without doing anything.

Have you successfully tested the whole compilation? I have tested with the default Steem configuration: I only selected high resolution, and I used TOS 1.04.

Anyway, many thanks for keeping Steem alive!
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Steven Seagal »

Don't forget to check the demo!

About Enchanted Land and Blood Money, they already worked in previous versions.
Check this page for games:
http://ataristeven.t15.org/Steem_games.htm

About DM, you shouldn't hesitate to report bugs.
I don't know the project, when I tested (TOS1.02 I think) it took a long time (1+ hour?) and finished with no crash, but I didn't really check the results. I saved the final screenshot. Normal?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1200
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by dhedberg »

Great work! I'll definitely download the new version and have a go with it! Thanks!
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org.
Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo It's that time of the year again, or click here to feel the JOY.
gothmog
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 5:23 pm

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by gothmog »

That final screenshot is not normal.
The last program executed is the linker (MMLINK.TTP). It should produce some output on the screen, including the list of *.o modules loaded and the list of segments in the executable.
As you can see on your screenshot, there is no output.

If you want to make sure that it works fine, you can delete the BUILD and OBJECT folders. Their contents should be fully regenerated when you run the compilation. After running, you can compare which files are missing compared to the ones included in the ReDMCSB archive I have posted.
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Steven Seagal »

Yeah I should have guessed... congrats, you found bug #1.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
Avanze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 1:49 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Avanze »

Absolutely great. Thanks for the continued development and work – keeping Steem alive!
mOdmate
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by mOdmate »

Killer sample demo!
User avatar
Retrogamer_ST
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1067
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:50 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Retrogamer_ST »

Thank you for updating STeem and keeping Atari ST alive. Hardware won't keep Atari ST alive more then for a handful of enthusiasts. It's when people can run Atari ST on their mobiles, tablet computers, laptops using emulators, read scanned in Atari ST magazines and download roms that ST will continue to live on.
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Steven Seagal »

And new digi demos with blues singer Steven Seagal gracing our ears!
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1344
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by npomarede »

Hello
I wanted to try "Warp" with Steem 3.6 (the version Warp STX Working.zip hosted on your site), but after the grandslam logo, I have a black screen and a crash after some seconds. Are there some specific parameters to make it work ?

Nicolas
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Steven Seagal »

gothmog wrote:That final screenshot is not normal.
The last program executed is the linker (MMLINK.TTP). It should produce some output on the screen, including the list of *.o modules loaded and the list of segments in the executable.
As you can see on your screenshot, there is no output.

If you want to make sure that it works fine, you can delete the BUILD and OBJECT folders. Their contents should be fully regenerated when you run the compilation. After running, you can compare which files are missing compared to the ones included in the ReDMCSB archive I have posted.
Could you try with current "hot beta" when you have time, I think it's OK now with TOS1.04:

Image

http://ataristeven.t15.org/Files/Steem_SSE_Beta.zip
npomarede wrote:Hello
I wanted to try "Warp" with Steem 3.6 (the version Warp STX Working.zip hosted on your site), but after the grandslam logo, I have a black screen and a crash after some seconds. Are there some specific parameters to make it work ?

Nicolas
Yes, '6301 true emu' is required, it was indicated.
Don't know why yet, but I've seen such cases before.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
[ProToS]
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2242
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Lourdes / France
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by [ProToS] »

when you put 128MHz for he cpu speed steem stay 8Mhz and when you restart the conf is at 8Mhz even if you save 128
SeeU
[ProToS]/Facebook
User avatar
Retrogamer_ST
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1067
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:50 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Retrogamer_ST »

Some small remarks from me too.

To change window size don't work. To choose "normal size" or "double size" from the menu don't make any difference. The drawback about that is that it's very hard to get the right size on the windows and dithered graphics will dist and cause lines on the screen trying to set the proper size for the "double size" mode.

In fact, none of the options in STeem's orginal graphics menu works.

Your own menu in the SSE section works great.
User avatar
Avanze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 1:49 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Avanze »

In the SSE options dialog, both the VSync and Tripple buffering are greyed out, what is the method to enable these?
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Steven Seagal »

[ProToS] wrote:when you put 128MHz for he cpu speed steem stay 8Mhz and when you restart the conf is at 8Mhz even if you save 128
Never used this feature myself. Is this SSE bug or already in v3.2?
Retrogamer_ST wrote:Some small remarks from me too.

To change window size don't work. To choose "normal size" or "double size" from the menu don't make any difference. The drawback about that is that it's very hard to get the right size on the windows and dithered graphics will dist and cause lines on the screen trying to set the proper size for the "double size" mode.

In fact, none of the options in STeem's orginal graphics menu works.

Your own menu in the SSE section works great.
In windowed mode? I can't reproduce the bug, all windows fine 1/2/3/4 in eg W7.
Avanze wrote:In the SSE options dialog, both the VSync and Tripple buffering are greyed out, what is the method to enable these?
Downgrade your OS! With Windows 8 the options a're greyed out because "Windows Compositing" is enforced and interferes with those features, they just wouldn't work. In Vista/W7, you still may disable the option if you wish.
If you use an older OS then it's a bug.
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
Retrogamer_ST
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1067
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:50 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Retrogamer_ST »

I use Windows 7 Ultimate Edition and ATI Radeon HD 4650.

When i use VICE for exemple it look like this. Window sizes works fine in Stella (Atari 2600) and in Altirra (Atari 800) too. Perhaps STeem need updated drivers? Or perhaps i should update my ATI graphic driver?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
gothmog
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 5:23 pm

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by gothmog »

I have tested compiling ReDMCSB with the beta. And now all the compilation works until the end. Great job! Many thanks for fixing this.

Yet, there is one minor issue left: the last command line in SOURCE\MAKE\BUILDENG.BAT runs the linker which produces a .map file into the BUILD folder for each version compiled.
For some versions, the output file is named .m or .ma instead of .map. It looks like the one or two last characters on the command line are ignored. Is the command line too long?
In Hatari I don't have this naming issue.
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Steven Seagal »

Retrogamer_ST wrote:I use Windows 7 Ultimate Edition and ATI Radeon HD 4650.

When i use VICE for exemple it look like this. Window sizes works fine in Stella (Atari 2600) and in Altirra (Atari 800) too. Perhaps STeem need updated drivers? Or perhaps i should update my ATI graphic driver?
You didn't answer the question, do you have trouble with fullscreen or windowed mode?
The settings box above seems to be for fullscreen?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
User avatar
Retrogamer_ST
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1067
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:50 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Coming soon! Steem SSE 3.6

Post by Retrogamer_ST »

I mostly run STeem in windowed mode.

On Altirra homepage it look like this.
Windows 2000, XP, Vista, 7, 8 or later (either 32-bit or x64 edition).
Pentium CPU or better (1GHz or faster recommended).
http://www.virtualdub.org/altirra.html

Altirra run on all systems, either 32 or 64 bit.

Same thing for Stella who supports...
Binary installer (exe) for 32-bit Windows XP/Vista/7/8
Binary installer (exe) for 64-bit Windows XP/Vista/7/8
And so on
http://stella.sourceforge.net/downloads.php

I remember when i used Windows XP, everything worked fine but when i got Windows 7 STeem worked less good. I can understand the problem to update STeem if you don't have access to all versions of Windows.
Post Reply

Return to “Development”