FireBee in NYC

All things related to the Atari Coldfire Project

Moderators: Mathias, Mug UK, [ProToS], moondog/.tSCc., Galvez, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Bengy
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 12:07 am

FireBee in NYC

Post by Bengy »

Just hooked this bad boy up in my NYC office! Great job team on how everything "just works" - especially the ability to just plug in an ethernet cable and be live on the internet. That's a huge improvement over the days of past.

See pic here https://cl.ly/efda6450a64d

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by christos »

Nice set up

Bengy
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 12:07 am

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by Bengy »

christos wrote:Nice set up
Thanks! My new Falcon will go next to it - will send pics when all setup :)

Will be fun to run a tech startup with the help of the fuji...

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by vido »

This is nice!
I just recomend to use Atari keyboard instead of USB one. I know now you have it :)

I hope you will find it useful for any kind of job you need to do. Papyrus is really nice software for the office job :)

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by christos »

Bengy wrote:
christos wrote:Nice set up
Thanks! My new Falcon will go next to it - will send pics when all setup :)

Will be fun to run a tech startup with the help of the fuji...
Keep us updated on how you'll manage to incorporate it in your workflow :)
vido wrote:This is nice!
I just recomend to use Atari keyboard instead of USB one. I know now you have it :)

I hope you will find it useful for any kind of job you need to do. Papyrus is really nice software for the office job :)
It's unfortunate, but there is no way I would be able to incorporate Atari on anything I do, due to language barrier. Atari doesn't support UTF-8 so there is no way to transfer files etc. :(

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by vido »

christos wrote:
vido wrote:This is nice!
I just recomend to use Atari keyboard instead of USB one. I know now you have it :)

I hope you will find it useful for any kind of job you need to do. Papyrus is really nice software for the office job :)
It's unfortunate, but there is no way I would be able to incorporate Atari on anything I do, due to language barrier. Atari doesn't support UTF-8 so there is no way to transfer files etc. :(
I dont kow what do you mean not to transfer files?
And as I know Papyrus supports UTF-8.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by christos »

vido wrote:
christos wrote:
vido wrote:This is nice!
I just recomend to use Atari keyboard instead of USB one. I know now you have it :)

I hope you will find it useful for any kind of job you need to do. Papyrus is really nice software for the office job :)
It's unfortunate, but there is no way I would be able to incorporate Atari on anything I do, due to language barrier. Atari doesn't support UTF-8 so there is no way to transfer files etc. :(
I dont kow what do you mean not to transfer files?
And as I know Papyrus supports UTF-8.
And highwire too, but reading is a whole different thing to writing.

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by vido »

christos wrote:And highwire too, but reading is a whole different thing to writing.
I see. There are some workarrounds to exchange the documents. In some cases you dont even have a software to work on the Atari. But still you in some cases Atari can be usefull. Papyrus for PC exsists and documents made on Atari can be transfered and used on the PC ;)

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by christos »

vido wrote:
christos wrote:And highwire too, but reading is a whole different thing to writing.
I see. There are some workarrounds to exchange the documents. In some cases you dont even have a software to work on the Atari. But still you in some cases Atari can be usefull. Papyrus for PC exsists and documents made on Atari can be transfered and used on the PC ;)
Actually only one in my case, you save as text, use a converter for the encoding and transfer the txt to fix on the pc. Well, text encodings have become very complicated for my brain.

vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by vido »

You can save document in RTF format or an old MS Word format which is supported by Word and Papyrus. Encoding shhuld be ok I guess. For Printing the documents on the PC I was using Papyrus View.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by christos »

Unfortunately not in Greek. Atari uses the old dos codepage, cp737 and not something standard, so modern programs can't access the text. They just display various random characters.

Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 672
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by Mathias »

For greek you need to install UTF-8 TrueType fonts and make it usable via NVDI. For example I had good experiences with "DejaVu" from Linux. Than some programs like Highwire and PapyrusX can use several languages without problems. I tested Arabic, Greek, Cyrillic and Hebrew without issues, already in 2013. See my old posting at home.de : https://forum.atari-home.de/index.php/t ... l#msg75405
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by christos »

Mathias wrote:For greek you need to install UTF-8 TrueType fonts and make it usable via NVDI. For example I had good experiences with "DejaVu" from Linux. Than some programs like Highwire and PapyrusX can use several languages without problems. I tested Arabic, Greek, Cyrillic and Hebrew without issues, already in 2013. See my old posting at home.de : https://forum.atari-home.de/index.php/t ... l#msg75405
Hi Matthias,

I've been able to read greek with various programs not just what you mentioned, but sadly unable to write. I will test what you did though. Thanks for the link.

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: FireBee in NYC

Post by jfl »

Bengy wrote:Just hooked this bad boy up in my NYC office! Great job team on how everything "just works" - especially the ability to just plug in an ethernet cable and be live on the internet. That's a huge improvement over the days of past.
See pic here https://cl.ly/efda6450a64d
I think I would get dizzy just sitting in front of that window 8O

Post Reply

Return to “FireBee”