FireBee + GFA

All things related to the Atari Coldfire Project

Moderators: Mathias, Mug UK, [ProToS], moondog/.tSCc., Galvez, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

GFA comes to the FireBee. I have no way to test this stuff. Just loading up the editor and stating it runs ok is not good enough, or compiling hello world. What I really need is someone into GFA coding and a medium to large size project that they wish to see running on the FireBee. :wink:

You can grab test versions below.
Compiler, Linker, Library:
http://gfa.atari-users.net/temp/cf/gfalibcf.zip
GBE:
http://gfa.atari-users.net/temp/cf/gbe_cf.zip

If you have GBE already installed, you must replace the files in the installation with the ones from these archives.

Please feel free to PM me with any problems you encounter.
User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 775
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by BoNuS »

Just wanted to say great that you try this :) !!
Indeed only thing missing here is a Firebee... :(
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
( I have just to much Atari stuff)
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13034
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by wongck »

Great work.
Nice to see the world of GFA opening up to the FB.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5319
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I crossposted the announcement to the German atari-home.de forum. People over there were definitly interested ;)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

Thanks. I had a look and saw some complaint about GFA being structured and one command per line if I translated correctly. Its been that way since 1986. :lol:
User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by MacFalcon »

lp wrote:Thanks. I had a look and saw some complaint about GFA being structured and one command per line if I translated correctly. Its been that way since 1986. :lol:
:lol: some things never change... :cheers:
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5319
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by simonsunnyboy »

lp wrote:Thanks. I had a look and saw some complaint about GFA being structured and one command per line if I translated correctly. Its been that way since 1986. :lol:
Your translation is correct :roll:
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
Dark Willow
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 676
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:59 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by Dark Willow »

Really glad to see GFA on the 'bee. This makes getting one all the more tempting - damn!
TT030, 10mb/16mb, 3.5" SCSI multi-card reader (2gb CF/512mb SD), Matrix TC1006 gfx card, EtherNEC, Epson GT scanner, VanillaMint | 1040STe, 4mb, TOS 1.62, MegaFile 60, SM125 | Lynx II | 800XL, 64k, 1050 disk drive, XC12 tape deck, MicroLink parallel adapter

PuppySoft:Projects & More
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

Just put an update on my site for the FireBee.
Direct link: http://userpages.bright.net/~gfabasic/f ... alibcf.zip

Lib changes:
RECALL fixed (bug reported by Rajah Lone)

Compiler changes:
The DEFFN bug that has been in there forever is now fixed.
The 68K version of the compiler will now halt on the FireBee to avoid a crash or freeze if accidentally started.
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

GBE update for the FireBee released.
Direct link: http://userpages.bright.net/~gfabasic/files/gbe_cf.zip

Changes:
Rebuilt with the latest library for the FireBee.
Structure test now supports all the new compiler options.
Test drop-down menu reworked heavily. Some new options to find common errors and typos.
New meta command to simplify multiple library building.

Bug fixes:
Run button now ignores the make commands (fix applied to the 68k version).
m0n0
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:13 am

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by m0n0 »

Hello,

when I try to run GBE.APP I get the following error:

Fatal Error!
System overlay failed at Init()
A:\GFA\EDITOR\gbe\data_68k\ovl.prg

Btw. the file doesn't exist and I don't know where to get it. And of course I replaced gbe.app with the coldfire version...

What to do now?

Greets & Thanks
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

I will have to do some tests and get back to you on this.
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

I was able to reproduce the problem. Somehow I managed to build GBE and forgot to link the assembler portion. 8O

It does a check to make sure the assembler is linked, otherwise it would crash, but the error message is misleading because I normally test it interpreted. :wink:

Please re-download the archive.
Direct link: http://userpages.bright.net/~gfabasic/files/gbe_cf.zip (172,656 bytes)
Note the RSC changed! HYP updated as well.

This is yet another update as I'm still working on new editor features. New feature:
If you press Control-M and the cursor is inside a subroutine, it will mark that subroutine as a block.
m0n0
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:13 am

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by m0n0 »

Seems to work fine now - now I just have to figure out how to configure all that =)
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

There's a new section in the HYP called 'Installation' which should help setup the bare minimum to compile something.
Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 674
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by Mathias »

Lonny released a new GFA version for the FireBee. See our news from today: http://acp.atari.org
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

New release for GFABASIC, see here:
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 45#p251745
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

I have built a FireBee version of the runonly interpreter. If anyone wants to test it, it is here:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/hk65mapqd3fm ... a/gfabasic

See the read_me.txt file for instructions.
oehansen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by oehansen »

tried it, looks good ... the runonly that is.

However, lp ... I payed $5 registration fee for aIRC ... but miss my registration code :-)
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

oehansen wrote:tried it, looks good ... the runonly that is.

However, lp ... I payed $5 registration fee for aIRC ... but miss my registration code :-)
Thanks for testing the interpreter.

I mailed one on Aug 24th if that was you, its still in my sent folder. I need a real name, as the alias used here won't help me resend it.
PM me your real name, the one used for paypal and an e-mail address, if you rather I don't send it via PM.
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

Updated GFA Compiler package, the highlights are:

Compiler r25
Version number re-sync'd with linker, no other changes.

Linker r25
There's now a version of the linker just for the FireBee.
TAS instructions recoded. It is finally stable on the FireBee!
Thanks to Vincent for the help. ;)

Library r12
TAS instruction recoded.

Interpreter r12
First public release of the interpreter for the FireBee.
TAS instruction recoded.
Random crashes with extremely low string memory fixed.

See documentation for a full list of changes.
http://userpages.bright.net/~gfabasic/f ... a_comp.zip
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2554
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: FireBee + GFA

Post by lp »

Post Reply

Return to “FireBee”