Phoenix Database

All things related to the Atari Coldfire Project

Moderators: Mathias, Mug UK, [ProToS], moondog/.tSCc., Galvez, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 674
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Phoenix Database

Post by Mathias »

I just wanted to share my latest finding. The Database Phoenix 5.5 is already working at the FireBee. And as it seems it always worked well. Thanks to a user who adviced me, we know now, you just have to make clear that the folder "system" from the phoenix package goes into the folder "GEMSYS" at your boot partition. Subsequently it will run in every resolution and bitdepth!

So we have another professional application, as Phoenix 5.5 is from 2010 and still supported.

http://home.ewr-online.de/~gstoll/phoenix.htm
phoenix.jpg
phoenix2.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.
oehansen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by oehansen »

Now here is an application, worthy of noting. Good application, works well.
Mathias
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 674
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by Mathias »

oehansen wrote:Now here is an application, worthy of noting.
I do not understand, what does this mean?
MegaST 4 with Sounddesigner II MegaBus hardware and 56001, Hades 040, MagiC Mac at Mac OS 9 and a FireBee.
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2505
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by christos »

So does anyone know how to create entry forms?
Latz
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by Latz »

Hi,

the above link is "temporary not available".

Latz
Falcon/CT60 90MHz, 14+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 32GB CF card, DVD-RW.
Falcon/CT63 95MHz, 4+128 MB RAM, CTPCI/Radeon 9250/RTL8139, Carte Eiffel+LCD, 16GB IDE CF card, CD-RW.
User avatar
davemacblack
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:20 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by davemacblack »

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by nagual »

christos wrote:So does anyone know how to create entry forms?
What is for you "entry form" ?
Do you mean form for input data,or query form, or something else ?

So, if you mean form for input data, you create it in Designer, after you create table.
Any form you create in Designer is visible in Manager, and behaviour of form, buttons etc.. is set on Designer.
Same is with query form - you can create custom query form in Designer and add action to button to call query form - on query form you have to define button to execute query...
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2505
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by christos »

nagual wrote:
christos wrote:So does anyone know how to create entry forms?
What is for you "entry form" ?
Do you mean form for input data,or query form, or something else ?

So, if you mean form for input data, you create it in Designer, after you create table.
Any form you create in Designer is visible in Manager, and behaviour of form, buttons etc.. is set on Designer.
Same is with query form - you can create custom query form in Designer and add action to button to call query form - on query form you have to define button to execute query...
Well i couldn't find any form creation menu and searching for forms in the hyp didn't give any results. I mean input form
nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by nagual »

christos wrote:
nagual wrote:
christos wrote:So does anyone know how to create entry forms?
What is for you "entry form" ?
Do you mean form for input data,or query form, or something else ?

So, if you mean form for input data, you create it in Designer, after you create table.
Any form you create in Designer is visible in Manager, and behaviour of form, buttons etc.. is set on Designer.
Same is with query form - you can create custom query form in Designer and add action to button to call query form - on query form you have to define button to execute query...
Well i couldn't find any form creation menu and searching for forms in the hyp didn't give any results. I mean input form
As I said - run Designer, create one table, and drag mask icon (like carneval mask) on table.
New window appear with generic forms, select one you want and...voila!
Form window is active so you can edit fields, text, add buttons etc...
nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by nagual »

Here's the screenshots of described actions:-)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2505
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by christos »

Cool. So forms are masks. Can i ceate a mask from multiple tables?
nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by nagual »

christos wrote:Cool. So forms are masks. Can i ceate a mask from multiple tables?
Yep...
And for some components (like combobox/listbox) you have to create lookup table or manually add items...

My advice - open samples and analyze forms, actions and how that work in Manager, because, if you don't have too much experience with database programming, or database in general, this could be frustrating.

Authors of Phoenix presume that user are not total beginners in databases.

Phoenix support SQL and relational model really good, so this is actually nice tool to learn programming SQL databses and create SQL querys - common commands are supported as SELECT, FROM, WHERE, UPDATE, SET etc...
nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by nagual »

I also have a Windows version of Phoenix, little bit different, more SQL implementation, but, it's fast, stabile and accurate.
Only one thing eating me - no report designer (as Atari version), so I wrote my own...
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2505
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by christos »

I have some experience with databases, i was just a bit confused by the interface.
Am I right to assume that you can output code to interface the dB you create with C code?

Thanks for your help nagual. I am really impressed by phoenix.
nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by nagual »

christos wrote:Am I right to assume that you can output code to interface the dB you create with C code?
Yes:-)
Actually there's a API for Phoenix, it's in attachment - powerfull:-)

And I'm impressed with Phoenix too, nice stabile database:-)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by jury »

Damn, this DB engine looks awesome. If I will have some more free time I definitely need to check this one.
neotenien
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 14, 2021 3:53 pm

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by neotenien »

nagual wrote: Sun Aug 04, 2019 9:24 pm Phoenix support SQL and relational model really good, so this is actually nice tool to learn programming SQL databses and create SQL querys - common commands are supported as SELECT, FROM, WHERE, UPDATE, SET etc...

Wow that's really great!! Coz in my studies I used SQL a lot, and at this (90 years) I purchased Twist and SuperBase (a really great and professionnal software) but as long as remember, no one of them use SQL (even if they had their own language).

But the problem with Phoenix in 1998 version was it existed only in German language... And didn't have any RSC file to translate it... Does it exist now in other languages ?
nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Re: Phoenix Database

Post by nagual »

So, Phoenix 5.5 for Atari was full translated in English...
http://st-computer.atariuptodate.de/dow ... nix_55.zip

On the other hand, Phoenix96 for Windows is German only....but it's really not to hard to understand - menus are almost identical between Atari and Windows version so you can easy compare, if you need help, let me know, I'm not native German speaker, but I'm live and work in Germany with native Germans, so.... :mrgreen:

Both versions have pro's and con's - IMHO Atari version is better, allow create sophisticated reports with fonts etc...BUT, Windows version have better SQL implementation, it's a FAST....and you can create reports on slightly different way as in Atari version with fonts, graphic etc...

Don't forget - Atari and Windows IND/DAT files ARE NOT COMPATIBLE!!!

I was recently working with HUGE CSV files exported from Linux server (huge in range 300-500MB).
Phoenix was just spit out, no complaining, no mumbling :D

Anyway, I use both version every day for my daily job :-)

Generally, user interface is a little confusing, and some things are not logical, but, I'm very satisfied Phoenix user :-)


Cheers!
:cheers:
Post Reply

Return to “FireBee”