Early ST BootROM dumped!

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by Factor6 »

Hi there.

As I promised, we made the dump of the bootROM chips of my early 520ST+.
It has 16K and no emulator can handle it. Try on yourself.

http://www.krupkaj.cz/tosload.img

F6
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
wheeel
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 12:11 pm

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by wheeel »

Cool!

I'd also be interested in a dump of your keyboard ROM too, if you don't mind doing so, as I'd like to see whether it ever changed between the original issue and the Mega STE (which is what I've got).

The attached program will hopefully run on your machine. It was written by me, so its only been used/tested on my machines, but I expect it'll work. Its simple enough, runs from Gem and it will produce a 4kb ROM file after about 20 seconds or so.

If you have time, that'd be great... :wink:

Cheers
Will
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
kristjanga
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:35 pm

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by kristjanga »

did you send this to the makers of hatari and/or steem??
wheeel
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 12:11 pm

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by wheeel »

No, not yet: this is its first "publication". As far as I know only Saint emulates a 6301 (although I've never tested how fully it emulates, or whether it just does enough to allow those demos that get the 6301 to run their own code). I was thinking of trying to write some full emulator code for Hatari, but this was only a vague thing at the moment since I don't have the time to devote to it. Feel free to pass it along, if you think it worth while! I can try to did up the sources for it, if necessary, but I wrote it back in 1999 and may be lost in the mists of time!

I remember reading that there were changes to the keyboard firmware at various points: I think the TT had support for a third mouse button for example??? But looking at the schematics for the original Atari ST keyboard, it differs from the later editions, so again must (may) have had different firmware. I have an STE and a MegaSTE and they have identical firmwares. This is why I'd be interested in a ROM dump from factor6's computer. I might then see if I can get hold of a dump also from an STFM and a TT, maybe even a Falcon. If the TT did indeed have support for the third mouse button (which the MegaSTE didn't as far as I can ascertain even though it has the additional signal on the mouse port and incidentally wikipedia says it does...), then I guess there must be some special handling for it in the firmware - at the very least to detect whether it is pressed!

Basically I'm just curious...

Will
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2734
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by charles »

its true there is an earilier version of tos , it supports bdos instead(before) they made it gemdos. my first version of cubase only works on this tos,, i think because it don't function under tos 1 or 1.6 2 or more...

charles
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
SofiST
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:25 pm

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by SofiST »

Factor6 wrote:Hi there.

As I promised, we made the dump of the bootROM chips of my early 520ST+.
It has 16K and no emulator can handle it. Try on yourself.

http://www.krupkaj.cz/tosload.img

F6

I patched it by adding TOS 1.00 header and moving overwritten code at begin to empty area at end. Now Steem and Hatari accept it (so, emulators look TOS header for validating).
Under Steem it loads US floppy based TOS 1.00 (I had only it at hand) and Brataccas, same in Hatari. Most of games will not load, of course.
Don't see much use of all it, but may be good for some testings...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ozy2000
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:44 am

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by ozy2000 »

Doesn't work with STeeM 2.6 and says it's an invalid TOS image etc.
SofiST
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:25 pm

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by SofiST »

ozy2000 wrote:Doesn't work with STeeM 2.6 and says it's an invalid TOS image etc.
I tested it with Steem 3.2 .
ozy2000
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:44 am

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by ozy2000 »

SofiST wrote:
ozy2000 wrote:Doesn't work with STeeM 2.6 and says it's an invalid TOS image etc.
I tested it with Steem 3.2 .

OK thanks will give it a go on a later version of STeem and see what happens ta :)
User avatar
Dizzy-WEWRF
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:22 pm

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by Dizzy-WEWRF »

patched it by adding TOS 1.00
Any way to reach the patched Version too :)

So long Dizzy
Everything will become well :)
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5309
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by simonsunnyboy »

SofiST wrote:
Factor6 wrote:Hi there.

As I promised, we made the dump of the bootROM chips of my early 520ST+.
It has 16K and no emulator can handle it. Try on yourself.

http://www.krupkaj.cz/tosload.img

F6

I patched it by adding TOS 1.00 header and moving overwritten code at begin to empty area at end. Now Steem and Hatari accept it (so, emulators look TOS header for validating).
Under Steem it loads US floppy based TOS 1.00 (I had only it at hand) and Brataccas, same in Hatari. Most of games will not load, of course.
Don't see much use of all it, but may be good for some testings...
A rather current version of Hatari can load TOS 1.00 de, TOS 2.06 de and Emutos 0.9 (floppy edition) from corresponding boot floppies. In all 3 cases, the desktop appears but I didn't test more than a bit of clicking and opening the floppy contents.

*Edit* Both the unpatched version above and the patched version by ppera do this.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by AtariZoll »

Dizzy-WEWRF wrote:
patched it by adding TOS 1.00
Any way to reach the patched Version too :)
So long Dizzy
DL link is 5 posts above - you need to be logged in to see it.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.
User avatar
Dizzy-WEWRF
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:22 pm

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by Dizzy-WEWRF »

Thx
now it worked :)

So long
DIZZY
Everything will become well :)
Hippy Dave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:40 am

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by Hippy Dave »

This UnPatched Old 2-rom TOS:
http://www.krupkaj.cz/tosload.img
And
This Atari TOS System Disk:
http://www.pangaelinwillow.net/AtariTOS ... 100_us.zip
work together to boot up with Hatari.

Be sure to use the old rom.
Be sure to put the system disk in floppy drive A

Select:
Hatari > System > ST
Hatari > System > Patch TOS for faster boot (1)
Hatari > Hard Disks > GEMDOS > Eject

(1)
It is odd that Hatari needs to do this ?!
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Hippy Dave wrote:Select:
Hatari > System > ST
Hatari > System > Patch TOS for faster boot (1)
Hatari > Hard Disks > GEMDOS > Eject

(1)
It is odd that Hatari needs to do this ?!
It's to set the memory valid variables so that TOS skips the memory checking. If I remember right, that doesn't work with all TOS version and with emulator checking the memory is useless (checking small part of your host RAM using an emulator, is not the best way to check your host RAM)...
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2016
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by frank.lukas »

http://www.pangaelinwillow.net/AtariTOS ... 100_us.zip

…the Link is dead, I have a Set PROM Chips from 1985 and looking for the Boot Image Floppy ?
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
Hippy Dave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:40 am

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by Hippy Dave »

disk_tos100_us.zip
AtariTOSsystem.zip
tosload.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Steven Seagal
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Early ST BootROM dumped!

Post by Steven Seagal »

Factor6 wrote: It has 16K and no emulator can handle it. Try on yourself.

http://www.krupkaj.cz/tosload.img

F6

Steem authors had written code for it, but they thought the ROM started with $6008, not $6006 like here.
That's why the unpatched image was refused. Now it will work (for those who care!)
Maybe there are various versions?
In the CIA we learned that ST ruled
Steem SSE: http://sourceforge.net/projects/steemsse
Post Reply

Return to “Other emulators & tools”