How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

Hi, I got my Atari 520ST+ and I'm quite surprised because it does not have TOS in ROMs. Only 2 of 6 ROM sockets are used. When I turn the ST on, a colourful boot screen appears and wants a disk from me. I will replace the boot chips with TOS 1.04 probably, but until that, I'd like to ask if there is possibility to make a bootable ST TOS floppy and how? Or just format a 720K floppy on PC and copy a TOS.ROM image onto it. I don't know. Or is there an image of bootable TOS for download somewhere on the net?

Thanks,
Alan
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Klapauzius »

Factor6 wrote: Or is there an image of bootable TOS for download somewhere on the net?
Hi and welcome to the forum Alan

here is what you're looking for:
http://www.planetemu.net/index.php?section=roms&dat=355

You could try the 2.06 disk first. If that fails, the 1.00 ones should be fine for your machine. :-)
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Frank B »

Factor6 wrote:Hi, I got my Atari 520ST+ and I'm quite surprised because it does not have TOS in ROMs. Only 2 of 6 ROM sockets are used. When I turn the ST on, a colourful boot screen appears and wants a disk from me. I will replace the boot chips with TOS 1.04 probably, but until that, I'd like to ask if there is possibility to make a bootable ST TOS floppy and how? Or just format a 720K floppy on PC and copy a TOS.ROM image onto it. I don't know. Or is there an image of bootable TOS for download somewhere on the net?

Thanks,
Alan
Might be good if we can get a really early mobo pic for the twiki too :)

Frank
Last edited by Frank B on Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Klapauzius
The Klaz
The Klaz
Posts: 4302
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Klapauzius »

My very first ST was one of that kind. It lasted only for 2 days though, that's when I got my TOS 1.00 ROMs built in.
It was plain terrible to handle. :-)
http://www.klapauzius.net
http://dbug.kicks-ass.net/klaz

The tears are welling in my eyes again, I need twenty big buckets to catch them in, twenty pretty girls to carry them down, twenty deep holes to bury them in.
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

Klapauzius wrote: here is what you're looking for:
http://www.planetemu.net/index.php?section=roms&dat=355

You could try the 2.06 disk first. If that fails, the 1.00 ones should be fine for your machine. :-)
Oh, that's exactly what I needed. Thanks! Now, I need to get an external floppy drive first :)
I'm thinking of letting the machine be as it is, because it seems many people haven't seen it so it could be quite interesting attraction at Atari parties :) But a friend of mine said he's able to burn EPROMs with Czech version (and bugfixed) of TOS 1.04 for me, so it's also an exciting alternative for me. Anyway, I'm looking for a disk drive first.
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

Frank B wrote:Oh cool! Never seen one of them. Any chance you could upload pictures of the machine, the boot screen and the ROM contents for archival purposes?

Frank
Yeah, I can even make a short video of the TOS booting process, but I need to get a working floppy drive first :) I'll try eBay or similar auctions to get it.

F6
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Frank B »

Klapauzius wrote:My very first ST was one of that kind. It lasted only for 2 days though, that's when I got my TOS 1.00 ROMs built in.
It was plain terrible to handle. :-)
I've never seen one. I have a 520 ST with the external disk drive but it has TOS in ROM. Might be neat to see the boot screen :)

Frank
insanity
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:31 pm
Location: Leicester, England

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by insanity »

Frank B wrote: Might be good if we can get a really early mobo pic for the twiki too :)
Great idea - if you could photo the motherboard (showing revision numbers etc)
that would be great - I can upload it to here then:

http://www.atari-forum.com/wiki/index.p ... _revisions

Thanks

baz
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

So guys, here is the video of the 520ST+ with no TOS :) Sorry for quality, YouTube has lowered it a bit :evil:
Photos of the mobo and the machine will follow later :wink:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m1jscTrkeso
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Frank B »

Factor6 wrote:So guys, here is the video of the 520ST+ with no TOS :) Sorry for quality, YouTube has lowered it a bit :evil:
Photos of the mobo and the machine will follow later :wink:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m1jscTrkeso
Cool! I love the early boot strap screen :)

Frank
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12960
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by wongck »

Factor6 wrote:So guys, here is the video of the 520ST+ with no TOS :) Sorry for quality, YouTube has lowered it a bit :evil:
Photos of the mobo and the machine will follow later :wink:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m1jscTrkeso
Thanks man. Never saw one before.
Look like a real cool demo in the beginning with those colour changing in the bkgound. :lol:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5254
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by simonsunnyboy »

That boot disk requester is pretty nicely done! Never seen this before....

Will it show the screen if no floppy is present or will it directly boot the TOS disk if inserted?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

simonsunnyboy wrote:That boot disk requester is pretty nicely done! Never seen this before....
Will it show the screen if no floppy is present or will it directly boot the TOS disk if inserted?
If the disk drive is off, it shows the screen with "Connect the Disk Drive...", if it's on, it requires to insert a floppy disk saying "Put the Systems Disk...".
If there's a bootable floppy already inserted in the drive when turning the power switch on, it starts booting automatically without any requester, just showing the cute palette cycling and a 'fly' busy pointer :)

F6
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1970
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Desty »

Wow, never seen (or heard of) that before. Thanks for putting this up!
tá'n poc ar buile!
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1994
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Cyprian »

can you dump this ROM into file?
Mega ST 1 / 7800 / Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net / AT Speed C16
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Frank B »

Desty wrote:Wow, never seen (or heard of) that before. Thanks for putting this up!
I guess it's meant to look like GEM but it doesn't quite carry it off. :) The OK box and menu bar look slightly odd. I wonder if there are any error messages in there too.
What happens when you feed it a non TOS disk? :)

Frank
User avatar
Nyh
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1496
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:25 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Nyh »

Desty wrote:Wow, never seen (or heard of) that before. Thanks for putting this up!
Just load the Fnill demo by TNT-crew, hit the reset button and see for yourself.

Hans Wessels
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by nativ »

Hi,
Another solution is to boot your TOS rom from a hard drive or substitute.

/|\

Have fun !

Ashley
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

Frank B wrote:
Desty wrote:Wow, never seen (or heard of) that before. Thanks for putting this up!
I guess it's meant to look like GEM but it doesn't quite carry it off. :) The OK box and menu bar look slightly odd. I wonder if there are any error messages in there too.
What happens when you feed it a non TOS disk? :)

Frank
Nothing happens, just tries to boot and if it fails, it waits approx. 2 seconds and tries it again :)
The menu is fake, not functional at all. It seems odd, as I think it's just a part of the picture. You can click on it like a maniac and nothing happens.

F6
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

Nyh wrote:
Desty wrote:Wow, never seen (or heard of) that before. Thanks for putting this up!
Just load the Fnill demo by TNT-crew, hit the reset button and see for yourself.
Hans Wessels
Yes, it's there. Just press F7 :)

F6
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

Cyprian_K wrote:can you dump this ROM into file?
I tried it with ROMDUMP and TOSDUMP but with no success. ROMDUMP doesn't dump anything and TOSDUMP dumps actual TOS in RAM.

F6
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1970
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Desty »

Nyh wrote:
Desty wrote:Wow, never seen (or heard of) that before. Thanks for putting this up!
Just load the Fnill demo by TNT-crew, hit the reset button and see for yourself.
Sounds fun, will do :)
tá'n poc ar buile!
User avatar
Factor6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Factor6 »

insanity wrote:
Frank B wrote: Might be good if we can get a really early mobo pic for the twiki too :)
Great idea - if you could photo the motherboard (showing revision numbers etc)
that would be great - I can upload it to here then:

http://www.atari-forum.com/wiki/index.p ... _revisions

Thanks

baz
Hey, I don't know how to upload my mobo pic just to this site... Plz help :)

F6
ATARI 520 ST+ (no-ROM-TOS), Cumana FDD, 130 XE 320K/stereo/QMEG, SDrive, SIO2SD, 2600jr, Jaguar
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12960
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by wongck »

Just use the attach file using the tab "upload attachment" to upload the image file.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: How to make a boot floppy for early 520ST without TOS?

Post by Frank B »

Factor6 wrote:
insanity wrote:
Frank B wrote: Might be good if we can get a really early mobo pic for the twiki too :)
Great idea - if you could photo the motherboard (showing revision numbers etc)
that would be great - I can upload it to here then:

http://www.atari-forum.com/wiki/index.p ... _revisions

Thanks

baz
Hey, I don't know how to upload my mobo pic just to this site... Plz help :)

F6
Just upload it as an attachment here and someone will add it to the twiki :) That's what I did.
Post Reply

Return to “Other emulators & tools”