Hisoft Basic 2

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Post Reply
KTH
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:45 pm

Hisoft Basic 2

Post by KTH »

Hi,

Does someone know where I can find a copy of Hisoft Basic 2 including a working HBASIC.TTP? The copies I found in the net do not have it.

I found this post, but the content is no longer available, unfortunately.
FatRakoon wrote:I uploaded this ...

Should be all of HBasic v2.10 without any of my own projects.

http://www.fatrakoon.co.uk/hb2.zip

Its 903K ok?
Thanks.
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1467
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Try this one. Maybe it's what you're looking for.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wl54pg3o6ft4u ... C.zip?dl=1
KTH
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by KTH »

Thanks so much! In the ZIP file HBASIC.TTP is still missing but the rest of the stuff looks fully functional and I have been able to recompile some of my old code :D
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4199
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by Dal »

Are you sure HBASIC.TTP isn’t just HBASIC.PRG renamed? There were a few programs on the ST that behaved as TTP if you just renamed them.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
KTH
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by KTH »

Thank you for the suggestion! I just tried renaming HBASIC.PRG to HBASIC.TTP but unfortunately it did not work, got the GEM app fired up anyway. Worth a try anyway!
itaboy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 6:24 pm

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by itaboy »

This is the full package :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2718
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by charles »

kth there are better basics to use ,
why do you choose hisoft basic?
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
KTH
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by KTH »

itaboy wrote:This is the full package :)
Awesome ... this package has HBASIC.TTP in there ... thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :cheers:
KTH
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by KTH »

charles wrote:kth there are better basics to use ,
why do you choose hisoft basic?
Agreed. I have some code I wrote in HiSoft Basic back in the 90's and I now found it and wanted to see how it worked. Choosing HiSoft Basic at that time was not an educated choice, it was simply the only basic compiler I had available :wink:
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2718
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by charles »

any code geared towards the midi port?
I still write code to aid with music generation /composition
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
KTH
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by KTH »

Sorry, nope, it is database-related.
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2718
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by charles »

great
can manage all my shows!
lol
good luck with the program.
im somewhat current in basic dialect ,
feel free to write me anytime.
charles
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
KTH
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:45 pm

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by KTH »

Thx!
gamer1867
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:46 am

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by gamer1867 »

Thanks for the download link and information! :D
thedavegray
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Bedford, UK.

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by thedavegray »

charles wrote:kth there are better basics to use ,
why do you choose hisoft basic?
What would you say was better? I had GFA and HB2 and really preferred the development environment used by HB2, also the GEM toolbox was a great help in getting started. I could never see why people raved about GFA if I'm honest.
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2517
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by lp »

thedavegray wrote:What would you say was better? I had GFA and HB2 and really preferred the development environment used by HB2, also the GEM toolbox was a great help in getting started. I could never see why people raved about GFA if I'm honest.
Not sure why you are replying to a year old post. ;)

GFA supports subroutine folding, you see this on all modern source code editors now days. Instant syntax checking and a built in interpreter. Plus you get automatic code indentation. GFA is still being supported. http://gfabasic.net/

Give HB2 a try with some current MiNT setup you'll find that "development environment" doesn't work. Always crashes when you hit run. The biggest problem I had with HB2 was the editor. You can type any sort of gibberish and it don't care, only at compile time do you get a cascade of errors. Frankly HB2 felt more like 'C' than BASIC.
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2718
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by charles »

I just wanted to know what aspect drew him into hb2.
its easy to use but takes a lot of space once u write a whole program.
I personally feel hb2 is mid level among basics....... gfa omikron..ldw..fast basic .. these are some of my preferred basics
over hb2.
wouldnt mind finding "true basic " for the Atari or "turing basic" for the Atari and see how those compare.
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2517
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by lp »

https://www.truebasic.com/atari
They want $25 for the ST version. Not worth it, no compiler.
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2718
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by charles »

some reason my computer is crippled
that page wont show /load????...

no compiller..
wheres that hiding ,

much like fast basic
where is its compillier??? no where to be found.
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
itaboy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 6:24 pm

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by itaboy »

From my experience, Hisoft Basic 2 is a professional product and is a very good product indeed. The editor is quite stable (it is the very same that is used in Lattice C and has been employed in profession environments) and the syntax is clear and well documented.
The fact that it is closer to C (with respect to the cycle: write - compile - link - test) instead of being interpreted, is not so important to me.
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2517
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Hisoft Basic 2

Post by lp »

itaboy wrote:From my experience, Hisoft Basic 2 is a professional product and is a very good product indeed. The editor is quite stable (it is the very same that is used in Lattice C and has been employed in profession environments) and the syntax is clear and well documented.
The fact that it is closer to C (with respect to the cycle: write - compile - link - test) instead of being interpreted, is not so important to me.
That explains a lot, so it's like Lattice C reskinned with a basic like syntax. ;)
Anyway, jokes aside if that's what people like, have at it. It's unfortunate such a GEM like app doesn't work correctly under mint. The supplied GEM toolbox and the updated one called Enchant also have issues under mint. I stopped using single tasking TOS a long time ago, it cripples my work flow, but that's me. HB2 manuals can be found at devdocs if anyone is looking for them.
Post Reply

Return to “Other BASIC”