4096 colors in Gfa-basic?

GFA BASIC-related articles in here please

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
mib5150
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 12:40 pm
Location: Vårkumla, West Gothia, Sweden
Contact:

4096 colors in Gfa-basic?

Post by mib5150 »

Hi, after a loooong pause from gfa-basic, I am back.

Right now I want to work with 16 greyscales on the STE, but I don't seem to manage to do that in gfa-basic.

Right now I'm using gfa-basic 3.5 (since 3.6tt keeps bombing away all the time). To be honest I'm also using xsteem with tos 2.06.

(As soon as I can get some room for my Mega STE to be placed permanently in my home I will do that, for now xsteem is my only way to work with an Atari).

So, my question in short - how will I be able to choose from 4096 colors in gfa-basic instead of just 512? I've tried the vsetcolor, and also using the xbios 7-function directly, but I get no more than 512 colors from that.

/ kind regards,

Lars
User avatar
mib5150
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 12:40 pm
Location: Vårkumla, West Gothia, Sweden
Contact:

Re: 4096 colors in Gfa-basic?

Post by mib5150 »

Ok. I found a 3.6TT that didn't bomb, and vsetcolor WAS the answer. Problem solved.

Tips & Tricks about running gfa3.6tt on an STE is most welcome anyhow! :)
User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4433
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden

Re: 4096 colors in Gfa-basic?

Post by Marcer »

check out paradize.atari.org
there you have some great gfa codes!

// Marcer
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5254
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: 4096 colors in Gfa-basic?

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Ofcourse you can use XBIOS 7 directly. Just make sure to use full hex digits for the color settings:

&HFFF and &H777 are different colors on the STE. SETCOLOR actually uses XBIOS 7 but limits the inputs.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
Post Reply

Return to “GFA BASIC”