"Insufficient memory" to load source file in MonST

All 680x0 related coding posts in this section please.

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1970
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

"Insufficient memory" to load source file in MonST

Post by Desty »

Hello, I decided to return to coding on the Atari ST with Perihelion's 68k tutorials. At the moment I'm going through tutorial 6 which introduces MonST. It all seems fine so far except that I can't load the source code into the debugger alongside the binary; it produces an error message saying "Insufficient memory", even though the file is only 311 bytes long.

I thought it might be due to unexpected formatting of the assembly source without tabs, since I'm using vasmm68k_mot in Linux to cross-assemble, then running the resulting binaries in Hatari. However, the error message appears if I try to load one of the Devpac 3.1 example source files (demo.s). I'm using MonST 3.10.

Alternatively, is there something as powerful as MonST or better, that ideally has source-level debugging?
tá'n poc ar buile!
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1961
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: "Insufficient memory" to load source file in MonST

Post by Cyprian »

Desty wrote:Alternatively, is there something as powerful as MonST or better, that ideally has source-level debugging?
yes,
Steem SSE debugger and Hatari debugger. Both much powerful than MonST.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/steems ... SSE%203.9/
https://download.tuxfamily.org/hatari/2.2.1/

Eero comment:
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 22#p384650
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
seedy1812
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 2:04 pm

Re: "Insufficient memory" to load source file in MonST

Post by seedy1812 »

Are you running on a 512K machine ?
Do you have any other programs loaded - eg accessories

Even though your file may only be 311 bytes it can still use up all memory. There is the bss section which does not need to be stored in the file but the memory is required when ran.
User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1970
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Re: "Insufficient memory" to load source file in MonST

Post by Desty »

Cyprian wrote:
Desty wrote:Alternatively, is there something as powerful as MonST or better, that ideally has source-level debugging?
yes,
Steem SSE debugger and Hatari debugger. Both much powerful than MonST.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/steems ... SSE%203.9/
https://download.tuxfamily.org/hatari/2.2.1/

Eero comment:
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 22#p384650
Great! I'm using Hatari, but haven't found an option in the docs for attaching a source file for source level debugging. Do you know a way?
tá'n poc ar buile!
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: "Insufficient memory" to load source file in MonST

Post by neanderthal »

You mean with like Ctrl-L ?It expects an atari executable file header and stuff.Not an ascii file as such.However the ascii version can be loaded into window 2 and 4 with A according to manual.Never had need for that myself tho.
User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1970
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Re: "Insufficient memory" to load source file in MonST

Post by Desty »

neanderthal wrote:You mean with like Ctrl-L ?It expects an atari executable file header and stuff.Not an ascii file as such.However the ascii version can be loaded into window 2 and 4 with A according to manual.Never had need for that myself tho.
Yes, that's the thing that seems to cause a problem with MonST. I guess it's not that important, especially if I assemble with debug symbols.
tá'n poc ar buile!
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: "Insufficient memory" to load source file in MonST

Post by neanderthal »

Desty wrote:
neanderthal wrote:You mean with like Ctrl-L ?It expects an atari executable file header and stuff.Not an ascii file as such.However the ascii version can be loaded into window 2 and 4 with A according to manual.Never had need for that myself tho.
Yes, that's the thing that seems to cause a problem with MonST. I guess it's not that important, especially if I assemble with debug symbols.
Hehe,,had to test it myself,,was doing some stuff anyhows tonight..A desktop drop straight into monst with non executable made it just hang there(this was with mint and stuff tho),same with raw TOS with same file.
Quess they never put in any checker for sanity of fileheader when loading executables,funny that I never noticed it..lol
Then again use it for debuggin so.
The load ascii file could actually be handy at times,but is a simple text viewer by the looks of it.
And yea,assembling with symbols is very handy when checking out functions and so on.
Can always strip them out or reassemble without :)
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: "Insufficient memory" to load source file in MonST

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Desty wrote:Great! I'm using Hatari, but haven't found an option in the docs for attaching a source file for source level debugging. Do you know a way?
It's not really source level debugger in that sense. But debugger loads automatically debug symbols from the binary when you switch to it, shows them in disassembly and profiler output, i.e. you see your assembly labels, and can use them in breakpoints etc.
Post Reply

Return to “680x0”