Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

All 680x0 related coding posts in this section please.

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

jvas wrote: Uploaded the complete file list into Mantis ...
Thanks! Got it.

It does point towards two possible causes, so I'll look into them and update progress before long.

[EDIT]

Should be fixed now.
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by calimero »

hi!

did I miss something or I can not download alpha version from: http://www.leonik.net/dml/sec_atari.py ?!?
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by viking272 »

calimero wrote:did I miss something or I can not download alpha version from: http://www.leonik.net/dml/sec_atari.py ?!?
Quite possibly, try this site:

http://devilsdoorbell.com/

There are a few updates, links and resources here plus the binary downloads!
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

Hi,
calimero wrote:hi!
did I miss something or I can not download alpha version from: http://www.leonik.net/dml/sec_atari.py ?!?
I've not had time to touch my site in a while - so only stale stuff can be found there at the moment.

The new stuff can be found at a new site provided by viking272 ^^^ and a few other familiar places which probably link or host the file by now.
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2346
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by calimero »

ok, thanks!
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

There are just 2 things left now before updating the release - one is the strange and very occasional 'flicker' / jumping display on VGA, and the other is JagPad support. The VGA thing seems to be quite rare on my box but does happen. It happened once during the last test, but I couldn't get it to recur deliberately.

I haven't found a reason yet for this - it might be caused by the SB screensplit somehow propagating onto the next frame (despite the fact the display counter should be reset to physbase on the VBL every time by the Videl). I need a good hour or two to play with SCP and try out new profiles so I'm not sure when that's going to happen - sometime this week anyway.

The other issues have been fixed or at least addressed in some way.
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1155
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by CiH »

This pictorial link might be of interest to people. Certainly gives ideas and potential source material for new things.

https://i.4cdn.org/hr/src/1389952695217.jpg
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2158
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Below ones were actually Doom I PWADs. Sorry about the confusion. New info is for GCC 2.x + TIMERBASE=1 compiled code.
Eero Tamminen wrote: trinity.wad gives:

Code: Select all

R_Init: Init DOOM refresh daemon - [.Error: R_InitTextures: Missing patch in texture
With doomu.wad it freezes in sound init after:

Code: Select all

GEMDOS 0x42 Fseek(752898560, 67, 0)
Eero Tamminen wrote: teutic.wad, return01.wad - BM freezes at startup, after doing following for the wad file:

Code: Select all

Fseek(1754815232, 67, 0)
Teutic.wad loads and starts fine, but crashes during gameplay.

return01.wad crashes during loading after printing about statusbar init showing Doom startup image and doing a lot of disk accesses to doomu.wad, to:

Code: Select all

GEMDOS 0x42 Fseek(10764, 64, 0)
M68000 Bus Error writing at address $6.
M68000 Bus Error writing at address $4.
M68000 Bus Error writing at address $2.
M68000 Bus Error writing at address $0.
M68000 Bus Error writing at address $fffffe.
Eero Tamminen wrote: eternity.wad, infinity.wad - BM freezes at startup, after doing following for the wad file:

Code: Select all

Fseek(2087345408, 67, 0)
Both load and work fine, but BM crashes during playing (like teutic.wad crash, this is about what happens in Hatari).
Eero Tamminen wrote: galaxia.wad - Bus errors after demo has started.

acheron.wad - gives normal Doom II on startup.
galaxia.wad freezes at startup in sound init after:

Code: Select all

GEMDOS 0x3F Fread(66, 5906, 0x4c2090)
acheron.wad freezes at startup in sound init after:

Code: Select all

GEMDOS 0x42 Fseek(1950697728, 67, 0)
Code that is being run (according to profile) when it freezes, is following:

Code: Select all

$04cfb4 :             addq.l    #1,$158128                 0.01% (5463, 109260, 0)
$04cfba :             addq.l    #1,$158124                 0.01% (5463, 109636, 47)
$04cfc0 :             addq.l    #1,$15811c                 0.01% (5463, 109260, 0)
$04cfc6 :             addq.l    #1,$04ba.w                 0.01% (5463, 109260, 0)
$04cfca :             bclr      #5,$fffffa11.w             0.01% (5463, 131384, 68)
$04cfd0 :             rte                                  0.01% (5463, 153132, 0)
[...]
$04cfd4 :             move      #$2700,sr                  0.00% (2199, 26740, 44)
$04cfd8 :             bset      #0,$fffffa07.w             0.00% (2199, 52776, 0)
$04cfde :             clr.b     $fffffa1b.w                0.00% (2199, 26388, 0)
$04cfe2 :             move.b    $15816c,$fffffa21.w        0.00% (2199, 43980, 0)
$04cfea :             move.b    #8,$fffffa1b.w             0.00% (2199, 35364, 45)
$04cff0 :             move.l    #$4d04a,$0120.w            0.00% (2199, 35364, 45)
$04cff8 :             tst.b     $2b8342                    0.00% (2199, 17592, 0)
$04cffe :             beq.s     $4d022                     0.00% (2199, 17772, 45)
[...]
$04d022 :             move      #$2300,sr                  0.00% (2199, 79860, 0)
$04d026 :             tst.w     $15815c                    0.00% (2199, 17592, 0)
$04d02c :             beq.s     $4d034                     0.00% (2199, 17592, 0)
[...]
$04d034 :             addq.l    #1,$158108                 0.00% (2199, 43980, 0)
$04d03a :             addq.w    #1,$2b552c                 0.00% (2199, 37324, 1367)
$04d040 :             addq.l    #1,$0462.w                 0.00% (2199, 49504, 1367)
$04d044 :             addq.l    #1,$0466.w                 0.00% (2199, 49448, 1367)
$04d048 :             rte                                  0.00% (2199, 61572, 0)
[...]
$04d814 :             move.w    d0,-(sp)                   0.00% (47, 376, 94)
$04d816 :             clr.w     d0                         0.00% (47, 188, 47)
$04d818 :             move.b    $fffffc02.w,d0             0.00% (47, 1088, 47)
$04d81c :             jmp       $4d820(pc,d0.w*4)          0.00% (47, 752, 47)
[...]
$04dc00 :             bra       $4dc8c                     0.00% (47, 564, 47)
[...]
$04dc8c :             move.l    #$4dcd4,$0118.w            0.00% (47, 752, 0)
$04dc94 :             and.w     #3,d0                      0.00% (47, 188, 0)
$04dc98 :             cmp.w     $160b86,d0                 0.00% (47, 376, 0)
$04dc9e :             beq.s     $4dcca                     0.00% (47, 376, 0)
[...]
$04dcca :             move.w    (sp)+,d0                   0.00% (47, 564, 141)
$04dccc :             move.b    #$bf,$fffffa11.w           0.00% (47, 752, 0)
$04dcd2 :             rte                                  0.00% (47, 1504, 47)
$04dcd4 :             move.l    #$4dcf8,$0118.w            0.00% (47, 928, 44)
$04dcdc :             move.w    d0,-(sp)                   0.00% (47, 376, 0)
$04dcde :             move.b    $fffffc02.w,d0             0.00% (47, 888, 0)
$04dce2 :             move.b    #$bf,$fffffa11.w           0.00% (47, 916, 44)
$04dce8 :             move      #$2300,sr                  0.00% (47, 972, 44)
$04dcec :             ext.w     d0                         0.00% (47, 188, 0)
$04dcee :             add.w     d0,$160b80                 0.00% (47, 900, 42)
$04dcf4 :             move.w    (sp)+,d0                   0.00% (47, 376, 0)
$04dcf6 :             rte                                  0.00% (47, 1484, 42)
$04dcf8 :             move.l    #$4d814,$0118.w            0.00% (47, 940, 47)
$04dd00 :             move.w    d0,-(sp)                   0.00% (47, 376, 0)
$04dd02 :             move.b    $fffffc02.w,d0             0.00% (47, 992, 0)
$04dd06 :             move.b    #$bf,$fffffa11.w           0.00% (47, 940, 47)
$04dd0c :             move      #$2300,sr                  0.00% (47, 940, 47)
$04dd10 :             ext.w     d0                         0.00% (47, 188, 0)
$04dd12 :             add.w     d0,$160b82                 0.00% (47, 940, 47)
$04dd18 :             move.w    (sp)+,d0                   0.00% (47, 376, 0)
$04dd1a :             rte                                  0.00% (47, 1504, 47)
[...]
$04e74e :             tst.l     d0                        49.95% (36365765, 145490300, 1367)
$04e750 :             bmi.s     $4e74e                    49.95% (36365763, 291293120, 0)
Does that ring any bells? Based on RTEs, it seems interrupt code.
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

Eero Tamminen wrote: Code that is being run (according to profile) when it freezes, is following:
...
Does that ring any bells? Based on RTEs, it seems interrupt code.
Yes those are the timers and vbl. I have restarted the HG server - maybe you can grab the modified code and see what happens in the same scenario next chance you get? It should at least prevent the infinite-regress fault which shows when the released version is run in Hatari.
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

CiH wrote:This pictorial link might be of interest to people. Certainly gives ideas and potential source material for new things.

https://i.4cdn.org/hr/src/1389952695217.jpg
:-D

I'm afraid PWAD compatibility sank quite significantly towards alpha release, due to various things happening. I'm sure the ones which used to work can be recovered though.

As for the rest - not had a chance to figure out whats wrong. Funny texture formats or fast-and-loose PWAD editing is probably involved but won't know for sure until I get time to dig through them.
ctirad
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 9:44 pm

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by ctirad »

dml wrote:BTW I'm tempted to send you a special version without the 12Hz cap (e.g. raise it to 24 or 25Hz) to see what happens.

It is quite possible though you will see strange performance behaviour on such a machine - there might be a lot of variance. Some textures will be in FastRAM and some in STRam and the speed of drawing will change quite dramatically from one texture to another, and it might even be flaky in the fastest cases (although, with a 50MHz DSP I think you should avoid most of those kinds of problems even with fast CPU and FastRAM)
No problem to test anything. I'm glad I can help.
However, I think you have too high expectations about the real power of the FX card. In fact its FastRAM is not much faster than a ST RAM, because it still sits on the crippled 16 bit BUS. Even with CPU running at 40MHz the overall performance is only a fraction of the real cards with 030 and FastRAM like CT2 and Mighty Sonic.
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

ctirad wrote: No problem to test anything. I'm glad I can help.
However, I think you have too high expectations about the real power of the FX card. In fact its FastRAM is not much faster than a ST RAM, because it still sits on the crippled 16 bit BUS. Even with CPU running at 40MHz the overall performance is only a fraction of the real cards with 030 and FastRAM like CT2 and Mighty Sonic.
Ok thanks for explaining. Well we can try and see what happens. BM uses the 030 caches a *lot* and counts every bus access as precious - so you might get some noticeable increase if the framerate cap is lifted. Worth a try.
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

Couple of things, before I crash:

1) I forgot to include Jake Hill in the credits for the original BadMood viewer (DView). Without Jake probably nobody would have bothered, and I wouldn't have joined up and moved it forward. So I'll fix it for bmalpha-02.

2) A *significant* talent will contribute artwork for beta. For the details, you'll need to wait for beta :)

g'night.
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

Just curious - if there are any readers here who remember playing JagDoom (especially, if you played it recently) can you perhaps describe to me how you normally hold the controller for play, and how that feels to use?

The button mappings I have are these:

// PAUSE Pauses the action
// OPTION Activates the Option Menu
// A Increase your speed
// B Fire your weapon
// C Use and Strafe
// Joypad Left Turn left ("slide" when Use/Strafe is held down)
// Joypad Right Turn right ("slide" when Use/Strafe is held down)
// 1-7 Weapons selection
// 9 View Automap
// # plus * Restart game

However it doesn't describe how to move 'forward', just how to increase speed. These are two separate controls in DosDoom.

I figure either the Joypad UP direction moves forward, and A is for 'run', or A just moves the player forward and there is no 'run' button.

The first version makes more sense. The second version would seem to be hard to control - right hand having to swap between firing and running (not good). Maybe somebody can clear this up for me.

(On the Falcon version I have swapped the 'run' key for a 'walk' key since gamplay involves running most of the time anyway, and helps avoid keyboard matrix overruns since most of the time fewer keys need held at once - but might have to restore that for Joypad if it's too difficult to play).
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by rian_ata »

Doug,

attached two scans from the JagDoom manual that should answer your questions!
JagDoom_control1.jpg
JagDoom_control2.jpg
KR
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by Zogging Hell »

dml wrote:Just curious - if there are any readers here who remember playing JagDoom (especially, if you played it recently) can you perhaps describe to me how you normally hold the controller for play, and how that feels to use?

The button mappings I have are these:

// PAUSE Pauses the action
// OPTION Activates the Option Menu
// A Increase your speed
// B Fire your weapon
// C Use and Strafe
// Joypad Left Turn left ("slide" when Use/Strafe is held down)
// Joypad Right Turn right ("slide" when Use/Strafe is held down)
// 1-7 Weapons selection
// 9 View Automap
// # plus * Restart game

However it doesn't describe how to move 'forward', just how to increase speed. These are two separate controls in DosDoom.

I figure either the Joypad UP direction moves forward, and A is for 'run', or A just moves the player forward and there is no 'run' button.

The first version makes more sense. The second version would seem to be hard to control - right hand having to swap between firing and running (not good). Maybe somebody can clear this up for me.

(On the Falcon version I have swapped the 'run' key for a 'walk' key since gamplay involves running most of the time anyway, and helps avoid keyboard matrix overruns since most of the time fewer keys need held at once - but might have to restore that for Joypad if it's too difficult to play).
Used to play JagDoom a lot, so much so that I slightly shudder playing Doom nowadays (Great job though btw Doug, looks incredible!). I think the A - C buttons were configurable in that you could swap the functions around as you saw fit. From memory the way I used to play the A and C buttons were swapped (though I can't remember whether I configured it as such, as I also used to play AvsP a lot and that had that combo as well). It didn't feel right with the run being the outer A button for some reason. Maybe just set it up so you can swap it round so the player has some flexibility? It did require some finger dexterity though, but holding down a button and shooting was just possible.
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

Zogging Hell wrote: Used to play JagDoom a lot, so much so that I slightly shudder playing Doom nowadays (Great job though btw Doug, looks incredible!). I think the A - C buttons were configurable in that you could swap the functions around as you saw fit. From memory the way I used to play the A and C buttons were swapped (though I can't remember whether I configured it as such, as I also used to play AvsP a lot and that had that combo as well). It didn't feel right with the run being the outer A button for some reason. Maybe just set it up so you can swap it round so the player has some flexibility? It did require some finger dexterity though, but holding down a button and shooting was just possible.
Thanks for that info - I have set it up now to be fully configurable via the .cfg file, including inverting the meaning of the 'run' button (and it has been set back to the original behaviour again, in default.cfg).

JagPad is also now working, and you can also select which controller (A or B) to use via the .cfg.

Controlling automap with JagPad is currently not possible, and would require more work. LinuxDoom had no existing logic for the shift-style button controls in that mode. For now you can toggle it on/off and walk around but not zoom/pan.
User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by Zogging Hell »

Wow that was quick, thanks Doug! Does the configurability go for all the buttons? (including weapon select) Just asking because the Jag Procontroller has shoulder buttons and six main buttons (these are mapped to numeric keys so it is basically the same pad with duplicate buttons), and if the lot are configurable then maybe it would possible to set the procontroller up so you could strafe/ run with a shoulder button held down, which would make control much nicer. On Jag AvsP the shoulder buttons strafe in their logical directions, but that was a different mapping and might be more of a pain to set up (probably cause havoc with the weapon button layout as well).
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

Zogging Hell wrote:Wow that was quick, thanks Doug! Does the configurability go for all the buttons? (including weapon select) Just asking because the Jag Procontroller has shoulder buttons and six main buttons (these are mapped to numeric keys so it is basically the same pad with duplicate buttons), and if the lot are configurable then maybe it would possible to set the procontroller up so you could strafe/ run with a shoulder button held down, which would make control much nicer. On Jag AvsP the shoulder buttons strafe in their logical directions, but that was a different mapping and might be more of a pain to set up (probably cause havoc with the weapon button layout as well).
Ok that's probably a bit more difficult, so I may come back to it. The JagPad code splits handling into joystick (for which there is logic already) - the directions and ABC buttons - and direct keys for OPTION,PAUSE and everything else. They are mapped as direct keys because the game and menu code which handles those events doesn't look at joystick state at all, and only responds to events which keys produce.

So it can be done but it involves more rework of the game code to handle all of the menu stuff as special joypad buttons too.
User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 892
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by Zogging Hell »

Well you have enough on your hands without reworking that, so don't worry :)

I must give this a go, but will have to get the old CDROM drive set up to get the files across from the PC contemptable.
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

I think the alpha release v0.2 will be ready tonight or tomorrow night. The code at least, including jagpad.

There are still a few other things to sort out before uploading (credits etc) but that's all.

There might be a v0.3 at some point before beta, but it will depend on how this one goes. For the moment the remaining bugs and issues are being pushed to beta.
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

v0.2 is on the BadMood site now, in the downloads section. It should fix most or all of the bugs reported so far.

All of the textfiles have been updated. Important changes are in the release notes, but new configuration stuff has been added to the readme. I still haven't found time to make a proper greetings list but hey, it's better to get the game working first. :-)

It's worth pointing out that I recently adjusted the physics to match DosDoom more closely, and it fixes a few problems (unreachable secrets). But might create a few as well - bigger distances closed per tick might annoy the collision detection on occasion and things might escape from the map (I think the Skulls had this problem anyway, in unpatched Doom but it might happen more now).

The player moves more quickly (the new walk is closer to the old run) and the role of the 'walk' key has been restored to 'run' (but this is now also configurable). So it will feel different from v0.1. It might still take another few tweaks to get it right later.

JagPad works, but I find it a bit hard to get used to. Probably just needs lots of practice :)

There are no changes to graphics or rendering - pretty much all bugfixes + JagPad.
User avatar
jvas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by jvas »

Greate work!!!
Quick note on testing it in Hatari: Saving/Loading game works fine !!!
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Bad Mood : Falcon030 'Doom'

Post by dml »

jvas wrote:Quick note on testing it in Hatari: Saving/Loading game works fine !!!
Great!
Post Reply

Return to “680x0”