Struggling with hard rive images on a Mac

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.3.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

Post Reply
cluttered
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 1:37 pm

Struggling with hard rive images on a Mac

Post by cluttered »

I have got it working with a folder on my Mac, that end is fine. But I can’t get it to work with an image.
The hatari website has a download image it ends .image, in the preferences none of those will accept that as a valid choice!
I saw someone say to just use diskutil and create a dos image, tried that with GUID & MBR, it doesn't like either of them.
Then I found another post saying to use:
sudo dd if=/dev/null of=mynewimage.img bs=1m count=1024
sudo chmod 0666 mynewimage.img
When it starts up I get an error:
Can not use HD image file since the file is empty.
What am I missing?

I am on a Mac using the latest version of hatari (installed via homebrew) the mac is on High Sierra 10.13.6
Thanks.
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2229
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Struggling with hard rive images on a Mac

Post by Eero Tamminen »

cluttered wrote:The hatari website has a download image it ends .image, in the preferences none of those will accept that as a valid choice!
Are you sure it downloaded fine?

On Linux, it works fine:

Code: Select all

wget http://hatari.tuxfamily.org/hd80mb.image.gz
gunzip hd80mb.image.gz
hatari --machine st --acsi hd80mb.image
Results in AHDI HD driver message on ST startup, and a desktop with a C: drive containing "shdriver.sys" file in it.

Btw. What means "will not accept that as a valid choice"? Does Hatari give some warning/error when you select the image, and if yes, what's the exact message?
cluttered wrote:Can not use HD image file since the file is empty.
Is that the exact message from Hatari (to console where Hatari is running)? If yes, what the "file", "stat" and "ls -l" commands output for that file?
darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Re: Struggling with hard rive images on a Mac

Post by darwinmac »

If you want to try the image on Hatari's website on the macOS version, simply change the extension of the image from .image to .img. To try to prevent unknown files from being selected, the file selector only accepts certain extensions. You should be able to use the sample 80MB hard drive image in Hatari after changing the extension.

Bob C
Post Reply

Return to “Hatari”