Hatari build for Wii!

A forum about the Hatari ST/STE/Falcon emulator - the current version is v2.3.0

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, thothy, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Desty
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1970
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: 53 21N 6 18W
Contact:

Hatari build for Wii!

Post by Desty »

Not sure if this is common knowledge, but someone has ported Hatari to run on the Nintendo Wii (not sure how the user interface is handled wrt keyboard, but it seems like a great idea). :)

[edit]
Oh right, you need a USB keyboard for typing. :) A chording interface with the Wii buttons would be nicer, but much harder to implement I guess.
tá'n poc ar buile!
User avatar
rocket-dog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:13 pm
Location: Great Britain - The Kingdom of Mercia

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by rocket-dog »

Super! Thank you for posting this.

If I had money to waste I would want to buy the new DS with the KORG module.

When I play with a WII I always think I am going to put the WiiMote through the TV screen. :D
User avatar
Joel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:42 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by Joel »

Don't get too excited, it's a pretty skimpy port with no joystick support and probably won't be developed further.

He's also using SDL so no 240p resolutions :(

Great that it exists at all though. Ah well, back to genesis plus I go... ;)

-Joel
520 STFM (Upgraded to 1mb)
520 STFM (Stock)
520 STFM (Stock)
1040 STE (Stock)
Falcon 030.. I wish!
jvernet
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:04 am
Location: France, 77
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by jvernet »

I've tested the Wii Port of Hatari. At least, it's working very well for some demo (ST/STe only, forget about Falcon demo: too slow). PACEMAKER, for example, is great (FS set to 4...).

I think that the guy who made this port will never work on it again. I may try, one day...

WiiMote button should be usable, as SDL have all the things needed.


Jerome
Atari stuff:
520ST, 520 STF, 520STe, 1040ST, 1040STe, MegaST1, MegaST2, MegaST4, MegaSTe 4Mb+DD 250Mb
Falcon: 14Mb Falcon, SpeedRes 030/40 Card-TT/030: 4MbST+20MbFastRAMTT, DD 1Gb, Hydra NetWork Card
Falcon AB40: AfterBurner 040, Nemesis, dead Blowup Hard II, 32Mb.
--
800XL, 130xe,65xe
User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by matt »

Shame this died, I'd love to play Atari ST Sensible Soccer on my Wii using NES style control.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12943
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by wongck »

Yeah... another reason to buy a Wii
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by matt »

I contacted the guy who did the Wii build of Hatari (he's in Indonesia, here) and offered a donation for him to add wiimote support into it. We'll see if he responds.

The latest version is: http://tinyhack.com/wii/hatari/hatari-19-01-2009.zip

Which runs Sensible Soccer 1.2 very well with sound and zero frameskip. USB keyboard control is fine, but i would rather use the Wiimote. :)

matt
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2808
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by alexh »

Since this release the bluetooth stack support has been added to the SDL. It should be easy for him or anyone else to pick up the latest SDK and add it.

Edit: I see that his release was AFTER bluetooth stack was added because he uses the Wiimote for mouse. Strange he did not add D-Pad support for Joystick
User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by matt »

I may look into getting the Wii toolchain running on my Mac and see if I can compile it myself. then look to do the changes.

It seems the author only wanted to play Chessmaster so only implemented enough features to do that.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12943
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by wongck »

alexh wrote:Since this release the bluetooth stack support has been added to the SDL. It should be easy for him or anyone else to pick up the latest SDK and add it.
:lol: Now we can get bluetooth for the Atari
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by AtariSince1989 »

matt wrote:I contacted the guy who did the Wii build of Hatari (he's in Indonesia, here) and offered a donation for him to add wiimote support into it. We'll see if he responds.
lol, quite clever, for having a domain which makes his name (Yohanes), he has got an Spanish (.es) domain.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/
jvernet
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:04 am
Location: France, 77
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by jvernet »

I succeeded to build Hatari for Wii on my Mac with the latest sources. But it's not working (screen flickering).
Atari stuff:
520ST, 520 STF, 520STe, 1040ST, 1040STe, MegaST1, MegaST2, MegaST4, MegaSTe 4Mb+DD 250Mb
Falcon: 14Mb Falcon, SpeedRes 030/40 Card-TT/030: 4MbST+20MbFastRAMTT, DD 1Gb, Hydra NetWork Card
Falcon AB40: AfterBurner 040, Nemesis, dead Blowup Hard II, 32Mb.
--
800XL, 130xe,65xe
User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by matt »

If he contacts me I will ask for very latest source.
jvernet
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 8:04 am
Location: France, 77
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by jvernet »

matt wrote:If he contacts me I will ask for very latest source.
Latest sources from the Hatari Berlios repository. I remember that I only need to change few things to make it build with the WII sdk/sdl.
Atari stuff:
520ST, 520 STF, 520STe, 1040ST, 1040STe, MegaST1, MegaST2, MegaST4, MegaSTe 4Mb+DD 250Mb
Falcon: 14Mb Falcon, SpeedRes 030/40 Card-TT/030: 4MbST+20MbFastRAMTT, DD 1Gb, Hydra NetWork Card
Falcon AB40: AfterBurner 040, Nemesis, dead Blowup Hard II, 32Mb.
--
800XL, 130xe,65xe
User avatar
thothy
Hatari Developer
Hatari Developer
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 9:36 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by thothy »

The old Wii patch can be found here:

https://developer.berlios.de/patch/download.php?id=2650
User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by matt »

I'm playing with WinSTon on Xbox until I can play on Wii. :(
User avatar
kevcal;
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Southern England

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by kevcal; »

Sorry for resurrecting an old thread but couldn't find mention of this:

"Hatari Wii with pad support"
In this version, I have updated the emulator with Hatari v1.3.1, and just added basic pad support(Wiimote and Gamecube pad).
You just have to open the menu(by typing F12 on keyboard) and change the pads in the joystick menu.

http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic= ... try3244012

and "HatariWii with some modifications"
You can bind keys to buttons in virtual keyboard(open it with Wiimote +) by ticking Map to Joy box..
http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic= ... try3359584
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12943
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by wongck »

Do they work?
I would like to try it when I get my Wii.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by matt »

I tried the original build, and it worked fine. Not sure what the last version I tried was.

It had the "usual" CaSTaway bugs like not being able to run Sensible Soccer, but played some games well.
User avatar
kevcal;
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Southern England

Re: Hatari build for Wii!

Post by kevcal; »

Ran it with an STe only game and the old one worked.. haven't tried the gamepad supported one yet, but I guess there's no reason why it wouldn't work at least as good as the old one...
I haven't got a USB keyboard at home to use though, so I'll be interested to hear how others get on with it.. if it's okay then I'll be investing in one :) (this is until hatari is ported to the old xbox... if anyone's able to do that).

Only problem I have with hatari is the way the mouse sticks and doesn't seem to track very well... or is it just me?
Post Reply

Return to “Hatari”