Page 1 of 1

WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:54 am
by Gaiyan
I have to accept the fact that in order for me to properly work on my Magnum ST version, I need a working one that I can use to help with troubleshooting etc. I benefited from a loaner earlier but I don't want to risk damaging someone else's stuff. Does anyone have one they can part with? I have RAM sticks.

Josh.

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 11:25 am
by frank.lukas
I have a working one but I willing not sell them ...

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:34 pm
by ctirad
So you are working on a Magnum ST clone, Josh? Do you plan to add some enhancements?

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:40 pm
by Gaiyan
ctirad wrote:So you are working on a Magnum ST clone, Josh? Do you plan to add some enhancements?
Yes, I've worked on it on and off for a while. Point is to make a MegaBus version and shrunk as much as possible with SMD components. I'm on my 2nd prototype now.

Josh.

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:47 pm
by stormy
I've never heard of this, what is it? Could you link some info

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:18 pm
by Greenious
http://www.uweschneider.de/en/projects_milan.php

Magnum was a series of memory expansion cards for ST, STE, TT and Falcon. Adding alt-ram/fast-ram to the computer. However, I don't know how well they actually worked with accelerators, since you would need something faster than a standard 8MHz 68000 to notice any speed difference from standard st-ram.

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 3:23 pm
by frank.lukas
The Magnum ST works fine with a PAK68/2 MC68020 Speeder ...

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 4:00 pm
by Greenious
frank.lukas wrote:The Magnum ST works fine with a PAK68/2 MC68020 Speeder ...
That wasn't my question. The question was if it is faster. :)

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 4:03 pm
by frank.lukas
It is the same speed as normal ST Ram ...

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 4:17 pm
by Greenious
frank.lukas wrote:It is the same speed as normal ST Ram ...
That is disappointing. With standard simms I thought it would atleast be twice as fast if your cpu could handle it.

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 5:43 pm
by Cyprian
I guess Magnum's access time is hardcoded for 8MHz 68000

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:18 pm
by ctirad
Gaiyan wrote:Yes, I've worked on it on and off for a while. Point is to make a MegaBus version and shrunk as much as possible with SMD components.
Good. I'm actually doing something similar, based on the XIlinx CPLD, but with added IDE, switchable TOS (2.6/Emutos), and flash rom possibility. I also routed all clock and bus control signal thru the CPLD for experiments with higher clock. I'm currently routing routing the initial PCB layout.

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 6:05 am
by Gaiyan
ctirad wrote:
Gaiyan wrote:Yes, I've worked on it on and off for a while. Point is to make a MegaBus version and shrunk as much as possible with SMD components.
Good. I'm actually doing something similar, based on the XIlinx CPLD, but with added IDE, switchable TOS (2.6/Emutos), and flash rom possibility. I also routed all clock and bus control signal thru the CPLD for experiments with higher clock. I'm currently routing routing the initial PCB layout.
Ooh, you're way ahead of me then :) Sounds great!

Re: WTB: Magnum ST

Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 3:38 am
by Bikerbob
ctirad wrote:
Gaiyan wrote:Yes, I've worked on it on and off for a while. Point is to make a MegaBus version and shrunk as much as possible with SMD components.
Good. I'm actually doing something similar, based on the XIlinx CPLD, but with added IDE, switchable TOS (2.6/Emutos), and flash rom possibility. I also routed all clock and bus control signal thru the CPLD for experiments with higher clock. I'm currently routing routing the initial PCB layout.

Anyone know did an STE version make it to PCB?? I want to have ALT ram for my Mega STE and no where and nothing so far seems to be available.. Thought this might.. but no PCB in the files for this.. just the schematic.. I am not wanting to learn the software.. just produce a pcb that would work.. using one already done would be the smartest I assume.

james