Atari emulation on a CPC

No topic. Everything you want to speak about. Please just stay courteous.

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Atari emulation on a CPC

Post by Gryzor »

...just kidding. This is the first screen of the Terrific CP/M demo on an Amstrad CPC, complete with cycling logo colors. Cute, ain't it? :D

Image

Cheers
Gryzor
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image
User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2227
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Post by Zorro 2 »

Nice screen !

Mouse mouve on board ?
Member of NoExtra Team
User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Post by Gryzor »

Er, unfortunately no, it's static :D That's the first thing I tried to do, of course, but the color cycling was already neat, so...

Cheers
Gryzor
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image
User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2227
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Post by Zorro 2 »

I can really see the raster cycling with your screenshot but this little demo is very new school ! :wink:
Member of NoExtra Team
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5254
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Am I right that this is just a static CPC medres screen with some neat interrupts for the last color register? :D
How did you transfer the ST screen to the CPC?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Post by Gryzor »

THis *is* a static (except for the color cycling in the Atari logo) screen, and I guess it's in mode 1 (320 x 200, therefore mid-res for the CPC) but with the full 16 colors capability of mode 0 (mode 1 only supported 4 colors normally). I didn't transfer it myself, as I said it's the first screen of an old demo, the Terrific demo for the CPC. Have no idea how they transfered it. I can't think of any way, so probably it's painted pixel-by-pixel -admittedly, quite perfectly.

If anyone's interested I can upload the demo files (should be around 200kb at most)...

Cheers
Gryzor
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5254
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Post by simonsunnyboy »

"Mode 1 with full 16 color capability" - that would eat half of the available RAM of the CPC as the full 128K of the 6128 can only be accessed with some triks and even then a 32K screen would be rather large. And at least that simple deskto pscreen could be done with 4 colors only. You don't see much more, don't you? Black, white, green and the forth color for the logo which will change with HBL interrupts like you would do on the ST.
Nice to see anyway 8)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Post by Gryzor »

Well, yep, you got me there. I looked into it a bit; actually I knew it was possible to have two modes in one screen, but it seems it's possible to have two different modes in every line: I guess this is subject to the memory limit, even though it would seem that, if you're able to do that, you could use some memory banking techniques and use the full memory (this is how the upper 64k of 6128 was used anyway).
Anyway, to get back to this screen, it's mode 1, and the programmer used rasters to display more than the normal colors. Incidentaly, it's more than 4 colors that you see there: green, white, black, grey, olive green, yellow, orange and red (and I think there are more in the cycling effect).

Anyhow, all this is not terribly relevant to Ataris, so let's drop the issue here, I just wanted to show something funny :)

Cheers
Gryzor
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image
User avatar
idrougge
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 2:54 pm
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Post by idrougge »

Jokes aside, didn't DR release a GUI for Cp/M-80, just like they did with GEM for MS/pC/DR-DOS? I seem to remember reading about their 8-bit GUI in an old issue of personal computer world...
User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Post by Gryzor »

I believe they did, indeed. I think I remember something of the sort and I guess CP/M was totally capable of it. Just think that there was a GUI made for the Amstrads running over Basic (and if you pressed ESC twice you'd get the *BREAK* thing splashed all over the menus :D )

Cheers
Gryzor
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image
Post Reply

Return to “Chat forum [ENG]”