DirectX Programming

No topic. Everything you want to speak about. Please just stay courteous.

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Sarek
Captain Atari
Captain Atari

DirectX Programming

Post by Sarek »

DD/D3D

I'm trying to create some DX graphics routines running in VB6. I have no experience with DX programming so I am struggling.

Although I can already do what I want with pixel level formulae, my routines are like 100 slower than I need them because VB is notoriously slow at drawing graphics. So I'm looking towards DX.

What I'd like to get up and running is a graphics engine similar to Quake or Hexen, which uses rectangles with texture maps to define the terrain and walls, and bitmaps (with alpha) for sprites also.

I like and understand coordinates, I don't understand higher level scene elements. So I don't want to be dealing with polygon strips or X-files etc. :)

So I think I'm looking for a function which takes a 4 sided polygon and a texture image and draws them into the scene. I want to build up an image by adding polygons one at a time like this.

The main use of the function will be to create a terrain by having eg, 32x32 polygons. I want the polygons furthest away to fade to a haze colour against a 360'degree wrapped backdrop, so alpha control will be needed (8-bit or even 4-bit alpha would be ok.)

From my point of view, I'd like something as simple as below where all the horrible looking API goop is in a BAS file that I'll never touch :) :

Code: Select all

InitDX(1024,768)

for
  UploadImage(Image) 
next

do

ClearScene ()

SetCamera (x,y,z, view_direction_angle, elevation_angle, camber_angle, zoom_fov)

AddAmbientLight(r,g,b)

AddDirectionalLight(x,y,z,r,g,b) '(x,y,z) is the direction vector from (0,0,0)

AddPointLight(x,y,z,r,g,b)

for
    AddPolygon(x1,y1,z1,x2,y1,z2,x3,y3,z3,x4,y4,z4,image_index,alpha)
  next

RenderScene ()

loop

UnInitDX()

Notes:
(1) The lighting functions are optional extras for d3d.