New ST game: Toop

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Haplo
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:04 am

New ST game: Toop

Post by Haplo »

Hi all,

I'd like to announce my first ST game, Toop. It is a port of a Commodore 64 game I released earlier this year.

You can get it from here: https://h4plo.itch.io/toop

The aim is to guide the ball (El Toop) into the portal (The Slipgate), by using the blocks and avoiding the borders and spikes.

Use joystick in port 2 play. You can choose the starting level at the beginning. Press the SPACE key at any time during the game to go back to the intro screen. The rest is pretty intuitive.

I hope you will enjoy it!

If you own any Atari-related sites please feel free to host the game or add a link to it.


Image

Image
Gear: Atari 520STE, 1MB of RAM

My Thief fan missions: http://haplo.rf.gd
User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by Tomchi »

Funny game , congrats !!!
User avatar
dma
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1109
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by dma »

Ah yes, a really fun game this is! Thanks for coding and sharing it!
It plays quite like a single element version of Atomix (and Sokoban).

I haven't yet met those "opinionated" blocks. ;)
I wonder what they do... (probably forcing the ball movement on contact)
[after more playing] OK, the ball is moved on the side pointed by the arrow when it touches it on the opposite side.
User avatar
Richard
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 3:47 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by Richard »

Great game to play, some of the levels are really tricky!
User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 411
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by AtariCrypt »

Another new ST game to play!!! What a time :D This looks good and I'm downloading now :cheers:
AtariCrypt game website
https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com
User avatar
Brume
Red eyes
Red eyes
Posts: 4210
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 10:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by Brume »

Very cool game, congratulation :)

Added to AL db :

https://www.atarilegend.com/games/games ... me_id=7554
User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2495
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by lotek_style »

Got you covered here as well :)

https://demozoo.org/productions/282875/
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/
Haplo
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:04 am

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by Haplo »

Thank you everyone, and I'm glad you have enjoyed the game!
Gear: Atari 520STE, 1MB of RAM

My Thief fan missions: http://haplo.rf.gd
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2177
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Thank you, yhis is really nice puzzle game! One of those "one more level and then I stop" type of things.

Only problem is that after playing to level 14, game started to constantly give the keyboard beep, although I was using just joystick. This was with latest EmuTOS release, I don't know whether it happens with Atari TOS too.

Because the game itself (except for the title screen) is black & white, I was wondering have you thought of supporting also Atari 640x400 monochrome mode?
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by neanderthal »

Yeap,,good stuff.Not the least addictive..lol
A exit to system would be nice tho,have gotten a bit spoiled on the falcy to able to that at times,runs fine tho from my usual rez ;) (VGA 2col).On almost plain TOS,just a couple of ACC:s loaded.
Haplo
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:04 am

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by Haplo »

Thanks guys.

Eero: I had thought about supporting the higher resolutions (and one of the beta testers brought it up too). However during the development of the original C64 version, level design accounted for half of the development time. For ST I was able to reuse the same level data. Creating new levels for higher resolutions would have taken a lot of effort. Maybe a version 2, with a level editor in the future.

neanderthal: Holding left shift at any time should exit back to system (and SPACE will take you back to the level select screen). Is that what you mean?
Gear: Atari 520STE, 1MB of RAM

My Thief fan missions: http://haplo.rf.gd
User avatar
dma
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1109
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by dma »

You could also just use the same level data but with 2x sized refined sprites for high res mono game. :)
niki
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 2:40 pm

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by niki »

Many thx
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by neanderthal »

Haplo wrote: Tue Sep 01, 2020 11:46 pm
neanderthal: Holding left shift at any time should exit back to system (and SPACE will take you back to the level select screen). Is that what you mean?
Oh looki that,totally missed that the other day,must have been the monday brews.And it says so in the meny aswell ;)
Doesnt seem to like falcy vidimodes on return,they need to be restored with Vsetmode() but from ST:ish modes seems to bounce back.However only tested with my VGA 2 col,returns to ST mono I think and with no acc:s or anything loaded which is pretty much ST-low,looks ok at return.
Maybe I should test my old Ishar startup wrapper which I used for ST-ish returns back in the day.
Hmm,,lost wisdom,dunkelheit,is there a level called the crying orch aswell? ;)
Haplo
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:04 am

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by Haplo »

dma: I thought about that too, but couldn't make the 16x8 sprites look right. Try to imagine a 16x8 ball.
640x400 would have been possible and not much extra work, but as I understand not many people have a monitor to use their STs in that resolution. I don't myself.

neanderthal: I didn't fully test the game on Falcon, so it is possible that it does't exit cleanly. And good job on picking up the Burzum references!
Gear: Atari 520STE, 1MB of RAM

My Thief fan missions: http://haplo.rf.gd
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by neanderthal »

Haplo wrote: Thu Sep 03, 2020 10:34 pm dma: I thought about that too, but couldn't make the 16x8 sprites look right. Try to imagine a 16x8 ball.
640x400 would have been possible and not much extra work, but as I understand not many people have a monitor to use their STs in that resolution. I don't myself.

neanderthal: I didn't fully test the game on Falcon, so it is possible that it does't exit cleanly. And good job on picking up the Burzum references!
On the mono monitor thing,mostly folks into music since most of the programs want to have that.Must admit was very relaxing
to the eyes in comparison to 'tv-rgb' with a proper 71Hz flicker free screen doing stuff like that back in the day.
I even enjoyed just writing text and stuff with a mono mon.

And on the Falcon thing,its rather easy actually,have to check cookies and such and do stuff a bit differently to do 'systemish' restore depending on machine.Did that on my donkey jr ripoff,wonder how the code looks today..lol
But yea ,makes sence it was restored to ST-mono since using a 2 col mode,never tested that actually,,meaning to save as ST-machine and restore as ST again.
Talking TOS-style modes of course,after all the thing (Videl) can be made to do all sorts of weird stuff.
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2177
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: New ST game: Toop

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Haplo wrote: Thu Sep 03, 2020 10:34 pm 640x400 would have been possible and not much extra work, but as I understand not many people have a monitor to use their STs in that resolution. I don't myself.
TT & Falcon support 640x400@2 on color monitors too, only with ST/STE one needs separate monitor for it.

And emulators of course emulate it too.
Post Reply

Return to “Games - General”