Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe / Falcon

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe / Falcon

Post by Orion_ »

Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe / Falcon

This is a port of my game Escape 2042 to the Atari STe / Falcon, 1 Mbyte of RAM required.
2 floppy disk (hdd version available too) uses the Joystick and runs at 50 fps !

Discover a futuristic fast-paced 2D platformer game, including a reversed shoot'em up mini-game.
The game takes place in three different environments (prison, desert, forest) and is interspersed with one mini-game and multiples cutscenes.
Avoid the security cameras, collect grenades to get rid of your enemies, exercise your working memory by hacking the computers of the prison to unlock the doors or to dis-activate the safety systems.

The boxed version of Escape 2042 including 2 floppy disk, a 25 pages full color manual and making of, a 3D printed figurine, and a Bonus poster is available here http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=36543

The game is now available for download on my online game shop: https://orionsoft.itch.io/

Video of the game running on an Atari STe:

Trailer of the game on other platforms (Gameboy, Megadrive/Genesis, Dreamcast):

Last edited by Orion_ on Sun Aug 18, 2019 3:50 pm, edited 10 times in total.
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB
User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2179
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by ST Graveyard »

This is so cool! You actually converted it to the STe. May I ask how you made it? Is it based on a game engine line unity or something else? And there will be a physical release as well for the Atari version??
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4749
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by joska »

Very cool!
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
Brume
Red eyes
Red eyes
Posts: 4212
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 10:16 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by Brume »

Hey Orion_, hope you're well my former neighbor ;)

This game looks very fun!

Count on me to buy the boxed version.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12939
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by wongck »

Wow really fast & smooth
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2231
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by mikro »

Glad to see some action packed game for the STe!
User avatar
NGF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by NGF »

Looks like a fun game :D
"4160" STE with Ultrasatan | Falcon 030 14MB with CF-reader | TT030 | STacy | 520STFM x 2 | 520ST x 2
User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by Orion_ »

ST Graveyard wrote:You actually converted it to the STe. May I ask how you made it?
The core Gameplay is the same C code for all the versions, but for the Atari STe specific part, I have about 2000 lines of optimized assembler code with STe hardware scroll and Blitter to make it run at 50 fps.
2 months of work to port it.

A physical release is planned in box and floppies, but a cheaper download version will be available too (playable from the harddrive)

I'm still testing the game from start to end, and debugging some part, but the game is fully ported.
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB
User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2179
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by ST Graveyard »

Wow, I wish I was able to code like you! Please keep a physical copy for me aside! Where do I place my order? ;-)

How do you make the game 'playable from hardware' on the Sega Megadrive?
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net
User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2179
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by ST Graveyard »

Also Orion, I see the game is available on Steam, can you tell me a bit more how you get your game on such a service? Does it have to have a certain levelnof quality to be approved for such a service?
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net
User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by Orion_ »

ST Graveyard wrote: How do you make the game 'playable from hardware' on the Sega Megadrive?
I don't understand your question, if you want to buy the game on Megadrive, here it is : http://orionsoft.free.fr/retroshop/md.htm
If you want to know how I made the game playable on Megadrive ... It's the same as on Atari, you learn how the hardware work with technical documentation, and make the code for it (assembler code + C code)
ST Graveyard wrote:Also Orion, I see the game is available on Steam, can you tell me a bit more how you get your game on such a service? Does it have to have a certain levelnof quality to be approved for such a service?
First, there was Greenlight, which needed the players to vote for the game, and if it had enough votes, then you could publish it.
now, you just need to pay around 100€ I guess, to make it available on Steam
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB
User avatar
ST Graveyard
Obsessed with homicide
Obsessed with homicide
Posts: 2179
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:53 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by ST Graveyard »

Oh so the game is already out? And a physical release on Megadrive, how cool. Sorry I did not know that.
This all looks very promissing!
We are Atari Legend.

Visit us at : http://www.atarilegend.com

Youtube
Facebook
Twitter

Sister site :
Stonish.net
junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by junosix »

Nice one, looks really polished!
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1161
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by CiH »

Wow! Great work Orion!
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"
User avatar
metalages
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by metalages »

It looks really cool. Nice work.
User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1206
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by dhedberg »

Great work! Always fun to see new games for the Atari ST/Falcon!
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org.
Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo It's that time of the year again, or click here to feel the JOY.
User avatar
Kroll
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by Kroll »

Orion ! Great work !!

I write on my behalf like my friend Piter. We plan in the newest Polish printed magazine "Atari Fan", make a preview of this game.

Kroll and Piter
Editors of the Polish Atari Fan magazine (for now :))
User avatar
krupkaj
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Olomouc/Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by krupkaj »

Wow. nice game, looking forward to release :)
User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by Orion_ »

Final test successful :)
Image
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5239
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Looks interesting. Will there be a combo release? Buy both Atari and STEAM version?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by Orion_ »

simonsunnyboy wrote:Looks interesting. Will there be a combo release? Buy both Atari and STEAM version?
not a steam version, but a PC version, yes :)
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB
User avatar
dma
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1144
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by dma »

Ah that's great, congratulation on this project! :)
User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 414
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by AtariCrypt »

Wow this looks incredible. Count me in for a physical copy also!! :-)
AtariCrypt game website
https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com
User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by Orion_ »

The game is now available for download on my online game shop: https://orionsoft.itch.io/

A boxed version of the game including 2 real DD floppies + manual + making of, will be available in the coming months at the approximate price of 40€ + shipping.
If you are interested in this boxed version, please send me an email to get on the pre-order list at this address: orionsoft@free.fr
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB
distantminds
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 5:03 pm

Re: Escape 2042 - A new game for Atari STe

Post by distantminds »

Congrats Orion, great achievement!

I'm struggling to run this in Hatari - i'm not sure what i'm doing wrong.. I see the Orion splash screen and then the language select page - I press the right arrow for English, but nothing happens :S

Am I being daft? :D
Post Reply

Return to “Games - General”