Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
simoncam
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:26 pm

Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by simoncam »

The Ride goes online full of crazy ideas and madness!!!
• Basic Game V1.0 (8 Levels, 4 Cars)
• Expansion Pack 1 (9 Levels, 3 Cars)

Game Trailer

It comes in multiple Languages:
• English (G/Q)
• German (G/Q)
• Spanish (BETA, G)
• Polish (G)
• Vorarlbergerisch (G)
G – Game Text, Q – Quest Explanations
More languages and language updates to be expected soon.
Free Download at http://www.hd-videofilm.com/anarcho
With special thanks to JoanAM and Piotr for the Spanish and Polish translation!
The game has now been successfully tested on
• Physical machines: ATARI STe, Falcon, CT60, MIST
• Emulators: STeem, Hatari, Hataroid
Special hint for users of emulators, simulated hardware and/or MIST: make sure that the TOS Version matches the emulated hardware. Make sure that the Game has full writing access to the Floppy/Harddrive simulation.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
dma
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1110
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by dma »

Funny game, the quests give interesting gameplay. :)
But it seems the slowness on STe doesn't allow to finish tracks in the time limit of some quests.

It would be nice to have some indicators on the in-game dashboard, like : time passed, percent track progress, car/objects crashed.

The test track is funny, i see where it comes from. ;)
User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by Marakatti »

Must try the expansionpack tomorrow! Big thanks :)
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------
User avatar
simoncam
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:26 pm

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by simoncam »

dma wrote:But it seems the slowness on STe doesn't allow to finish tracks in the time limit of some quests.
Interesting... In my STe test it was fine... on a normal STe you should be able to finish a track between 1:45 - 1:55 (full render quality, depending on the music playback).
STf is a lot slower - about 2:55 at the lowest render quality.
The game features an extensive setup panel that also hold game speed enhancements. You may have a look here:
http://www.hd-videofilm.com/anarcho/inf ... index.html

dma wrote:It would be nice to have some indicators on the in-game dashboard, like : time passed, percent track progress, car/objects crashed.
Yes, I know... but I dropped all of that to get out the best possible framerate. Reduced it to the speed indicator and the points. After all... there must be something left for "ANARCHO Ride 2" ;)
User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 634
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by Atari030 »

Awesome, I'll be loading this on to my MegaSTE as soon as I get home. Thanks.
User avatar
dma
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1110
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by dma »

simoncam wrote:
dma wrote:But it seems the slowness on STe doesn't allow to finish tracks in the time limit of some quests.
Interesting... In my STe test it was fine... on a normal STe you should be able to finish a track between 1:45 - 1:55 (full render quality, depending on the music playback).
OK, it seems there is a problem with TOS2.06 (on Hatari emulation at least).
The game probably doesn't recognize the system as STe with this configuration.

The framerate is quite good actually with proper STe. :)
User avatar
simoncam
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:26 pm

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by simoncam »

dma wrote: OK, it seems there is a problem with TOS2.06 (on Hatari emulation at least).
The game probably doesn't recognize the system as STe with this configuration.
Hi!
I was able to reproduce that and found a solution:
For whatever reason the Blitter chip is switched off by default in TOS 2.06 in the HATARI Emulator.
Switching the Blitter ON in the "Options" Menu brings ANARCHO Ride back to normal game performance.

Strangly enough this is not the case in the STeem emulator and 2.06: Blitter is ON on startup.
Neither is it the case when running HATARI with TOS 1.06.

Very strange. But fixable.

Have fun!
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by catmando »

Trying to get this to work on my Falcon is very difficult.

So I tried SETUP.PRG first and I get an error when trying to install to HD

Then I just tried ANARCHO.PRG, I skip the intro because this crashes, I get to the player and car select screens then I have no idea how to start the game?


Maybe I'm doing something obvious wrong or running in the wrong resolution?
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by Eero Tamminen »

simoncam wrote:I was able to reproduce that and found a solution:
For whatever reason the Blitter chip is switched off by default in TOS 2.06 in the HATARI Emulator.
Switching the Blitter ON in the "Options" Menu brings ANARCHO Ride back to normal game performance.

Strangly enough this is not the case in the STeem emulator and 2.06: Blitter is ON on startup.
Neither is it the case when running HATARI with TOS 1.06.
Did you use Hatari autostart feature to start Anarcho Ride, or did you start it from the GEM desktop?

If you remove all *.INF files from Hatari boot directory, does TOS v2.06 still default to Blitter being off?

If yes, which Hatari version you're using?
darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by darwinmac »

As mentioned on the Hatari developer list, did you set Hatari to be an STe rather than an ST? Since TOS 2.06 does work on an ST, it will default to being off if you have Hatari set to an ST. STeem defaults to the STe so it makes sense that the blitter would be turned on automatically.

In my Mega STe configuration (16 Mhz STe with TOS 2.06), the blitter is enabled in Hatari when I boot up.

Bob C
User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1343
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

The MIST core needed audio mixing adjustment to play STE and YM audio properly simultaneously. But with the latest it sounds like it should. Thanks for a great new game.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by Eero Tamminen »

According to post on hatari-devel German TOS v2.06 doesn't enable Blitter when booting *clean* desktop.

I assume that Blitter enabling will be stored when desktop settings are saved though, and Blitter is then enabled when TOS reads that INF file at boot?
User avatar
simoncam
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:26 pm

Christmass Service Update V1.01

Post by simoncam »

Hi!
ANARCHO Ride got a small Christmas service update!!! V1.01

It is mainly fixing some small things:
- Automatic memory setup for 1MB machines
- Blitter - automatic activation if present but deactivated – ideal for TOS 2.06
- SETUP.PRG - Auto create ANARCHO folder bug fixed.
- New language: Bad Mood English - rated R
Known issues:
- TOS 2.06 + more than 4MB Ram: SETUP.PRG crashes.
There is no change in the Gameplay coming with this update. If your ANARCHO RIDE runs fine, there is no reason for download beside the new language.
Find instructions who to update an existing ANARCHO Ride installation on the Download page. http://www.hd-videofilm.com/anarcho

Have Fun!
User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by Marakatti »

Thanks again! Such fun game for driving game nut like me ;)
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------
User avatar
simoncam
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:26 pm

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by simoncam »

Glad you like it!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
dma
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1110
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by dma »

The cover art by M. Schober is really great.
Hearts and destruction, that's what this game is all about. :D
AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by AtariZoll »

Seems pretty well polished now. Works smoothly on Falcon. Thanx for hard work :D
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.
User avatar
simoncam
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:26 pm

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by simoncam »

Hi! I continued polishing a bit more this weekend :D
V1.02 adding Jagpad Support + Joystick controlled Menus- based on inputs from ATARI ST Fans.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
simoncam
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:26 pm

Re: Out Now: Anarcho Ride V1.0 - Release for ATARI STe/FALCON

Post by simoncam »

ANARCHO Ride Evolutions

Post Reply

Return to “Games - General”