New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

All about ST/STE games

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Doctor Bob Gordon, ICS, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1018
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by catmando »

Any chance you can add some animation movement to the wheels like the arcade version?

Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1018
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by catmando »

Also, if anyone is handy at making some STE music this would make a nice 80's soundtrack (quite catchy if you remove the lyrics) to add to it (always thought the arcade could have done with some music)

Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by vebxenon »

I've tested last WIP version. What a great game!! :) Thanks for your great work!
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 893
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by MiggyMog »

@catmando I hear that in my head every time I see this thread lol
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

chicane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:25 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by chicane »

catmando wrote:Any chance you can add some animation movement to the wheels like the arcade version?
Probably not for this release - it's a surprising amount of work!

Maybe once I've got the initial release of Pole Position out of the way, I'll be motivated to do a second release that converts all of the remaining C code to 68000 and catches all of the remaining fine details of the arcade version. Maybe :)

User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 627
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Atari030 »

Pole position on the 800XL was one of my most flogged games. That had (sort of) animated tyres too. Flashes of white across the top every few frames. I'd have to put PP in the top 10 all time games. This version looks great.

User avatar
tjlazer
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by tjlazer »

Tried it on my Mega ST4 with 4MB and it loads but crashes with two bombs on title screen. Any idea if the game is truely for the STE hardware or just uses the Blitter?
Atari Computer Collector since 1984

From the 8-bit Atari 400 to the 32-bit Atari TT030!

chicane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:25 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by chicane »

tjlazer wrote:Any idea if the game is truely for the STE hardware or just uses the Blitter?
It makes use of the DMA sample playback capability of the STE so it's most definitely STE only. Sorry!

User avatar
tjlazer
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by tjlazer »

ok thanks, no worries I have an STE too.
Atari Computer Collector since 1984

From the 8-bit Atari 400 to the 32-bit Atari TT030!

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by vebxenon »

Any news? :)
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

chicane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:25 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by chicane »

vebxenon wrote:Any news? :)
Nothing right now sorry - real life keeps getting in the way!

Having said this, I think the version in the most recently released disk image is more or less feature complete - there are just some minor code optimisations I plan to put in place to improve the frame rate before I consider a "final" release.

Once I've done that, it's onto the next project - a properly done version of Out Run for the ST! (Maybe).

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Marakatti »

Out Run! WOW!!! Please do it, please please please!!!
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 983
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by vebxenon »

chicane wrote:
vebxenon wrote:Any news? :)
Nothing right now sorry - real life keeps getting in the way!

Having said this, I think the version in the most recently released disk image is more or less feature complete - there are just some minor code optimisations I plan to put in place to improve the frame rate before I consider a "final" release.

Once I've done that, it's onto the next project - a properly done version of Out Run for the ST! (Maybe).
Thanks for your great work :cheers:

PS: That's the last version? http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st ... 30787.html
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by AtariCrypt »

I'm still laughing at Marko's comment above!!! It's just an Atari ST thing I guess..... ;) :D :D :D
AtariCrypt game website
https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com

User avatar
Ragstaff
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 610
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Ragstaff »

Registering my moral support for an Outrun remake! ;-)

chicane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:25 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by chicane »

vebxenon wrote: Thanks for your great work :cheers:

PS: That's the last version? http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-st ... 30787.html
Thanks! The version you've linked to there is indeed the most recent version.

bober
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:38 pm

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by bober »

Thanks for your conversion.

However, I've found one small issue - you should switch to lowres (especially, when current is midres on).

moebiusrising
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 3:20 am

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by moebiusrising »

Can't wait to see the final version, this was incredibly fun to watch this WIP and I'm blown away the STe is comparable to an arcade release considering those arcade boards had dedicated processing for audio, sprites. Great job!

liqmat
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 2:12 pm

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by liqmat »

chicane wrote:
catmando wrote:Any chance you can add some animation movement to the wheels like the arcade version?
Probably not for this release - it's a surprising amount of work!

Maybe once I've got the initial release of Pole Position out of the way, I'll be motivated to do a second release that converts all of the remaining C code to 68000 and catches all of the remaining fine details of the arcade version. Maybe :)
How much money would it require to motivate you to finish this with the "remaining fine details"? It is such a great piece of work you have created it would be a shame to stop just short of complete.

chicane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:25 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by chicane »

Hi everyone, OP here.

I've finally managed to carve out some more time to work on the remaining issues and get the game into a state that I think might be considered for a 'final' release. Lots of small annoyances have been resolved (full list is below) and there's a significant frame rate boost from the October 2016 preview release - partially thanks to the new GCC 7.1 compiler kindly made available by ggn, dml and co.

A zipfile containing the .ST disk image is attached to this post - please take a look and let me know if there's anything that you think should stop this from being a final release of the game. As with the previous release, an STE with one meg is required.
polepos_ste_1meg_rc1.st.zip
Here's a list of all the improvements I can think of that have been implemented since the last release - it might not necessarily be exhaustive:

- Game logic now runs at 60 frames per second instead of 50, bringing the speed and difficulty in line with the arcade game;
- The sky gradient is back;
- The final billboard on the right before the start line is now correct;
- The volume of the skid sound sample has been reduced to a reasonable level;
- Mount Fuji in the background is now rendered in the correct colour;
- Several optimisations mainly around text rendering;
- The 'EXTENDED PLAY!' and 'POLE POSITION!' in-game text now has the exclamation mark as per the arcade version;
- Puddle sprites no longer overlap car sprites;
- Code compiled with GCC 7.1 for a significant performance increase.

Sorry to all the people who have requested the wheel spinning animation - I'm struggling to find a way to do this in a reasonable amount of time so it's unlikely to make the cut.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by Marakatti »

Wow! Amazing improvement. This is superb version. Many thanks :cheers:
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1018
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by catmando »

It's so close to being spot on but I'm still a +1 for the wheel movement as it gives the feeling of speed.

Also is there a reason why the gameplay structure doesn't follow the qualify then race format of the arcade? This version starts with the 'prepare to qualify' speech but takes you straight to the race as there are other cars on the first lap and the lap doesn't finish after 1 complete run of the circuit.
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

chicane
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:25 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by chicane »

catmando wrote: Wow! Amazing improvement. This is superb version. Many thanks
Thanks!
catmando wrote: Also is there a reason why the gameplay structure doesn't follow the qualify then race format of the arcade? This version starts with the 'prepare to qualify' speech but takes you straight to the race as there are other cars on the first lap and the lap doesn't finish after 1 complete run of the circuit.
Are you sure that the game format doesn't match that of the arcade?

Upon starting a new game, you'll be launched into a qualifying session. This qualifying session does feature opponent cars (as per the arcade), and your car will come to a stop after finishing the first lap, assuming that your lap time falls below the qualifying threshold (under 72 seconds I think). Following this, the game will proceed to the race session. Alternatively, if your lap time doesn't fall below the qualifying threshold, the qualifying session continues until you run out of time.

All of this logic is taken directly from the code of the arcade version and should therefore be behaviourally aligned with that of the arcade version. The only thing that may cause it to differ is that the arcade version you've played (either the real thing or MAME-based) might have different dip switch settings that set a different number of laps, qualifying threshold time etc.

Would you mind taking another look and confirming that ST Pole Position definitely differs from the arcade version in the ways you've described?

User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1018
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by catmando »

chicane wrote:
catmando wrote: Also is there a reason why the gameplay structure doesn't follow the qualify then race format of the arcade? This version starts with the 'prepare to qualify' speech but takes you straight to the race as there are other cars on the first lap and the lap doesn't finish after 1 complete run of the circuit.
Are you sure that the game format doesn't match that of the arcade?

Upon starting a new game, you'll be launched into a qualifying session. This qualifying session does feature opponent cars (as per the arcade), and your car will come to a stop after finishing the first lap, assuming that your lap time falls below the qualifying threshold (under 72 seconds I think). Following this, the game will proceed to the race session. Alternatively, if your lap time doesn't fall below the qualifying threshold, the qualifying session continues until you run out of time.

All of this logic is taken directly from the code of the arcade version and should therefore be behaviourally aligned with that of the arcade version. The only thing that may cause it to differ is that the arcade version you've played (either the real thing or MAME-based) might have different dip switch settings that set a different number of laps, qualifying threshold time etc.

Would you mind taking another look and confirming that ST Pole Position definitely differs from the arcade version in the ways you've described?
I apologise, my gaming needed improving, it does indeed go to race mode if there's 28 seconds or more left on the clock.

Again, maybe it's my gaming but I it did feel like there was something different in the control-ability of the car between qualifying and race. The car feels more controllable in quali, race mode feels seems to see-saw between sluggish and too responsive. But maybe I just need more practise...
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking

junosix
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Plymouth

Re: New ST project - Pole Position arcade conversion

Post by junosix »

This is brilliant! Amazing work, man.

Post Reply

Return to “Games - General”