Page 3 of 3

Re: To TOS or MultiTOS? Or even OtherTOS?

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 10:20 am
by MegaSTEarian
joska wrote: Fri Nov 13, 2020 10:39 am IIRC I have run many of the D-Bug / Klaz hd/Falcon-fixed games under MiNT on my Falcon.

http://d-bug.mooo.com/patch.php
These are excellent

Re: To TOS or MultiTOS? Or even OtherTOS?

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 10:28 am
by MegaSTEarian
I am trying to install Geneva and Jinee on my TT. They don't seem to go along too well though.
I tried NeoDesk as well and looked really well but I want to test Jinee, TeraDesk and Thing! as well.

I installed Jinee, completed ok. Then I installed Geneva. I got into a reboot loop. TT would crash (sometimes giving me two bombs) as soon as it was reaching the point where it load the CPX and ACCs. Thought it was Lightning (NetUSBee is not operational anyways on the specific TT, I think cartridge port is busted) and removed LightningVME altogether.Still, the same error.
Started again with clean Geneva, boots almost ok, stayed quite some time loading the ACC/CPXs and then it would reboot. New partitioning thought HDDriver, new Geneva installation, booted ok-ish, then Jinee installation, then reboot loop and sometimes the two bombs. As I don't think there's anything wrong with the HDD, the connections or anything else as TT works without issues until Geneva\Jinee are installed, I am thinking I am doing something wrong on the installation part.
Is there any definitive guide about Geneva installation with a desktop replacement other than NeoDesk? I checked manuals for both apps and apparently the installation is extremely easy but I keep thinking that I am losing something.

Re: To TOS or MultiTOS? Or even OtherTOS?

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 10:59 am
by joska
Jinnee is really not suited for anything else than MagiC. It was written with MagiC in mind, and it looks like compatibility with other operating systems has been added as an afterthought. I have tested Thing!, Gemini and Teradesk under Geneva on my STE and all of these are working fine.
MegaSTEarian wrote: Mon Nov 30, 2020 10:28 am TT would crash (sometimes giving me two bombs) as soon as it was reaching the point where it load the CPX and ACCs.
And what accessories do you have installed?

I suggest you disable *everything* except nvdi, jarxxx.prg (probably called jar010.prg by default) and geneva.prg in the autofolder. Then disable all accessories except taskman.acc. Make sure than nvdi.prg and jarxxx.prg runs before genevar.prg in the auto-folder. Geneva should now boot without a desktop.

To install a desktop you edit gem.cnf which you find in the Geneva folder. Add a line "shell c:\teradesk\desktop.prg" to use Teradesk.

Edit: From your other thread it looks like you're using EmuTOS. I have not tried EmuTOS on a TT so I can't really help. One thing you can try is to disable geneva.prg in the autofolder and boot to the EmuTOS desktop. Then rename geneva.prx to geneva.prg again and run it from the EmutTOS desktop. Does this work?

Re: To TOS or MultiTOS? Or even OtherTOS?

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 4:40 pm
by MegaSTEarian
The Lightning USB ACC and one from the HDDriver. XControl panel was supposed to load some CPXs but it wasn't even loading.

I've reached to the point where Geneva boots without any desktop but I wasn't sure how to proceed from there on, especially with the only editor I had downloaded being in my the USB pen :(

I will try your suggestion with TerraDesk and see what I get.

About the PS: I tried EmuTOS on the MegaSTE and the TT just for testing but I stopped using it until I have sorted out the issues with Geneva. I am targeting on using it, at least on the MegaSTE.

Re: To TOS or MultiTOS? Or even OtherTOS?

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 6:19 pm
by MegaSTEarian
Also, I have yet another question about the AES of choice:

For the TT/Falcon:
XaAES or myAES?

For the MegaSTE:
XaAES, myAES or nothing at all?

Re: To TOS or MultiTOS? Or even OtherTOS?

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 3:08 am
by wongck
MegaSTEarian wrote: Mon Nov 30, 2020 4:40 pm XControl panel was supposed to load some CPXs but it wasn't even loading.
There is a configuration that states where your CPX are located.
May be that is not set to the correct location/folder.
You can probably & easily click around the Xcontrol to find that setting.

Re: To TOS or MultiTOS? Or even OtherTOS?

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 5:45 am
by MegaSTEarian
wongck wrote: Tue Dec 01, 2020 3:08 am
MegaSTEarian wrote: Mon Nov 30, 2020 4:40 pm XControl panel was supposed to load some CPXs but it wasn't even loading.
There is a configuration that states where your CPX are located.
May be that is not set to the correct location/folder.
You can probably & easily click around the Xcontrol to find that setting.
What I mean is that xcontrol.acc is not even loading for some reason. And ACC files were less than 6. Not sure what it was, I re-partitioned it my HDD yesterday and now it is loading. I’m in the process of setting up Geneva.

Re: To TOS or MultiTOS? Or even OtherTOS?

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 7:51 am
by MegaSTEarian
MegaSTEarian wrote: Mon Nov 30, 2020 6:19 pm Also, I have yet another question about the AES of choice:

For the TT/Falcon:
XaAES or myAES?

For the MegaSTE:
XaAES, myAES or nothing at all?
Can these work with Geneva, to start with, as Geneva is an AES replacement?

Re: To TOS or MultiTOS? Or even OtherTOS?

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 9:13 am
by ThorstenOtto
No, that does not make sense. Both will replace AES; you cannot run one on top of the other (or maybe you can without crash, but you still will only have the last one installed).

Re: To TOS or MultiTOS? Or even OtherTOS?

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 11:18 am
by wongck
MegaSTEarian wrote: Tue Dec 01, 2020 5:45 am What I mean is that xcontrol.acc is not even loading for some reason. And ACC files were less than 6. Not sure what it was, I re-partitioned it my HDD yesterday and now it is loading.

Glad that it's working for you now

Re: To TOS or MultiTOS? Or even OtherTOS?

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 8:26 pm
by OL
MegaSTEarian wrote: Mon Nov 30, 2020 6:19 pm Also, I have yet another question about the AES of choice:

For the TT/Falcon:
XaAES or myAES?

For the MegaSTE:
XaAES, myAES or nothing at all?
Depend highly of memory available, with less than 8Mo with Mint and any AES forget, with more, I think this 2 AES are ok

Next release of MyAES (in some days I think) will be far better than current one (0.97) for such configuration with better optimization (event manager and object redraw)

MyAES can run without Mint but probably not useful as there is no acc and not really tested, need modify myaes.cnf
need put :
threads=1

MyAES can run above an other AES launch from desktop, compatibility is less good, just for test if configuration looks ok (but video is not setup in this case, you use current video settings)

Olivier