using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

News, updates, like or dislike

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Post Reply
darvidis
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 5:39 am

using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by darvidis »

I have been using a Atari STE1040 with Notator music program for over 20 years. On my old Pc with xp, it had a floppy disc drive. I used to format floppy dics to 720k on Atari and then transfer midifiles from Pc to disk. My new PC doesn't have floppy disc drive. Will an external drive allow me to do this. Is there a recommended unit that works, no fuss. Please somebody help me. I'm desperate.
AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by AtariZoll »

Any USB floppy drive capable of handling 720K floppies will be good.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.
Miguel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:59 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by Miguel »

I haven't had any problems reading or writing 720K DOS floppies using an imation USB floppy drive (model D353FUE) with Windows XP......although I tend to format 720K DOS floppies on my Yamaha RM1X rather than the Atari or PC because it's more straight forward.

Do you still have your Atari?
User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 772
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by BoNuS »

Well not all USB drive are equal good in creating Atari floppy's. I have good experience with TEAC drives (some models of USB Dell) and bad with YE-data (brand x). The TEAC formats under Win 7 still good DD format, but the YE doesn't really work good on DD and even seems to have problems with HD formats. Try to find an USB drive that works for you :) Native drives (with 34 pins socket on motherboard) under XP are highly recommended. Just my2cents ;)

MS doesn't really support DD under Win7 anymore but most of the times it works okay. Just use CMD line and then FORMAT A: /T:80 /N:9
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
( I have just to much Atari stuff)
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2709
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by spiny »

99% of USB floppy drives will work fine. no need to mess about with command lines on the pc to format the disks, just format them on the ST.
Miguel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:59 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by Miguel »

Still it's a good idea to inform people of the command line in case anyone needs it, like say someone has acquired an STFM they might need to use the command line if only to be able to DOS format one floppy with the DOS formatting software to DOS format more floppies on the Atari, I don't use it myself but I have it written down on my disk box just in case.
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2709
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by spiny »

Miguel wrote:Still it's a good idea to inform people of the command line in case anyone needs it, like say someone has acquired an STFM they might need to use the command line if only to be able to DOS format one floppy with the DOS formatting software to DOS format more floppies on the Atari, I don't use it myself but I have it written down on my disk box just in case.
the Desktop format option formats disks DOS compatable. I've been using this method for years and never had any issues.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4892
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by joska »

What spiny said. If you just want to use the floppy to transfer data between the STE and a PC, get any USB floppy drive and format the disks on the Atari.

However, disk drives and floppies are getting old and worn by now, so unless you prefer floppies for nostalgic reasons, I'd rather get a PARCP-USB or maybe a floppy emulator.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4056
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by ijor »

spiny wrote:the Desktop format option formats disks DOS compatable. I've been using this method for years and never had any issues.
This depends on the TOS version. The desktop format on older TOS versions is not fully PC compatible. But there are many alternate formatters available. If we are talking about an STE, as seems to the case of the OP here, then all TOS versions should work.
Miguel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:59 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by Miguel »

ijor wrote:
spiny wrote:the Desktop format option formats disks DOS compatable. I've been using this method for years and never had any issues.
This depends on the TOS version. The desktop format on older TOS versions is not fully PC compatible. But there are many alternate formatters available. If we are talking about an STE, as seems to the case of the OP here, then all TOS versions should work.
Correct.
serano33
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:29 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by serano33 »

BoNuS wrote:Well not all USB drive are equal good in creating Atari floppy's. I have good experience with TEAC drives (some models of USB Dell) and bad with YE-data (brand x). The TEAC formats under Win 7 still good DD format, but the YE doesn't really work good on DD and even seems to have problems with HD formats. Try to find an USB drive that works for you :) N ative drives (with 34 pins socket on motherboard) under XP are highly recommended. Just my2cents ;) HostGator DreamHost Bluehost

MS doesn't really support DD under Win7 anymore but most of the times it works okay. Just use CMD line and then FORMAT A: /T:80 /N:9
99% of USB floppy drives will work fine. no need to mess about with command lines on the pc to format the disks, just format them on the ST.
Last edited by serano33 on Sat Jan 19, 2019 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13004
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by wongck »

Some information on the wiki is old and goes to missing external pages... but at least it docuemnted there.
The mirror read only version is here:
https://temlib.org/AtariForumWiki/index ... akerNet.29

Needs updating once the original is up & running.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
serano33
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:29 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by serano33 »

Miguel wrote:
ijor wrote:
spiny wrote:the Desktop format option formats disks DOS compatable. I've been using this method for years and never had any issues.
This depends on the TOS version. The desktop format on older TOS versions is not fully PC compatible. But there are many alternate formatters available. If we are talking about an STE, as seems to the case of the OP here, then all TOS versions should work.
Correct.
the Desktop format option formats disks DOS compatable. I've been using this method for years and never had any issues.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4892
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by joska »

With TOS 1.04 and later this is correct. Previous TOS-versions does not create DOS-compatible floppies.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
6BQ5
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:59 am
Location: Minden, NV USA

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by 6BQ5 »

I have Windows 10 and a 1040 STe. My Teac USB floppy drive can format 720k floppies from a DOS windows. The floppy is perfectly readable on my 1040 STe. No mess, no fuss. :)

Boris

Atari 130XE
Atari 1040 STe
serano33
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:29 pm

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by serano33 »

BoNuS wrote:Well not all USB drive are equal good in creating Atari floppy's. I have good experience with TEAC drives (some models of USB Dell) and bad with YE-data (brand x). The TEAC formats under Win 7 still good DD format, but the YE doesn't really work good on DD and even seems to have problems with HD formats. Try to find an USB drive that works for you :) Native drives (with 34 pins socket on motherboard) under XP are highly recommended. Just my2cents ;) HostGator DreamHost Bluehost

MS doesn't really support DD under Win7 anymore but most of the times it works okay. Just use CMD line and then FORMAT A: /T:80 /N:9
darvidis
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 5:39 am

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by darvidis »

I have got my floppy disc to finally accept transferred midi files, but now after the Atari accepts disc, it comes up as a bad file and wont work. Old discs still working fine. Have formatted and tried so many other discs, but wont work.
tzok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: using external floppy disc drive to tranfer

Post by tzok »

You have to use DD (720 kB) disks, and format them on Atari. HD (1440 kB) disks work very unreliably with DD drives. Much more convenient way is to use UltraSatan, CosmosEx (SD card) or NetUSBee (USB or Ethernet), or at least GOTEK HxC.
Post Reply

Return to “Website Discussions”