Forum unstable again

News, updates, like or dislike

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by DrCoolZic »

Worked pretty fast when I started this morning and now it is very very slow again :(
User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by viking272 »

DrCoolZic wrote:Worked pretty fast when I started this morning and now it is very very slow again :(
Yes I couldn't get on for 15 mins a couple of hours ago, on my PC or Tapatalk
User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by DrCoolZic »

Very strange works great for reading one or two messages then for no reason not responsive for several minutes ...
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2536
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by lp »

DrCoolZic wrote:Very strange works great for reading one or two messages then for no reason not responsive for several minutes ...
Same here. It also forgets the auto login and forces re-entry of the password after it hangs.
User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by viking272 »

spiny wrote:
viking272 wrote:The time in the UK is an hour ahead of the AF clock...

it's a forum setting, you have to go to your control panel and tick a box sating we are in British Summer Time ...
So the timezone settings doesn't have a British Summer Time +1 option.
My timezone has defaulted to GMT which is an hour behind so I've had to select a +1 Central European Time, as the nearest zone.
I guess at the end of October I'll have to change it back when the clocks change back to GMT.
Hippy Dave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:40 am

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by Hippy Dave »

You should monitor the site traffic. Maybe there is a bad robot, or someone making an internet backup with wget or httrack.
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2709
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by spiny »

viking272 wrote:
spiny wrote:
viking272 wrote:The time in the UK is an hour ahead of the AF clock...

it's a forum setting, you have to go to your control panel and tick a box sating we are in British Summer Time ...
So the timezone settings doesn't have a British Summer Time +1 option.
My timezone has defaulted to GMT which is an hour behind so I've had to select a +1 Central European Time, as the nearest zone.
I guess at the end of October I'll have to change it back when the clocks change back to GMT.

look closer ... :)
Image1.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4202
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by Dal »

I upped the php memory allocation about an hour ago (it was actually a bit too low). Can people report back here if they continue to have issues with the site being slow?
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1022
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by catmando »

Dal wrote:I upped the php memory allocation about an hour ago (it was actually a bit too low). Can people report back here if they continue to have issues with the site being slow?
Yep still slow to respond intermittently I'm afraid
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by DrCoolZic »

I was about to say solved because it did work well for sometimes.
But few minutes ago I had to wait long time during a reply.
Note that once the system faill to respond in a web window if you try to access AF from another window it is stop also and suddenly they all come back at the same time?
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4837
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by joska »

Today it has been almost unreachable for me. Had a 403-error too this morning.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4202
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by Dal »

Nope it's still not right, that's for sure.
I'm going to update Tapatalk (needs doing anyway), employ some auto blocking measures and reconfigure Apache to thread php (using mod-fcgid).

I'll scope it all out tonight as I'll need to update docs and reconfigure the other sites I have on the same box at the same time.

I'll likely be locking out access entirely while this work is undertaken.

My hunch is that this domain name has been targeted by a number of spam bots.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
dml
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by dml »

I can't prove this, but it's almost like it is related to posts themselves. A few times it happened to me while I was writing a response to something, and found the forum locked up while submitting the response. Once the problem clears, I find a new message where I was about to post, and my message hasn't been submitted (2nd time this happened to me this week).

It's almost like every time somebody posts a new message, the forum goes to sleep for 2 minutes :)

But that could just be coincidence. After losing a couple of longish posts though, I can say it does pay to copy to clipboard before hitting submit :-)
User avatar
Rajah Lone
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 12:27 pm
Location: Lyon / France
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by Rajah Lone »

Same as dml. It occurs just after submitting a new post (less often when re-edit it).
Maartau
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2630
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:15 am

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by Maartau »

Dal wrote:My hunch is that this domain name has been targeted by a number of spam bots.
I think so : I've searched infos about some bots on AF & few of them are useless...
User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by viking272 »

Rajah Lone wrote:Same as dml. It occurs just after submitting a new post (less often when re-edit it).
So the AF page on the server box wouldn't be available locally either if this was the case as it's something on the server rather than a routing issue of one sort or another?

A bit basic but we could correlate external ping tests to domain and host ip, plus local network tests if possible, linking to Forum post times.
If it's done overnight (to Europe) it will have less outages but easier to tie down similar times?

Just a few thoughts.
User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by viking272 »

dupe
Last edited by viking272 on Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by viking272 »

dupe
Last edited by viking272 on Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4202
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by Dal »

I've been looking at server logs and I think I see a pattern with regard to memory usage. So I made a couple of tweaks to the apache config, limiting the threading a bit more and lowering timeouts. Let's see how that goes. Again I'd appreciate any issues are reported here. So I'm really hoping for this thread to go quiet!!
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1022
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by catmando »

Dal wrote:I've been looking at server logs and I think I see a pattern with regard to memory usage. So I made a couple of tweaks to the apache config, limiting the threading a bit more and lowering timeouts. Let's see how that goes. Again I'd appreciate any issues are reported here. So I'm really hoping for this thread to go quiet!!
fingers crossed
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2536
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by lp »

Seems better. Usually after work it would just hang for me, yesterday it didn't. :wink:
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4837
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by joska »

Same here, it seems to be OK now. No problems so far today.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by exxos »

It seems to hang for me when I first come here after a few hours.

I just posted this and edited it and it was quick. Though a hour or so ago it just takes ages for the index page to come up, then it generally runs quick. Pretty strange really.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Getting a download dialog for a 2MB attachment was *really* slow and viewing other pages blocked until I got the dialog. After that things were fast again.
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4202
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Forum unstable again

Post by Dal »

Cheers - I'll check that out.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
Post Reply

Return to “Website Discussions”