New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4837
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by joska »

Have you seen this?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1460
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by troed »

I had forgotten all about it :D Will print and see - thanks for the reminder!

/Troed
User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by Atari74user »

That skipped me by, that's pretty cool too, thanks! I just spent 5 mins moving the STL around on my laptop because it looked so nice!
I think I might need to get out more 8O
:cheers:
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF, Steinberg FDI & Analog 8
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, SoundPool MO4, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2828
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by alexh »

Did this project get completed? I would really like a good quality internal PSU in my falcon 060
GoldenGrahams
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by GoldenGrahams »

Hi, I remember reading this thread last year and thinking what a great project it was. So did 10p6 ever...

a) Release the 3D printable files for the PSU mount and the power/switch mount...?
b) Clarify exactly which PSU (or pico power brick) can be mounted to his 'PSU mount'. I'm sure the power brick that came with my genuine Pico PSU had no mounting points that match the 4 screw mounts on the 'PSU mount' pictured at the start of this thread. Please explain.

Thanks.
User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1360
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by leech »

GoldenGrahams wrote:Hi, I remember reading this thread last year and thinking what a great project it was. So did 10p6 ever...

a) Release the 3D printable files for the PSU mount and the power/switch mount...?
b) Clarify exactly which PSU (or pico power brick) can be mounted to his 'PSU mount'. I'm sure the power brick that came with my genuine Pico PSU had no mounting points that match the 4 screw mounts on the 'PSU mount' pictured at the start of this thread. Please explain.

Thanks.
I thought Joska posted something; http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... 25#p316663 I've printed this, it fits nicely.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)
GoldenGrahams
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:15 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by GoldenGrahams »

leech wrote:
GoldenGrahams wrote:Hi, I remember reading this thread last year and thinking what a great project it was. So did 10p6 ever...

a) Release the 3D printable files for the PSU mount and the power/switch mount...?
b) Clarify exactly which PSU (or pico power brick) can be mounted to his 'PSU mount'. I'm sure the power brick that came with my genuine Pico PSU had no mounting points that match the 4 screw mounts on the 'PSU mount' pictured at the start of this thread. Please explain.

Thanks.
I thought Joska posted something; http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... 25#p316663 I've printed this, it fits nicely.
Yes I've printed Joskas plastic psu/switch cover and am taking a look at that now, but what about the metal PSU (brick) mount and psu/switch cover combo by 10p6 at the start of THIS thread?

It is the idea of securing the PSU brick of the PicoPSU INSIDE the Falcon that really interests me.
User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1360
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by leech »

Has 10p6 disappeared? He also had designs of a ne Jaguar controller that looked fantastic.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)
User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 536
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by mpattonm »

I hate to dissapoint you guys, but its physically impossible to fit original PSU in CT60 accelerated Falc. Besides, original PSU is not compatible with CT60/e and while there are 3rd party COTS internal PSUs that might eventually fit inside and provide compatibble voltages, they do not work. Making a sutable bracket is actually the most simple part.
Last edited by mpattonm on Fri Jun 14, 2019 6:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2828
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by alexh »

mpattonm wrote:I hate to dissapoint zou guzs, but its phzsicalz impossible to fit original PSU in CT60 accelerated Falc. Besides, original PSU is not compatible with CT60e
This thread is about the design of a new internal PSU compatible electrically and physically with the Falcon030 desktop case and CT60e. It is NOT about using the old one.
mpattonm wrote:while there are 3rd party COTS internal PSUs that might eventually fit be compatible, they do not work.
What does that mean?
jd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: Ruislip, UK

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by jd »

Personally when my Falcon PSU died I never replaced it but took the internal PCB power connector outside the case and had a flying lead with a plug on it. I could then plug any ATX PSU into it. Extenal PSU I know but I could just extend the wires and hide it but I knew I would always have a rock solid easily replaceable PSU and that is something the Falcon needs to have.

Also frees up space in case for future upgrades etc.
User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 536
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by mpattonm »

alexh wrote:
mpattonm wrote:while there are 3rd party COTS internal PSUs that might eventually fit be compatible, they do not work.
What does that mean?
Right. What I meant is there is no COTS AC/DC power supply that is known to be compatible with CT60. Basically, none of them (to my knowledge) works.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4837
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by joska »

GoldenGrahams wrote:Yes I've printed Joskas plastic psu/switch cover and am taking a look at that now, but what about the metal PSU (brick) mount and psu/switch cover combo by 10p6 at the start of THIS thread?
That design does not work, simply because the CT60 will not power on by switching on the PSU as that design does. Also, finding an ATX PSU small enough to fit inside the Falcon case is not easy.
GoldenGrahams wrote:It is the idea of securing the PSU brick of the PicoPSU INSIDE the Falcon that really interests me.
While I appreciate the original look of such a solution (I like my Ataris to look as standard as possible) there are two big advantages in an external power brick - it frees up space inside for the future SuperVidel and it moves the main heatsource out of the Falcon. But if you really want an internal brick I think the easiest solution is a PicoPSU and a small, internal 12V PSU.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 536
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by mpattonm »

Well I have decided to take a break from all the Amiga stuff (very exhausting), I have took a time to try something else on this topic and voilá: ladies and gentleman, I present you what I believe is perfect internal PSU option for CT60 equipped Falcon.
Yes, it is running in 060 mode ;)
WP_20191229_20_10_55_Rich - Copy.jpg
WP_20191229_20_11_26_Rich - Copy.jpg
Wow, its been almost a year...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2828
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by alexh »

Thanks to Centurion for finishing their design.

https://centuriontech.eu/product/ct60psu/
kyopo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 08, 2019 2:33 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by kyopo »

That's awesome! Does this work with US 110V? Or is it 220V only?
User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 238
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by saulot »

I've managed to modify this psu and connect it to more devices and use it with Supervidel. See here (everything looks like home made bomb) link. Don't mind burns on heatshrink tubings (I shrinked them with simple matches).
In short psu might be better with: more sturdy power button / socket mount (I have impression that it will break someday), option with longer cables (to make possible move psu if someone has non standard case) and somekind of molex socket/plug to connect some existing splitters.
For example, I needed one FDD connector for ct60, second one for floppy and third one for cf flash adapter (I finally got rid of one, by using another type of cf adapter) and possibility to power up additional cooling fan (this psu emits alot of heat and I have steel case). Unfortunately, i still have some issues with ct60 reboots, which irritates me (I've added already reset delay (22uF capacitor on C7)) - I didn't have any issues with picoPSU (and normal atx power supply) earlier. It looks like power on from ct60 board is useless now (it doesn't work, but that's ok I think). Other than that everything works great..
User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1360
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by leech »

saulot wrote: Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:03 pm I've managed to modify this psu and connect it to more devices and use it with Supervidel. See here (everything looks like home made bomb) link. Don't mind burns on heatshrink tubings (I shrinked them with simple matches).
In short psu might be better with: more sturdy power button / socket mount (I have impression that it will break someday), option with longer cables (to make possible move psu if someone has non standard case) and somekind of molex socket/plug to connect some existing splitters.
For example, I needed one FDD connector for ct60, second one for floppy and third one for cf flash adapter (I finally got rid of one, by using another type of cf adapter) and possibility to power up additional cooling fan (this psu emits alot of heat and I have steel case). Unfortunately, i still have some issues with ct60 reboots, which irritates me (I've added already reset delay (22uF capacitor on C7)) - I didn't have any issues with picoPSU (and normal atx power supply) earlier. It looks like power on from ct60 board is useless now (it doesn't work, but that's ok I think). Other than that everything works great..
Nice work! I will probably look into this at some point. My Falcon's top has been off of it for far too long!
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)
User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 536
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by mpattonm »

saulot wrote: Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:03 pm I've managed to modify this psu and connect it to more devices and use it with Supervidel. See here (everything looks like home made bomb) link. Don't mind burns on heatshrink tubings (I shrinked them with simple matches).
In short psu might be better with: more sturdy power button / socket mount (I have impression that it will break someday), option with longer cables (to make possible move psu if someone has non standard case) and somekind of molex socket/plug to connect some existing splitters.
For example, I needed one FDD connector for ct60, second one for floppy and third one for cf flash adapter (I finally got rid of one, by using another type of cf adapter) and possibility to power up additional cooling fan (this psu emits alot of heat and I have steel case). Unfortunately, i still have some issues with ct60 reboots, which irritates me (I've added already reset delay (22uF capacitor on C7)) - I didn't have any issues with picoPSU (and normal atx power supply) earlier. It looks like power on from ct60 board is useless now (it doesn't work, but that's ok I think). Other than that everything works great..
Good job! Just a few side notes: With CT60PSU, you no longer need to connect FDD pigtail cable from Falcon mainboard to CT60. CT60PSU takes care of that - notice it has two leads: one goes to CT60, the other connects 5V and 12V to mainboard. Thus, above mentioned connection is redundant and you can free the FDD cable to power floppy drive or other components.
My other point is CT60PSU is built for very specific installation inside F030 case. Cooling, length of cables, etc. it is all calculated and verified on test bench. On the other hand I could simply make a custom cabling of required length to support your bench top configuration, if you let me know your needs in advance.
Rustynutt
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 921
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by Rustynutt »

Got 2 on order with you :)
User avatar
saulot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 238
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Warszawa
Contact:

Re: New Internal Falcon PSU for CT60, CT60e, CT63...

Post by saulot »

Thanks!
mpattonm wrote: Sat Aug 15, 2020 7:43 pm Good job! Just a few side notes: With CT60PSU, you no longer need to connect FDD pigtail cable from Falcon mainboard to CT60. CT60PSU takes care of that - notice it has two leads: one goes to CT60, the other connects 5V and 12V to mainboard. Thus, above mentioned connection is redundant and you can free the FDD cable to power floppy drive or other components.
Well I didn't know that. As far I remember I had some issues with lack of ym sound or sound in general, when it wasn't connected (it was long ago). Anyway why it was needed at all?
mpattonm wrote: Sat Aug 15, 2020 7:43 pm My other point is CT60PSU is built for very specific installation inside F030 case. Cooling, length of cables, etc. it is all calculated and verified on test bench. On the other hand I could simply make a custom cabling of required length to support your bench top configuration, if you let me know your needs in advance.
Sure and original location is under falcon grill. There was no info on site that this is possible and I read later that it is not compatible with Supervidel, so I didn't send any requests.
Post Reply

Return to “News & Announcements”