EmuTOS on Amiga

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

BlankVector
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by BlankVector »

EmuTOS is now able to run on Amiga hardware, and run clean TOS programs.
See the announce and CVS snapshot there:
http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/mess ... d=29447948
emutos.png
desktop.png
gemamigo.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook. Latest video: Manipulate horizontal lines in assembly language on Atari ST.
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by Frank B »

Nice!
EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by EvilFranky »

Sorry I don't understand the reasons behind this. What is the point exactly?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by Frank B »

EvilFranky wrote:Sorry I don't understand the reasons behind this. What is the point exactly?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
I'd guess it's about making Emutos truly portable. :)
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by nativ »

EvilFranky wrote:Sorry I don't understand the reasons behind this. What is the point exactly?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

1. Amiga owners have a 'useful' OS
2. Amiga's have a use other than doorstops
3. Atari's Rule all platforms..
:D

edit ... my a600 with CF just found a use!
Last edited by nativ on Sat Jun 23, 2012 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by EvilFranky »

As a tech demo fair enough. But to then read it is going to be a big part of 0.9.0 makes me sad.

Amiga users have their own highly developed OS. If they want to run Atari software then either buy an Atari or buy a PC and run Aranym or Hatari.

I'd much rather see EmuTOS continued to try and be a fully legitimate replacement for Atari TOS with added features but 100% compatible.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by CiH »

Maybe there are some Amiga owners who are also GEM app fans! :mrgreen:
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"
EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by EvilFranky »

I just think it's far too niche to bother with, when the Atari community would readily receive a complete, bug fixed, feature enhanced and 100% compatible TOS replacement.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by EvilFranky »

Sorry, just to add. EmuTOS is a great project and the guys developing it deserve the praise and backing of the whole Atari community.

I just don't want to see what I consider wasteful development (from an Atari POV) of support for a platform that in the majority have very little interest.

Could the time not have been better spent adding compatibility improvements or adding a missing feature?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
Hippy Dave
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:40 am

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by Hippy Dave »

EvilFranky wrote:As a tech demo fair enough. But to then read it is going to be a big part of 0.9.0 makes me sad.

Amiga users have their own highly developed OS. If they want to run Atari software then either buy an Atari or buy a PC and run Aranym or Hatari.

I'd much rather see EmuTOS continued to try and be a fully legitimate replacement for Atari TOS with added features but 100% compatible.
Don't be sad. This is good because the Atari ST is the next big thing, and Amiga users will be able to upgrade easily. Soon you will find the Atari ST on every modern device... Why do you think the Raspberry Pi was made? Maybe you will find it (the ST) there (in the Pi) too! But, for sure, you will be able to use an Atari ST everywhere there is a device that can do the job. Yellow_Colorz_PDT_01

Sent from my Desktop using CentOS 5.8
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by Frank B »

Hippy Dave wrote: Don't be sad. This is good because the Atari ST is the next big thing, and Amiga users will be able to upgrade easily. Soon you will find the Atari ST on every modern device... Why do you think the Raspberry Pi was made? Maybe you will find it (the ST) there (in the Pi) too! But, for sure, you will be able to use an Atari ST everywhere there is a device that can do the job. Yellow_Colorz_PDT_01

Sent from my Desktop using CentOS 5.8

We can all dream of one day walking into a shop and seeing a row of black bombs on a white screen instead of white text on blue ;)
User avatar
MrMaddog
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 3:03 am
Contact:

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by MrMaddog »

Running Amiga games from a proper ST desktop...the best of both worlds! :mrgreen:

(Heard talk on Amiga forums about porting Aranym to AROS, that should be interesting.)
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by wongck »

EvilFranky wrote:Sorry I don't understand the reasons behind this. What is the point exactly?
Exactly my though when I read this..... :roll:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by wongck »

This just makes Amiga have more applications for their platform.... may be that's the reason.

So why does the Amiga developer not make their OS and apps work on Atari ST ?
Other than this technology demo... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K4ta4OYhsEY
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by EvilFranky »

wongck wrote:
EvilFranky wrote:Sorry I don't understand the reasons behind this. What is the point exactly?
Exactly my though when I read this..... :roll:
Sorry are you agreeing with my thoughts or being sarcastic?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by CiH »

So why does the Amiga developer not make their OS and apps work on Atari ST ?
Other than this technology demo... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K4ta4OYhsEY
Erm, I think you might find the link takes you to another emulator for the Amiga, not Atari. Or to be more precise, a bootable TOS that loads off disk into the memory address where the Amiga Kickstart would normally go. The applications being demoed were Atari GEM on Amiga hardware.

The machine seen in the video looks a bit like a Mega ST on first glance, but is actually an Amiga 1000 :oops:

Otherwise a fair question. I think a lot of work would be needed to emulate the required Amiga hardware, so not something that would be undertaken lightly.
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by wongck »

EvilFranky wrote:
wongck wrote:
EvilFranky wrote:Sorry I don't understand the reasons behind this. What is the point exactly?
Exactly my though when I read this..... :roll:
Sorry are you agreeing with my thoughts or being sarcastic?
Mmm.... I think they should not make it work on an Amiga.... That's what I am thinking of.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by wongck »

CiH wrote:
So why does the Amiga developer not make their OS and apps work on Atari ST ?
Other than this technology demo... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K4ta4OYhsEY
Erm, I think you might find the link takes you to another emulator for the Amiga, not Atari. Or to be more precise, a bootable TOS that loads off disk into the memory address where the Amiga Kickstart would normally go. The applications being demoed were Atari GEM on Amiga hardware.

The machine seen in the video looks a bit like a Mega ST on first glance, but is actually an Amiga 1000 :oops:

Otherwise a fair question. I think a lot of work would be needed to emulate the required Amiga hardware, so not something that would be undertaken lightly.
LOL.... My bad.... too annoyed/upset to post properly.... :roll:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by EvilFranky »

Wongk - Good to see others sharing the same opinion. For some reason I thought I was going to get slated but I believe my points are valid.
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by nativ »

I wouldn't turn down an a500/600/1200 emulator on the Falcon :mrgreen:
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2001
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by Cyprian »

BlankVector wrote:EmuTOS is now able to run on Amiga hardware, and run clean TOS programs.
See the announce and CVS snapshot there:
http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/mess ... d=29447948]
wow, great job Vincent.
what about porting EmuTOS to modern Amiga clones like Pegasos?
It would be cool to see MiNT over EmuTOS on 1.0 GHz Pegasos2
Mega ST 1 / 7800 / Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net / AT Speed C16
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5254
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by simonsunnyboy »

EvilFranky wrote:...
I'd much rather see EmuTOS continued to try and be a fully legitimate replacement for Atari TOS with added features but 100% compatible.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
I can only up this statement. This is the only serious way for EmuTSO to go, unless they are happy with being a simple BIOS to bootstrap MiNT. The latter is surely a very useful feat in itself but having a bugfree and all compatible singletasking TOS would be really useful.

I could even imagine putting a bugfree and fully compatible EmuTOS into ROM chips.

Back on topic, it is a technical feat to show it runs on the Amiga but basically it has no point. Amiga users ALWAYS bashed TOS and claimed their Kickstart/Workbench whatever was so much better. Those who don't feel this way, already will have an Atari ST beside their Amigas, and those still on that ancient trail, won't bother.

Nice as technical demo but without a true use case.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2496
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by christos »

It could be useful for amiga emulators, if it can be made compatible enough so as to boot amiga games.
BlankVector
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:52 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by BlankVector »

EvilFranky wrote:Sorry I don't understand the reasons behind this. What is the point exactly?
The point is doing something obscene, to shock the purists. Removing Amiga's brain to put Atari stuff inside. Just because that's cool. Call me Dr. Frankenstein :twisted:
Frank B wrote:I'd guess it's about making Emutos truly portable. :)
Seriously, yes. EmuTOS has become very portable. It could now run on any 680x0 or ColdFire computer, provided there is enough RAM.
EvilFranky wrote:I'd much rather see EmuTOS continued to try and be a fully legitimate replacement for Atari TOS with added features but 100% compatible.
This happens every day. Porting EmuTOS to other machines brought old hidden bugs to the sunlight, and were fixed. So EmuTOS is more clean and stable than ever. Don't worry, Amiga support is only a tiny part of EmuTOS. Future improvements will be a benefit for all platforms.
EvilFranky wrote:Could the time not have been better spent adding compatibility improvements or adding a missing feature?
I spent some time to patch EmuTOS so it works on non-Atari hardware, such as ColdFire evaluation boards when the FireBee was not yet available. As described above, this was the opportunity to fix old hidden bugs. Then it took me 1 week of evening work to learn Amiga hardware programming from scratch, and to add support in EmuTOS. So don't worry, there was not so much time wasted (and I reserve myself the right to do what I want in my hobby time).
MrMaddog wrote:Running Amiga games from a proper ST desktop...the best of both worlds! :mrgreen:
As a ROM replacement, EmuTOS for Amiga really kicks out any AmigaOS component, so the Amiga games can't work anymore.
Bur don't worry, you can run monochrome GEM Atari games :)
wongck wrote:So why does the Amiga developer not make their OS and apps work on Atari ST ?
They should :D
Cyprian wrote:what about porting EmuTOS to modern Amiga clones like Pegasos?
Currently, EmuTOS only runs on 680x0/ColdFire processors. The Pegasos board uses a PowerPC CPU, it can't work.
simonsunnyboy wrote:having a bugfree and all compatible singletasking TOS would be really useful.

I could even imagine putting a bugfree and fully compatible EmuTOS into ROM chips.
This is the ultimate EmuTOS goal. To be a viable replacement for Atari TOS, and even better. EmuTOS is Free Software, feel free to join the team and help to progress towards that goal.
simonsunnyboy wrote:Nice as technical demo but without a true use case.
Yes. But that doesn't matter :mrgreen:
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook. Latest video: Manipulate horizontal lines in assembly language on Atari ST.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: EmuTOS on Amiga

Post by wongck »

BlankVector wrote:
Cyprian wrote:what about porting EmuTOS to modern Amiga clones like Pegasos?
Currently, EmuTOS only runs on 680x0/ColdFire processors. The Pegasos board uses a PowerPC CPU, it can't work.
Is that not a recompile ? Sorry for the lack of knowledge between m68k/CF/PPC CPU.
Wouldn't it be good to have it running on a 1GHz machine, and then emulate the missing hardware by some niffy software ?
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Post Reply

Return to “News & Announcements”