new Nova drivers

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

fenarinarsa
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:23 pm

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by fenarinarsa »

Dbug wrote: Thu Oct 14, 2021 12:16 pm Ok, then I guess I'll try that, because on the MSTe I don't have much free memory out of the 4 megs of ST ram when I have the 1024x768 screen activated and a few desk accessories :)
I guess you could maybe declare the unused part of the video RAM as Alt-RAM... But it's quite slow :)
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2334
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Cyprian »

Dbug wrote: Thu Oct 14, 2021 12:16 pm Ok, then I guess I'll try that, because on the MSTe I don't have much free memory out of the 4 megs of ST ram when I have the 1024x768 screen activated and a few desk accessories :)
Does it mean the screen RAM is reserved in the ST RAM instead of ET4000 RAM?
Mega ST 1 / 7800 / Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
DDD HDD / AT Speed C16 / TF536 / SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.atari.org
User avatar
Dbug
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 8:42 pm
Location: Oslo (Norway)
Contact:

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Dbug »

Cyprian wrote: Fri Oct 15, 2021 5:48 am
Dbug wrote: Thu Oct 14, 2021 12:16 pm Ok, then I guess I'll try that, because on the MSTe I don't have much free memory out of the 4 megs of ST ram when I have the 1024x768 screen activated and a few desk accessories :)
Does it mean the screen RAM is reserved in the ST RAM instead of ET4000 RAM?
That's been my experience with both the Nova with Idek drivers and before that with the Spektrum card with the original Whilem drivers.

Easy to test: Just boot with and without the card, and check how much free ST Ram you have.

I'm actually wondering why the MonSTer card is declaring the 6 additional megs as ALT RAM instead of just standard ST RAM and change memtop to make a single 10 MB linear block of memory, that would be much more useful since this ALT RAM is not any faster than the standard ram (maybe the shifter/blitter can't access it?)
czietz
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1707
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by czietz »

Dbug wrote: Fri Oct 15, 2021 5:59 am I'm actually wondering why the MonSTer card is declaring the 6 additional megs as ALT RAM instead of just standard ST RAM and change memtop to make a single 10 MB linear block of memory
Because that's technically impossible. ST-RAM by definition has to be usable by Shifter and DMA - and, therefore, needs to be managed by the MCU (GSTMCU in the STe). Only by designing a custom MCU replacement (like the Wevelsiep RAM expansion did for the ST) you can have more than 4 MB ST-RAM.

But note that this discussion is very offtopic in this thread. Please open a new thread if you want to continue.
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2139
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by frank.lukas »

Dbug wrote: Thu Oct 14, 2021 12:16 pm Ok, then I guess I'll try that, because on the MSTe I don't have much free memory out of the 4 megs of ST ram when I have the 1024x768 screen activated and a few desk accessories :)
When you have a MonSTer and 10MB of Ram there is no problem.

I have also 10MB Ram with a MagnumSTE and have with Lightning VME driver, Zcontrol (CPX), TwiLight, SnapShot and NVDI5 with the Nova driver (1024x768-256) my MSTE has 3,7MB ST Ram and 4MB Alternate Ram free. All TT Ram Flags are set.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
Idek Tramielski
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:25 pm

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Idek Tramielski »

New Falcon ET4000T8 version based on V3.01 (English MENU_E.PRG and English VMG.PRG included)
Last edited by Idek Tramielski on Sat Oct 16, 2021 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Bikerbob
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Bikerbob »

frank.lukas wrote: Fri Oct 15, 2021 10:58 am
Dbug wrote: Thu Oct 14, 2021 12:16 pm Ok, then I guess I'll try that, because on the MSTe I don't have much free memory out of the 4 megs of ST ram when I have the 1024x768 screen activated and a few desk accessories :)
When you have a MonSTer and 10MB of Ram there is no problem.

I have also 10MB Ram with a MagnumSTE and have with Lightning VME driver, Zcontrol (CPX), TwiLight, SnapShot and NVDI5 with the Nova driver (1024x768-256) my MSTE has 3,7MB ST Ram and 4MB Alternate Ram free. All TT Ram Flags are set.
You the man frank... I love how you have so many configurations all maxed out!! :) love it!!
User avatar
Bikerbob
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Bikerbob »

Idek Tramielski wrote: Sat Oct 16, 2021 12:49 pm New Falcon ET4000T8 version based on V3.01 (English MENU_E.PRG and English VMG.PRG included
Thanks Idek, will there be anything new for ET4000 for ST? I will have one I can run on a Panther. I am hoping with a PAK/FRAK combo.. but I have yet to get these all working together.
I also have my Mach32 2mb working well in my TT030. So for either of those if you need testing I am available.

James
User avatar
Dbug
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 8:42 pm
Location: Oslo (Norway)
Contact:

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Dbug »

Ok, so I finally tried the new package (the one compiled October 14 with version "NOVA Mach32/MSTE V1.38 installed" message, and it works up to the point it reaches the desktop, start drawing some icons and then bombs out.

I experimented, kept the new emulator/menu part, but reverted to the previous version of STA_VDI.BIB/PRG and the machine booted ok with all the graphic stuff, color icons, clocky, alt-ram, etc...
User avatar
Idek Tramielski
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:25 pm

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Idek Tramielski »

Dbug wrote: Sun Oct 17, 2021 11:09 am Ok, so I finally tried the new package (the one compiled October 14 with version "NOVA Mach32/MSTE V1.38 installed" message, and it works up to the point it reaches the desktop, start drawing some icons and then bombs out.

I experimented, kept the new emulator/menu part, but reverted to the previous version of STA_VDI.BIB/PRG and the machine booted ok with all the graphic stuff, color icons, clocky, alt-ram, etc...
I am unable to replicate your problem on either of my MegaSTEs. :shrug:
- Does it work with a clean boot (no other programs, drivers or accs)?
- What version of STA_VDI does work? Maybe you can upload or link to your working version.
User avatar
Dbug
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 8:42 pm
Location: Oslo (Norway)
Contact:

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Dbug »

I suggest we assume it's my machine which is faulty, so before going farther, I'm going to wait for the new parts I've ordered, and when the PSU recap and new low power CPU is installed I will try again, because it looks like things go wrong, then I let the machine cool down and it works fine for a while, then it randomly crashes again until next time.
User avatar
Idek Tramielski
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:25 pm

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Idek Tramielski »

New Falcon Mach64 version based on V3.01 (English MENU_E.PRG and English VMG.PRG included)
User avatar
Idek Tramielski
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:25 pm

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Idek Tramielski »

New MENU_E.PRG in the Tools section. Displays selected mode when timer (3s) or (5s) is used.
New Falcon ET4000 drivers. Redirect to ATARI screen is now working when selected in MENU. - restriction: 16 color modes not working
New Falcon Mach64 driver. Redirect to ATARI screen is now working when selected in MENU.
I am also working on a first release of a Falcon Mach32 driver. Anybody interested in testing?
Last edited by Idek Tramielski on Mon Oct 25, 2021 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1462
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Rustynutt »

I'll set up to test the MACH64 on an Afterburner shortly.
Have ET cards, think a few are on your list.
Bit foggy, doesn't the GAL have to be swapped out to use those? Have a file to burn somewhere I'd thought. Been a while...
Thanks!
User avatar
Idek Tramielski
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:25 pm

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Idek Tramielski »

Rustynutt wrote: Sun Oct 24, 2021 6:21 pm I'll set up to test the MACH64 on an Afterburner shortly.
Have ET cards, think a few are on your list.
Bit foggy, doesn't the GAL have to be swapped out to use those? Have a file to burn somewhere I'd thought. Been a while...
Thanks!
No need to change the GAL. M64 and ET4K use the same GAL.
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1462
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Rustynutt »

Idek Tramielski wrote: Sun Oct 24, 2021 6:37 pm
Rustynutt wrote: Sun Oct 24, 2021 6:21 pm I'll set up to test the MACH64 on an Afterburner shortly.
Have ET cards, think a few are on your list.
Bit foggy, doesn't the GAL have to be swapped out to use those? Have a file to burn somewhere I'd thought. Been a while...
Thanks!
No need to change the GAL. M64 and ET4K use the same GAL.
Thanks!
User avatar
Idek Tramielski
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:25 pm

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Idek Tramielski »

In 1995 Computerinsel released the ATI Mach64 NOVA card for the Falcon030.
24 years later in 2019, I released my first Falcon030 driver for Tseng ET4000 NOVA cards.
:megaphone:
And now in 2021, I've added a Falcon030 driver for the ATI Mach32. I hope there will actually be somebody out there who can make use of it. :lol:

As always, my thanks go to Frank Lukas (frank.lukas) who created the new cards and has been very helpful as my trusty beta tester. :thumbs:
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1462
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Rustynutt »

1995 sounds right. Bought MACH64 from Nima :)
Last used was around 2002.
Last night have the Afterburner up and stable (44/22MHz). Clocked the NOVA at this speed before. Disabling the VIDEL always helps too :)

Have good examples of the working MACH on CD from then. Excited about the ET4000 driver though. One of the ET cards simultaneously outputs SVHS, have to check the DAC, think it matched a supported card.

Thanks again :)
User avatar
Idek Tramielski
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:25 pm

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Idek Tramielski »

Rustynutt wrote: Mon Oct 25, 2021 7:16 pm .... disabling the VIDEL always helps too :)
I remember that this helped a lot when I owned the Afterburner. How is it done? Has anybody information on how to disable the Videl?
User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 375
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by AdamK »

Videl can't be disabled. What You can do is to set it to lowest possible graphics mode.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]
User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by dhedberg »

You can turn off the vertical and horizontal sync, this will more or less turn the Videl off.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org.
Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo It's that time of the year again, or click here to feel the JOY.
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1462
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Rustynutt »

Idek Tramielski wrote: Mon Oct 25, 2021 7:32 pm
Rustynutt wrote: Mon Oct 25, 2021 7:16 pm .... disabling the VIDEL always helps too :)
I remember that this helped a lot when I owned the Afterburner. How is it done? Has anybody information on how to disable the Videl?
In Doug's AB Tool kit is an option to turn it off. There's also a TSR called Turbo Blanker that can be used from regular TOS, effectively shutting down the VIDEL during process heavy calculations. Forget if it looks for mouse/KB interrupt to wake it back up.

Realize your looking for programming data :)
Have a TK source file. It's Greek to me, but maybe something you could pick out.
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1462
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Rustynutt »

Been a while.
Do I actually need to install a 4MB ST RAM card, or will only 4MB be utilized in a 14MB card?
User avatar
Idek Tramielski
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:25 pm

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Idek Tramielski »

Rustynutt wrote: Mon Oct 25, 2021 10:53 pm Been a while.
Do I actually need to install a 4MB ST RAM card, or will only 4MB be utilized in a 14MB card?
You'll need a 4MB ST RAM card.
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1462
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: new Nova drivers

Post by Rustynutt »

Ok, no problem.

Need to set the main board into a case bottom. It's strung all over from testing. The NOVA is a lot of cable to pull around.
I ask Frank about special adapter board for NOVA, to fit the card parallel with main board and stock power supply removed, but it's complicated.

Give me a bit :)
Post Reply

Return to “News & Announcements”