How to revive a nearly dead falcon ?

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
yungjoon
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:15 am
Location: France

How to revive a nearly dead falcon ?

Post by yungjoon »

My falcon is nearly dead. Yellow_Colorz_PDT_41

I tried everything I could after having read posts and posts on different forums. The only thing I can't do is electronic repair.

Originally it was a CT63 config but I set it to stock config. I get a white screen, no boot with/without disk (floppy, ide, scsi), even with a new nvram.

Is there someone who is able to repair a falcon in this world ?

If not, I am afraid that a CT63 will be on sale, Bye bye cubase audio 060... Yellow_Colorz_PDT_37
User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: How to revive a nearly dead falcon ?

Post by exxos »

yungjoon wrote:My falcon is nearly dead. Yellow_Colorz_PDT_41

I tried everything I could after having read posts and posts on different forums. The only thing I can't do is electronic repair.

Originally it was a CT63 config but I set it to stock config. I get a white screen, no boot with/without disk (floppy, ide, scsi), even with a new nvram.

Is there someone who is able to repair a falcon in this world ?

If not, I am afraid that a CT63 will be on sale, Bye bye cubase audio 060... Yellow_Colorz_PDT_37
Are you coverclocking it ? most people claim 72-75mhz with the rev1 CPU. I never got it stable past 66mhz.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator
User avatar
paul92706
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1471
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:28 am
Location: Orange, CA

Re: How to revive a nearly dead falcon ?

Post by paul92706 »

I am guilty of having same problem :lol: There are shortkeys you must apply at power on, they are Control or Alternate keys before Atari Logo at power on. Press and hold Control or Alternate before Atari Logo and at good moment, took me a few hours :oops:
Atari Falcon CT60/CTPCI 14MB+ 512mb ATI9250 + NetUSBee
Atari Falcon030 CF 4gb + NetUSBee+ 14MB Ram
Atari TT030 2meg STRAM/16meg TTRAM + Nova Adaptor +Maxtor SCSI HD + DaynaPort Pocket SCSI
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4199
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: How to revive a nearly dead falcon ?

Post by Dal »

When you removed the ct63, did you place the jumper back on the bus connector nearest the front of the machine? The jumper location is marked with a white box around the two pins concerned.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
yungjoon
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:15 am
Location: France

Re: How to revive a nearly dead falcon ?

Post by yungjoon »

Damn! I forgot the jumper... Yellow_Hot_Colorz_PDT_01

Thanks DAL !

- I set it and my stock falcon rebooted again !

- I replugged the CT board, 030 mode was ok, but I got a wrong resolution (15KHz, black screen...) on my VGA screen.

- I tried several restarts, switch on/off, reset,... no success

- I believed I let my hand on space bar before switching it on and the CT boot mode appeared again ! YES (explanation?).

Now, I still have some problems:

- crash after TT memory test (need to try other memory modules)

- ACE midi freeze after loading (DSP issue ? How can I test the DSP? I already performed the pre-boot tests and it was ok)

I don't think the falcon is stable. I must do some tests to be sure (nvram status?).

Thanks for all your replies.
Post Reply

Return to “Professionals”