Falcon Video Upgrades

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
KLund1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 516
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by KLund1 »

Just wondering about what upgrades are possible and fairly easy to do on a standard falcon, with a 14mb ram upgrade, and CF HD.
I've read that an ATI 9200 can be added, but it seems to only be with a CT60. Is that true? Basically I'm just looking for more screen real-estate. But I still want to be able to run games, after I'm done with applications. If so what is the parts list needed (specifically), and where to get.
Also I've seem a video that shows a small PSU in a falcon. psx? Which model is best, and is there a link in here as to how to make it fit, and hook it up properly?
Many thanks as always!!
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by nativ »

The screen real estate increases as you upgrade the processor I am given to understand to a degree at least. There were aftermarket expanders that changed or allowed further changes to the frequency like Blow UP. I am not sure however if these differ greatly from the Videlity software. the Falcons video chip is programmable as standard it's just we are fixed via GEM to standard resolutions.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2805
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by alexh »

KLund1 wrote:I've read that an ATI 9200 can be added, but it seems to only be with a CT60. Is that true?
Yes it is true. It is also true that the new SuperVidel is CT60 only too.
Basically I'm just looking for more screen real-estate.
I don't think you'll get a hardware solution. There was something called the Screenblaster 2 & Hard 2 which overclocked the Videl but I don't think you'll want to use it?

You should investigate software solutions. Such as CentScreen or Videlity
Also I've seem a video that shows a small PSU in a falcon. psx?
?? I think you're talking about a "PicoPSU". You should know that it moves the PSU outside the falcon to a laptop like PSU. Unless you're getting a CT60 or you're having trouble with your existing PSU then I wouldn't bother.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by DarkLord »

Hmm, thought the Pico was plenty small enough to fit inside a stock Falcon case.

I know one will certainly fit inside a STacy with ease...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1949
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by Cyprian »

KLund1 wrote:Just wondering about what upgrades are possible and fairly easy to do on a standard falcon, with a 14mb ram upgrade, and CF HD.
I've read that an ATI 9200 can be added, but it seems to only be with a CT60. Is that true? Basically I'm just looking for more screen real-estate. But I still want to be able to run games, after I'm done with applications. If so what is the parts list needed (specifically), and where to get.
Also I've seem a video that shows a small PSU in a falcon. psx? Which model is best, and is there a link in here as to how to make it fit, and hook it up properly?
Many thanks as always!!
you can add a PCI card to a stock Falcon without CT60 -
http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/files/eclipse.pdf
Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/
rpineau
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:39 am
Location: California / USA
Contact:

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by rpineau »

I have an Eclipse on my Falcon. It works well but it's no longer available so unless you find one on eBay this is no longer an option.
Regards, Rodolphe
Falcon + AB040 + Eclipse PCI + ATI Rage VGA card + NE2000 Ethernec + HxC Floppy Emulator
MegaSTE 4MB + CosmosEx / 1040 STF for hardware dev
http://www.rti-zone.org/atari.php
KLund1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 516
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by KLund1 »

alexh wrote: You should investigate software solutions. Such as CentScreen or Videlity
Any links or additional info on these? If I could get higher screen res though software, that might be a least trouble.
DarkLord wrote:Hmm, thought the Pico was plenty small enough to fit inside a stock Falcon case.
I think that was what they were talking about in the video, but it was in German. What do you use in your upgraded Falcon(s)?
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by nativ »

just googled videlty and came up with this http://atari.nvg.org/pixelclock/pixelclock.html D.I.Y. "Screenblaster (tm)"

might be of interest
Last edited by nativ on Sat Aug 10, 2013 10:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
Fenix
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:01 pm

Re: Sv: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by Fenix »

The Blowup for the falcon is pretty clunky with its power coming from the joystick port. I never really bothered to use mine

Skickat från min GT-I9300 via Tapatalk 2
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: Sv: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by nativ »

Fenix wrote:The Blowup for the falcon is pretty clunky with its power coming from the joystick port. I never really bothered to use mine

Skickat från min GT-I9300 via Tapatalk 2

I had the blow up Hard II with the joy port connector. I was able to get 1024*768 in mono/4/16 color on a multisync monitor ( VGA ) to use with Papyrus and cubase, probably at least 800*600 in 256, plenty of custom large desktops in RGB as well. It worked even better on the POWER UP2 upgraded Falcon
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by Omikronman »

An Atari is different to a PC. If you change parts of your Atari, the graphics unit maybe, the Atari does not automatically become better. Most Atari software will not benefit from these new hardware. Don´t expect anything from games.
KLund1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 516
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by KLund1 »

Omikronman wrote:An Atari is different to a PC. If you change parts of your Atari, the graphics unit maybe, the Atari does not automatically become better. Most Atari software will not benefit from these new hardware. Don´t expect anything from games.
Thanks. I was looking to get better resolution on the desktop for icons and such with more detail. As well as higher res, in color, for applications. I would revert to standard res for any games I would play after.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by DarkLord »

KLund1 wrote: I think that was what they were talking about in the video, but it was in German. What do you use in your upgraded Falcon(s)?
I've got mine in a Wizztronics rack case, and since I've got a CT60, as well as an 80gig IDE hard drive + Liteon CDRW, all internal, I'm using the ATX power supply.

I had recased mine before I ever heard of the PICO or I might have been tempted to keep it all in its original case. Oh well.

I've seen a couple of threads where users have replaced their internal P/S's on an ST, and I had the original P/S on my STacy
replaced with one too (for a while). I'm assuming a bit here but it doesn't seem like much of a leap to think that if the PICO
will work in an ST and a STacy that it wouldn't fit into a Falcon.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1014
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by shoggoth »

There is a hack which connects like a 50MHz (your choice) crystal oscillator to the EXT clock input on the VIDEL. Then you can use Videlity or Centscreen (I used the latter) to get some nice screen resolutions.

I even had a stable 1024x768 non interlaced on my machine at 49Hz, which looked entirely stable on my TFT screen (the low freq doesn't matter on the TFT, I had no flickering). This took some work though, and unless you accellerate your bus you'd be stuck at 4bpp (but naturally you could do 8bpp in lower resolutions like 800x608 etc).

This was the solution I was using prior to the SuperVidel and it served me well. It's compatible and everything works good. Naturally it's not very fast but I'm not bothered by it, I don't need fast graphics, I need a good coding environment (which usually requires a bigger screen mode).
Ain't no space like PeP-space.
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2805
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by alexh »

DarkLord wrote:Hmm, thought the Pico was plenty small enough to fit inside a stock Falcon case. I know one will certainly fit inside a STacy with ease...
The actual ATX end will fit inside easily. But it doesn't take 110v/220v AC!! You need an external 240v AC to 12V 8 Amp DC adapter.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by DarkLord »

Ah, now I see the point you were making. Thanks for clearing it up.

Still, using a PICO you would wind up with the extra room inside,
probably allowing you to add all the custom hardware, and having
a small power "brick" outside.

Or, decide that the small "brick" was too much but not be able
to add all the cool stuff internally to your stock Falcon case.

Hmm. :)

PS Of course, recasing the whole thing would take care of all
of these problems, but you'd lose the original case, which some
people want to keep.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by wongck »

DarkLord wrote:Still, using a PICO you would wind up with the extra room inside,
probably allowing you to add all the custom hardware, and having
a small power "brick" outside.
Yeap, IIRC, I saw on a website that the person had a 1-slot CTPCI and placed the video card inside the Falcon case.
One nest package. That guy also had a DOM SSD on it.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by rian_ata »

I think you mean (one of) the admin(s) of atari-home.de: http://blog.atari-home.de/2009/09/ctpci ... he-falcon/
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Falcon Video Upgrades

Post by wongck »

yeah, that's him.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Post Reply

Return to “Professionals”