Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], moondog/.tSCc., lp, Moderator Team

Locked
Starteck2002
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:24 am

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Starteck2002 »

Hi Simbo,

Any chance of a recap post so we don't have to read through 300 posts to get fragments of info.

First off, what is it, do we need it and how much does it cost?

Pre-order is £20.00 with a balance payable of ??, when is this balance likely to be wanted by you?

When are we likely to recieve the board? Anything else needed to go with it?

I am very interested but found it very hard to follow this thread.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

mod remove
Last edited by Guest on Sat May 31, 2014 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

Sorry man its the nature of a topic to be a bit fragmented;

..Anyway now just for you, :coffe:

The magnum TT board expands the TT ram of the TT030 to as much as 256MB
{not supplied ps2 server ram 128MB fast page or edo but 5v i/o 5v supply}, i use a pair of edo 5v i/o i found on ebay

Then you can do things like load tos to fast ram or programs or everything once its booted.
good for mint users etc ram is always useful esp fast ram... you can loadup more like a unix does


The pre order cost is £20 upfront per unit the final cost I think will be £55 inc post/package too you
so the balance will be a further £35. This just helped me buy things ..

The status is I am waiting for simm sockets 100 from jemeco ordered about 10 days ago from the states
and 50 pcb's from germany they will take a further 10 days manufacture time or so + some postage lag.

Then I can start to build the first batch of 25, This will take just a few days to build and test,
as i have a helper we will build in batches of 5 each per day as time allows between work and wains.

The preorder people will get there boards first as one day will see 10 boards made and sent.
I expect to have the first 25 ready in around 15-20 days time.
Yes I know its a little later than I imagined it would be;
but i had several issues I needed to resolve with the correct parts and find the upfront costs mostly myself. {about £1500 in total}
I have all the parts now in one place except the simm sockets and pcb,
And also time was needed to program the mach210.

The second batch of 25 will be placed on ebay @ £60..to cover ebay costs my end.
Group orders are welcome perhaps if a group was to take 10 I would give 5% discount on the total.
if you fancy making your own i can supply it as a kit !!!
here also is the final production design files im using
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 72#p248472
cadcam to 1000dpi and 600dpi bmp files for all layers {proteus has an issues with saving 60/40thou pin holes in the bmp so i removed the bmp from the archive}
together with the proteus vsm design files if you fancy adjusting it etc ,,


Any more info needed just ask :cheers: i will supply an updated pdf of whats needed to use it {instructions}
the rule is it must be 5v i/o and 5v supply edo or fast page is fine 60ns
or 50ns 5v 5v i/o rare printer ram {ibm} sometimes uses this config for edo 72 pin
Last edited by Guest on Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:35 pm, edited 11 times in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

the simm sockets just arrived :D metal tab type unlike the older magnums with plastic tabs
if people have an issue with there magnum has bad socket simm retain tabs
or any bad fix tabs then i can replace the sockets with metal tabs simm sockets
chew them off carefully remove the pins clean the holes fix new sockets {try to help the hades madusa guys etc... esp ttowner}
or send the pcb to me and i will change the sockets for post each way cost + a small fee

so just the 50 pcb's to arrive and its build time :angel:
well it seems i managed to get $202 worth of stuff tax free from the US no usual letter from the po and pay online??????
im keen too know others results in the uk ill scan and post the shipping note??
usually i pay a fee to the p/o about £8 and then tax 8% cost of goods
for some reason i didnt
im dumb feiked if i know.. why???

anyway a wee snap of the units arrived and in place for the great battle of solder up hill
forgot the 50 plcc sockets in the snap
for them i need a fine straw from can sprays
to cut into a 1" lenght and use it to true the pins

if you need to true pins on a say mcu or mpu pga etc... then use a plastic straw from a spray can :coffe:
avoids static damage :angel:
always wear an earthing band on your right wrist too earth... ...before you handle ic's {never the left}
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

wont be long now :coffe: still waiting now around 10 days for the main batch of boards
as i changed the pin holes to 40thou instead of 30thou as its a bit tight at 30thou,,,
here is the unpopulated remade board next to the populated older one
nice process nickel gold
and very precise from germany...
best by miles and £600 cheaper than the cheapest uk maker i could find
looks a little bigger but its only 0.5cm wider optical illusion
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Guest on Mon Jun 09, 2014 7:12 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1114
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by qq1975b »

:thumbs: looks nice!!
Trying to learn...
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

a little news
so the proto board threw up a few probs with the simm socket layout in proteus not exact they do fit but ill trim the pads to exact
and i need to move everything above the simm sockets up by .2mm too allow some pads to be exact with the simm sockets i got from jameco
as they are slightly different foot print to the pdf i use to make the ares layout part {eeeh normal!!! standard 72 pin simm i made in 2001}
then the design is better fit for kits . and to build in batches
and also thinking of what frank lukas says...

i note that i can leave the pins above the magnum TTRAM Plug ie not cut them off
and you can fit a plug above to them once soldered
i tried a female plug {homo socket are handy.... eek}
i have and the continuity is good 6mm pokes up and if carefully soldered this is preserved
you can see this on the picture above
:roll: possible good idea?
so... you can add say TT RAM socket IDE ports {very fast access i hear!!!} or other to the direct MPU mmu controlled port
fortunately i have not yet placed the final order
so... this weekend just need to program some otp batch then adjust the design till im happy
proteus vsm does not come with a simm socket layout in ares {pcb app} so i had to make it
and proteus isnt good at exact sizes to the mm its ok in thou but not in metric

i work so finding times when im not bushed from hard work is hard

so limited to the weekend in the fair weather months is hard

so bier with me
Last edited by Guest on Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

ooooooo fek

the 72pin sockets metal tabs etc i use normally are ~.5 1mm width plastics smaller than the ones from jameco

fek fek grrrrr.r.r.rr.r.rr

anyway ill work around the extra plastic to there outline

:megaphone: eeeeekkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk :megaphone:

perhaps its better to order 200 a different size

ill use up the others anyway.....

omg !!!

still every dark cloud has a silver lining and the TTRAM socket fits like a glove even in the 60/30 thou holes {older revision a page back}
i had to make this part also in ares ill put an atari section on my site for libs for proteus

type vsmlibs to google
Last edited by Guest on Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:31 am, edited 2 times in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

TBH its been one of these weeks for me !! :twisted:

so .. :lol: and then :contract: resolve :coffe:

so... you can all see the problem {easy to fix}

thank the big man i got a 120 euro proto first and took a few steps back
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

built up board

tomorrow dawns and few hours of work on the pcb to get it back in shape

so ill test this also tomorrow and report

but its built ,,, so,, time will tell :P
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2016
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by frank.lukas »

nice …

… make a little notice on atari-home.de

When ready post the ebay Link !
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1114
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by qq1975b »

Which kind of memory modules should I look for? 72 PIN FPM simm? EDO is possible? 60ns? 64Mb module maximum?

thanks.
Trying to learn...
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2016
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by frank.lukas »

Take a Look at the Manual -> http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/

Two 128MB (256MB) EDO or FPM is the max !
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1114
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by qq1975b »

wasn't there Simbo's comments about that is not possible 256MB and 128 was the max?

5V and 3.3V seems to work...but 3.3V may cause problems...
Trying to learn...
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2016
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by frank.lukas »

double post
Last edited by frank.lukas on Sun Jun 15, 2014 8:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2016
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by frank.lukas »

… my Card with total 256MB -> http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 00#p242615
qq1975b wrote:3.3V
?

The PS/2 Ram is 5 Volt only ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

magnum TT is burst mode fpm or edo dram by default...

5v i/o and 5v chips supply edo or fpm only no 3.3v ... only edo {fpm is all 5v older 72 pin}
unless mixed mode types and 5v supply and i/o as the magnum uses and a chips on the simms should tolerate
look at the ic's on the simm's download there data sheet if its 5v supply and i/o and they are 8*8 etc symmetrical cool
if they are like 128MB and have 16 per side this is a good start...

the speed can be 70 or 60 ns if you use 70 ns dram fpm etc better for older rev a-c or and use an added wait state with rev a-c and d-k
edo or 60ns remove the wait state you should with rev c be able to remove the added 1 wait state and run at zero
look for symmetric 32* 32 or 16* 16 or 32* 16 or 64* 8 etc banks like 8*8 or even 8*16
suck it and see jumper 1 on or off what is smooth ....
or face bottle necks 70ns max for older rev a-c 32mhz with a daughterboard use 60ns or 50ns ibm sticks later rev d-k can take 50 or 60 ns ram older rev a-c stick to 70ns

128mb ps2 printer ram is the bigger mostly around the ebay.com and .hk ibm laser printer 72pin edo 5v ram
so the prep for test of design a pair of 16MB simms and a pair of edo 60ns 5vi/o 128mb from my board from an old ibm laser printer...
you get them in old apples also
so i trimmed off the pins cleaned off the flux etc
my pal andy is arriving tomorrow with a mmu for another breed for other machines matters and chips to make it work again after a fail
so ill wind up a test tomorrow lets hope it works this board
im guessing it will as england lost we will win!!! light a trail
in the simm and all pins it does ill wait till andy arrives then test it in my TT
so .. :cry: it will work...
just pissin me off a bit so many parts and size etc issues could be worse...
why max out get a stable pair of 32's or 64's they are more over and work
just mint'ys need the exra ram....£
why burn ram when you dont need the space
just the like 128 as two 64 is enough ...!!! :coffe: easy to find all day for low $ 128 pairs are like $$$
if this design works from schematic of the 1998 design till remake on a four layer board now
well im happy for sure

up late waiting for tomorrow... :contract:

wait state display and test set app {prg} or acc etc please programmers
read the mcu ctrl register and display the set bits ability to set and reset jam toggle the bits of the mcu ctrl register
from an acc etc...
and ram readout in real money as a .acc not the default to 99.999mb on boot...

flash result the cart reads this
it would be nice to have some real stuff instead of a test cart that spits the dummy on any TT just about
and shows an mcu bit never set error in red
ive only got one pair of hands
the layout in ram rom in for someone to spend ten mins and write a small routines in c couplers then an acc to tag to the resident laces...
memscan atari . prg etc.... display all ram rom
test block using a lookup table acc or prg { code it please no need to scan just block ident }

the guys that made the TT didnt tie it up well...

so you can use like 70ns 128 mb 72 pin 5v i/o and chips supply{look at the chips numbers use goggle for pdf}
but add a wait state... on rev d-k {solder on 68030 as we know....}
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Guest on Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:19 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

well after testing jumping up and down a bit cursing general bad amplified monday... etc

i got it working turned out i forgot to connect pin 22 of the MACH210 to the vcc net {again another ic i had to makeup in proteus isis {ohhh i know}
{but not well enough}
once connected then success with 2X16mb and 2x128MB

yipeee!!!!!

and a great relief been at it for 4 hrs checking schemos etc
before i thought about the vcc net of the mach210 chip :roll:

the give away was to me
although it said nothing about TTRAM ie ram no ram
if i adjusted the wait state jumper the TT took longer to run {just noticeable }
so one half of the core was running so it only had one vcc supply pin ... ie half the core wasny powered

anyway ill adjust the simm socket and move the Mach210 up a bit etc then repost the design files a few pages back
and post it off to the maker for 50!!!!!
nice 1 :cheers: :coffe: :mrgreen: !!!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Guest on Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:21 pm, edited 4 times in total.
jok
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:06 pm

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by jok »

that's great news! thanks for the update.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

looks like its all go
many thanks to the crew...
10-20 days pcb time

working tested and posting... out
tonight ill work too finalize the pcbs
tomorrow ill place the order for 50

now the pcb is proofed and works then 20 days time we are singing
ill get a 10 day service so 10 working days + any lag and + 5-6 days shipping or less {ill splash out and get DHL 3 days}

this is why i spent 100 euros on a proto 1 off board....
im not perfect,,, and had too remake a 4 layer pcb from a schemo {aok} and a lame pcb tool {a great tool but take a bit a perfection}
look up vsmlibs in google
ill add an atari + interfaces own ic section ive made lots off the customs ones {and some dll models if others want too code up in sim's}
it costs about 500 euros for 50 boards
but i didnt want too add a link or a wire of a cap
on the wrong side of the road

perfect is the only way... afterall its peoples machines they take pride in at stake :contract:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

im so very happy it works now....
words cant say
its been a bad week or two at home with other things
Last edited by Guest on Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 72#p248472

final final final

finished and done

posted off and ordered {when i wake up}
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

was 20 euros short in the bank however i will make an upfront payment and ask them too invoice any afterburn

i also asked them for any overrun boards ... i think they will prob do a sheet of 64 boards
they are about 1/3rd the price
so perhaps there will be 16 spares
always handy.. as i have plenty of extra vme sockets now
i also have 5 spare mach210 ic's i think two are flashed with magnum ST code... if anyone needs one???
perhaps with a duff controller on there magnum???
User avatar
firyembers
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 1:23 pm
Location: Cardiff.Having a party...Wales

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by firyembers »

Hi Simbo

I will have two of those mach210 from you if they suit the board you will be selling,fancy making a board using your drawings etc.
That is if you do not mind me doing.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

no probs i can provide a kit of bits you can solder up inc a pcb
the proto pcb cost 100 euros to make a 1 off where 50 costs 500 euros
ive ordered the pcb X50 and any over run
so perhaps ill have spares
so you want two programmed mach210 no probs
pm me your details and ill send you two

grahame took me a bit to twig...
you already prepaid for two
prepaid members list
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 50#p248211

do you want a kit instead??? or say one made up and one kit
Locked

Return to “Professionals”