Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], moondog/.tSCc., lp, Moderator Team

Locked
User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by tenox »

Uhm just wanted to help. I honestly don't care if my board is £2 more because the part came from RS. I will actually pay £5 to get it faster, than to look where to get a connector for less.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

tenox wrote:Uhm just wanted to help. I honestly don't care if my board is £2 more because the part came from RS. I will actually pay £5 to get it faster, than to look where to get a connector for less.

sorry man
ive just done this many times
and its nice of you but its not the money they simply dont supply them anymore
dont stop helping...!!!

the connector is a male 32bit vme connector 3 rows of 32 pins
i cant find it on google for sale

i havent checked out the usa yet...
also needs to be pcb mount and not right angled
by now it will be hard to find other than small supplies of new old stock esp in the uk or europe
and in some shed in middle england or essex bull electrical or some dump stock buyers
perhaps someone can ask bradly koda if he has stocks
he never answers email to me if he does not have them himself im sure he will know where to get them
pakman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by pakman »

simbo2 wrote: .. as ill use all smd resistors caps and 74 chips rest thru hole
Are you going to redesign the layout?
User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by tenox »

simbo2 wrote: and its nice of you but its not the money they simply dont supply them anymore
dont stop helping...!!!

the connector is a male 32bit vme connector 3 rows of 32 pins
i cant find it on google for sale

i havent checked out the usa yet...
also needs to be pcb mount and not right angled
by now it will be hard to find other than small supplies of new old stock esp in the uk or europe
and in some shed in middle england or essex bull electrical or some dump stock buyers
perhaps someone can ask bradly koda if he has stocks
he never answers email to me if he does not have them himself im sure he will know where to get them
If you tell me exactly what you want, with part numbers, pictures I may be able to find them in USA. I have a very large warehouse close up with very large selection and also pulled electronics components. They have everything but I need to know what to look for.
User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by tenox »

Can you check this?

http://www.digikey.com/product-search/e ... A10699X-ND

Specifically the data sheet and drawings.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

thanks man but your not helping just replying is no help as the real message doesnt get out
i need vme type 32 bit connectors
three rows of 32 pins
vme is a bus standard like pci
unless you can guarantee you know where 50 bigod fecking 32bitr VMFUCKING E CONNECTORS {im not a parrot} are arsing at????
then please [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_04.gif]
dont replay
then more people will see i need them and non helpful :contract: ideas dont help
where to get them does

your in the right place

so stump up looking around you

try atari best he is 5lts aways from you gas wise
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

their exists a ide port for the TT made in 2006-2009 using three gals

doing both on one board is possible with a study and rework sessions
will take few brains working on their own areas

but its quite easy

however two signals are needed by the ide board not on the TTram connector

so.. some dual port stuff to align with alanh is needed

if someone is working on this left me know
and i wont waist my time with new magnum tt

you can have many GB as TTram
and sodimm is the way
jok
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:06 pm

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by jok »

DIN 41612 Connectors 96 POS TYPE R MALE SOLDER PIN (without angle):

http://de.mouser.com/ProductDetail/CONE ... m9Cw%3d%3d

Maybe the link is bound to my session, the part id is "706-121A10569X" in their catalogue, vendor is Conec.
User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by tenox »

Best Electronics:

Q. Do you have male VME bus connectors by any chance?

A. Yes, our Atari inventory computer shows we have the Atari TT/MegaSTE vertical mount VME male connectors in stock. But if you want any, we will need plenty of advance notice before you pick them up. They are on a large pallet of Atari TT parts in our other Atari warehouse and will take a few days to locate them.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

tenox wrote:Best Electronics:

Q. Do you have male VME bus connectors by any chance?

A. Yes, our Atari inventory computer shows we have the Atari TT/MegaSTE vertical mount VME male connectors in stock. But if you want any, we will need plenty of advance notice before you pick them up. They are on a large pallet of Atari TT parts in our other Atari warehouse and will take a few days to locate them.

well if you can get a bag of 100 i would get them ill take 50

right angled ones are i suppose useful too someone wanting to make a vme graphics card rerun
i find him hard to deal with

but perhaps it will unlock more TT parts from this pallet im intrigued to know what stuff is locked up in warehouse 2????
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

jok wrote:DIN 41612 Connectors 96 POS TYPE R MALE SOLDER PIN (without angle):

http://de.mouser.com/ProductDetail/CONE ... m9Cw%3d%3d

Maybe the link is bound to my session, the part id is "706-121A10569X" in their catalogue, vendor is Conec.
£3.32 is a 25 off price 100 is a little less 30p each so i guess 100 is 29x quid + tax and postage so a round 280 is about what it would cost
if best can provide them cheaper than £3.32 X50 + 20% tax and postage then i can deal with him

sounds good

cheers

3,54 € 354,00 € + free shipping
£293.24 for 100 connectors


eh no! too much
i want them for 1.5$ ea or less
pakman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by pakman »

simbo2 wrote: 3,54 € 354,00 € + free shipping
£293.24 for 100 connectors

eh no! too much
i want them for 1.5$ ea or less
Try this:
http://www.reichelt.de/Messer-Federl-DI ... =ML-R+96G4
1.60€
pakman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by pakman »

simbo2 wrote: you can have many GB as TTram
and sodimm is the way
Which SODIMM do you recommend?
I would like to have a look into the data sheet..
User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by tenox »

Best Electronics price: "96 pin gold plated vertical mount VME Male connectors are U$D 1.49 each in 50 QTYs"

I will take shipment to UK on me.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

$100 is a nice price and will buy you a beer or two

paypal on tuesday

give bradly my regards
and tell him im sorry

but only once you have the connectors in your hand :lol:
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

the design i am thinking of has three parts {chips}
cpld talks to the atari for control
fpga talks to both and outside and acts as an address decoder {memory address encoder} much as the mach 210 does
pata sata ports ic {fpga} talks to ide ...and...
dedicated sdcard controller
so 3 ics
multifunction fpga {broken out extra ios and all signals to a micro din socket}
cpld the talker and negociation should be flashable from the fpga
some jumpers to set active ports {ie pata or sata per port mode}
perhaps software controlled and flashable
ill look at jookies and his designs and code as well as alanh for ideas and help
so.... pawas aff
i claim this project as mine to make happen
so fekin many times i made something only to find it published
i still need to ask some people for permission to use there work
and if other members feel they have the time to add then this is also cool
perhaps adding foundations for a usb interface over ide and hddriver is a better idea as a usb open port
most sdcard dedicated chips will work using usb pata or sata and have i/os for it so pata sata from the machine and pc to usb to the card
so a forth chip can be a usb hub controller {ide lan etc and a stack}
perhaps alex can help??? usual usb id preset stack
i know the problem is too use usb legally you need to have an id
and it costs about 300$ per dev id and they can grant you Licence or not
and or some dedicated block set aside for other stuff
i want to add at least 4 redundant blocks of rom ram and signals
for more addins
to future proof it for others
User avatar
firyembers
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 1:23 pm
Location: Cardiff.Having a party...Wales

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by firyembers »

Put me down for one of the TT Ram 256mb TT030 boards if still going or simmering..

I found the vme connector 96 pin male right angle here.And had a couple of samples.

http://www.erni.com/products/show/finde ... 34e53622ed

The product code it was.
Projectname: Vme Graphics
End of Sample Evaluation:: 2009-07-30
Part # | Literature | Samples | Quote
533202 | 0 | 2 | 0
2.54 mm DIN 41612 / IEC 60603-2 Connectors » Right Angle Male Connectors: Type C

But seems not to be on Erni.com anymore??

But found it here and 20 in stock apparently,prices unknown likely to same as Dollar price in sterling or Euros..

http://www.jacarem.co.uk/Connectors/din ... connectors
User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by tenox »

simbo2 wrote:$100 is a nice price and will buy you a beer or two

paypal on tuesday

give bradly my regards
and tell him im sorry

but only once you have the connectors in your hand :lol:
:megaphone: Ordered!
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

nice one
all i need is the connectors and the rest i can do in a few days
the advanced board welll
perhaps ill just make a run of 25 magnums and keep 25 connectors for the advanced version later this year
its a plan
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=26088

as in another place jookie has announced this project

i will just make 30 magnum TT mach210 boards or perhaps more
ill start to lay it out tonight and measure up etc make parts or find dxf
the original layout art is lost

if you want one send pm to me with required number

i guess if i get 25 orders ill make 50 and sell the rest on ebay or something perhaps send 5 or 10 to 16/32 on sale or return
perhaps sell some to best and make piece with bradly
User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1114
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by qq1975b »

simbo2 wrote: i will just make 30 magnum TT mach210 boards or perhaps more
ill start to lay it out tonight and measure up etc make parts or find dxf
the original layout art is lost

if you want one send pm to me with required number
Hi Sim,
You mean Magnum TT Ram cards with no add-ons, right? up to 250MB?
Trying to learn...
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

yes standard 256MB mach210 just a remade version ill use smd etc as needed


schematic phase 1 completed

layout phase 2 started

2day tidy phase not started
Last edited by Guest on Fri Feb 21, 2014 1:03 pm, edited 4 times in total.
pakman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by pakman »

simbo2 wrote: schematic phase 1 completed
Found one error in your schematic:
MACH210 Pin38 "Row" must be connected to U1,U2,U3 Pin1 "A/B"
simbo2 wrote: mach210 just a remade version
Could you consider using a Lattice M4A5 64/32 alternatively?
http://www.reichelt.de/GALs-PALs/M4A5-6 ... 2F32-10+JC
This is a 5V part as well and has almost the same pin layout as the MACH210
I dont know which one is better in terms of cost and availability
But the M4A5 is in circuit programmable (via PC printer port, just cable and SW needed)!
Would make life much easier for future updates..
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

dont see the point to change the chip makes a major headache and much work rework and using of flash ports
for 50 -100 units max { i cant get more than 50 boards otherwise ill pay heep }
its not worth the extra work its hardly a 4000 unit + rollout not manY TT left
for instance i have 9 board to repair {3 mostly done and booting to frame} and three working board and one complete TT here
so the fail rate i think is quite high esp the mcu ram and funnels
for very little gain to get more than 256MB you need to row encode another address line to maddres 11 4X 256 = one more address
and you need to use a dimm or a sodimm and this is madness or 4 simms or 8 !!! eek
people with more ram need to work on a ultra fast swap file on the vme bus with more ram you can address quite a bit of space
perhaps a ram disk array some sort of stripped memory mapped to stripped media
prob slow it down more than speed it up
dont think most tt users other than the big guys with unix etc systems who will always need more ram
so... esp as it wont solve the 3.3v 5v ram issues only level shifters will all 32 bit address and 32bit data and support ic and supply and mach 210 replacement

so basically make a new design yourself go for it

no
the design is as is and works tried and tested with 5v ps2 ram easy to find mostly lots still around

thanks this is the input i need if i make a mistake this is normal
usually ill find it
too be honest i noticed it and choose to update it later

however its done

the board is mostly routed now ill carry on tomorrow im blasted
been at the schematics parts etc since morning and im tired
i started the schematics at 11.30 and till now... already most of the way through the layout phase
so well on schedule

this is why i supply the proteus design files
if you feel you want to do some work
download a haha version of proteus v7.1 sp0 springs to mind then add your own re-work as all the parts are there and easily changed
its a cheep price 50 quid if you find you need the extra this and that a newer design will provide
after jookies project announcement im not keen now to do other than these two project im making
falcon memory and tt magnum


my advice is to add vme ram if you dont have a video card perhaps someone can make one or a video card
then at least your TT will switch to wait state 0 you need at least 1MB ram on the vme bus
dont beleve me see the cart setup docs on devdocs without 1MB vme ram or video ram the machine will never reach wait state 0
i get the exact same wait state 0 never set red screen from the cart on any TT i test rev d-k
because you need a 1MB vme card in the test setup...
pakman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by pakman »

simbo2 wrote: no
...
to change the chip makes a major headache and much work rework and using of flash ports
Just one request:
Would you please consider to connect following 3 pins of the PLCC socket from the bottom side of the PCB: Pins 10, 32 and 35
(For pins 10 and 32 this is the same as in the original layout. The only difference would be pin 35, which was originally connected from the top side)
Thanks
Locked

Return to “Professionals”