Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Locked
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

pakman wrote:
simbo2 wrote: no
...
to change the chip makes a major headache and much work rework and using of flash ports
Just one request:
Would you please consider to connect following 3 pins of the PLCC socket from the bottom side of the PCB: Pins 10, 32 and 35
(For pins 10 and 32 this is the same as in the original layout. The only difference would be pin 35, which was originally connected from the top side)
Thanks
dont see why they are just signals ?????
can you explain why i should :coffe:
pakman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:22 pm
Location: Hildesheim, Germany

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by pakman »

simbo2 wrote: dont see why they are just signals ?????
can you explain why i should :coffe:
Modifications needed for the MagnumTT PCB to run with a M4A5:
- cut the wires to pins 10, 32 and 35 (signals A28, PD1_0, CLK16) to free the JTAG pins
- reconnect those signals to pins 9, 15 and 11 respectively (all NC before)
- connect a 4k7 pull up resistor to pin 32 (JTAG TMS)
- done!

Cutting those lines on a fully assembled board is much easier when located at the bottom side..
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

if you wish to make your own pcb the way that you want it
fine this is why i provided the design files also
i am conforming to the original design and a custom 1 off pcb VERY nice gold plated etc costs about 20 euros to fab
in my view and many others including the original maker this is not needed
why complicate it
if you want to program the ic just unplug it
if you want to use another ic just plug it in you can add your resistor etc
i can give you an original board to play with if you like
i am not in anyway going to mod the design or code
just because one person want to use a serial program jtag
have you never heard of a diode or two
then you dont need to move the i/os at all
this cant be done using the original mach210 anyway

i just dont see the point sorry a mach 210 is just 4 16v8 cores in sync or async depends what core you clock
above all the original design is correct but very wrong and the pins ....i/os etc are not set correctly in hierarchy anyway

just like about 50% of cpld designs ive seen or modded this includes the satandisk bridge
the method most programmer use is does it route better no well ill just move the i/os
so without completely redesigning it from the ground up then yes to use sodimm yes to use 1 or 2GB {easy} yes very nice
its just daft and too much work for zero gain except more ram thats really not needed
asking other TT users
they are biting my hand off for this

again code will need massive alteration its burst mode by default anyway you can use EDO so where will we all fine 'nibble mode FPM' ?>???
as i said i could see the point if i had to make 4000 but a run of 50 boards is plenty
perhaps you want to make the run of 50 boards instead
and spend your time and cash
say 2-3 months to make it again work
perhaps like the original makers did blow up your TT a few times while your at it ???
i know because i repaired them
dont get me wrong its nice to add this and that but why??? what is the advantage???
all TT's without 1MB ram added to the vme port atleast wont achieve fully 0 wait states on all bus
perhaps you should make a vme memory card many people without a vme graphics
{its only the video ram thats handy on these anyway as the TT does VGA and ecl to vga etc}
so wtf use is a video card when you can park some dram there instead or also


can you explain to me ??? where is the added this and that????
if you make a good case ill mod it
but you must make the new chip code work FIRST!!!
ill just take this round wheel and make it square then i can round it and make a smaller wheel ????
Last edited by Guest on Mon Feb 17, 2014 6:21 am, edited 8 times in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

i did think about all scenarios and look at what jookie is doing now and decided to make a tried and tested design again and use a known available ic

for 50 boards ??? or perhaps 100 max i just dont need the added grief :roll:
or to blow peoples machines up
the only reason im making the design from schematics again is the original scooter design dies on a hdd when the guy blew up his TT
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

looking at the NC pins what you propose wont work
as you will be moving i/os to different cores and processes anyway
so this is not possible even with the ic you mentioned
also jtag ics are 3.3v i/os mostly and will fry the TT address and data bus
how do you propose to solve this issue???



i have looked at all possible issues and decided to make this only
as i said the design files are there

i have finished routing the pcb ill tidy phase it and get ready to fab 50 board once i get the connectors from my new pal in the u/s
{who is getting a free one}
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Haha my Scottish friend...are you up very very late or up very very early? :lol:
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

both
trouble sleeping getting old
and gray esp when some person makes life harder
why ?? because they want to use a different ic
oh man been there not doling it
spending time doing some admin on my machines defrag etc reg cleans

a stiff doobe and im off for a kip till much later tomorrow
the falcon ram boards cadcam is sent off for 50 so few days and ill start to fab them up

ive got a worker to solder stuff also ill pay her some dosh
so cut the production time down
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

ok ive come up with a solution or two
i can add a jumper for external vcc supply just to the ic
ill add four pads to the pins you need
flash method is take out the ram take off the board change the jumper add the jtag port and flash it
then plug it back in
is this ok or do you need realtime flash ability???
tell me quick i want to finish this and put it to bed
so i can order all pcb i need at once after the samples arrive etc
signals A28, PD1_0, CLK16 are inputs to the ic and can just have a diode added like 1n4148
so 4 pads and 4 smd hi speed switching {pin diodes spring to mind http://www.avagotech.com/docs/5965-8666E}
one jumper for vcc or a diode as the typical cpld will work well below vcc around 2/3rds level for flashing
or now its realtime ill add the pads below the chip then you can hot flash it if needed
what type of socket do you want the pads for and can you give me a dxf file for the socket format
will save me some time there are a few for jtag
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

checked over the schematic and found quite a few issues
and reworked all
this i the exact circuit now
but i have removed unneeded signals on the main connector that go nowhere

ill now finish to route it more and set up the best placement of stuff
Last edited by Guest on Sat Feb 22, 2014 12:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
firyembers
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 1:23 pm
Location: Cardiff.Having a party...Wales

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by firyembers »

Hi Simbo2

Some vmc male pcb mounted plugs here if of interest..not $1.5 but available if you not sorted your supply from states

eBay

181234059869

How you doing for 72 pin simm sockets..

Some here eBay

291084735503

Tad expensive but available is the main.

Mach 210 here eBay

360378750284

I expect you seen these anyway,but at least can buy,of course 50 off a time add costs to finish price.

Hope it of help..
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

ok

ive moved a few rules

the smd pad for plcc is now thru hole
i got 100 plcc sockets for 5 euros so that puts pay to that
ive change a few parts back to the original design
except the jumpers i replaced this with a dil 5 X switch 4 detects and wait 1 or 0
i also added a resistor so its not a three pin jumper for waitstate adjust
this frees up space as no matter what i did i cant get the smd pad to route better than 2 tracks conflict
im trying not to resize the board and make it a bit more friendly less jumpers and a few switches instead
and ive found a source of 33R and or 22r 4 way 8pin sil {res packs non common for less.... ) so getting there

STILL not sure what socket too add for flash {hint to pakman}
keen to help but man as i said make the code work send it too me ill flash my card and mod it as needed and use my jtag
and once tested ill mod the pcb now
slows me down
:coffe:


ok mods done res packs dil chips and thru dils and plcc socket
perhaps it will route better now
becoming a pain this layout
Last edited by Guest on Thu Feb 27, 2014 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

well i found an important issue
it depends on the pin dia of the plugs i got from best
if they are amp they are 20th or 30th so need to wait till they arrive

so halted till then
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

erase
Last edited by Guest on Mon Mar 03, 2014 2:37 pm, edited 5 times in total.
jok
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:06 pm

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by jok »

Hi Sim, that is great news that although your retirement you still want to finish the TT Mem Boards. Thanks a lot! Best, Jo
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4202
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Dal »

As this is likely the last ever run of Magnum TT boards, please put me down for one please Sim.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

i found a source of mach210 for 50 ics for about 40 quid in total
so atleast i can get the chips moving order placed
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

Dal wrote:As this is likely the last ever run of Magnum TT boards, please put me down for one please Sim.
if fifty go and i have more orders ill do another small run to fit people in
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

COSTINGS + LINKS
see foot
still too get
still to get the pcb * 50
recon it will be perhaps as much as £10 a board now i need to use multilayer
PAYED FOR A 1 OFF BOARD TO CONFIRM DESIGN
arrived ive populated it and it works
========================================================================================
ARRIVED programmed fees payed its all good nice labels etc ...

payed for 60 mach210s -10j {fast speed } and sent direct to germany
will forward the fee next tuesday as im too skint
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MACH210A-10JC ... 53e83f554c
50 X mach210 -10 = make offer available but 50 for less than a £1 each is aok there will be a programming charge of 50 euros and postage back from Germany also to add
so E50 + E20 = E70 programming fee
£31.80 chips cost £55 fees
total £82 quid for 50 mach 210
ended up getting 60 mach210s in case of failed chips so was a round 200 inc fees and postage
they are nice 100ns ones though!!
so i send now all the fees to wolfram for postage any costs and a few pints for him etc
£90 fees
this is ok and i know he does a dam good job!!!

===========================================================================
--------
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/320667805803
10uf 50v electrolytic caps X 100 http://www.mainline-group.com/
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/320667805803
done and dusted
but so far slow to arrive !!
done ARRIVED
-------- done arrived ... nice company ive used in the past 30 years if i remember they are great for RF power transistors and ok for 300 100nf caps for a few quid
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/390119774398
100nf decoupling caps 5 per board so i got 300
i had on a roll somewhere guys its lost
cheep enough

DONE : payed £126 quid in total super if you dont ask for a discount you wont get one !!!
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LOT-of-10x-ID ... 1c2156b066
150 TTL mux chips make offer available i need to find these cheaper for sure !!!! 220 is too much i want to pay less than 50p each
£220 far too much we need 150 ic's ive offered £100 for 150 ics lets see...???
ARRIVED but only after i forked out 40 quid on a customs charge
not recommended to buy from israel the actual tax was 21 quid
i can cope with this
but parcel force charges another 13.50 to 'handle ' it
isnt this there job they are and have already been payed too do??? :contract:
terrible ill complain to my mp next time they beg me for a vote... :evil:
it better arrive tomorrow 26th or else ill take my frustration out on some of there accepts ...!
now i know why the guy was keen too discount the order
still saved about a 10er on the expected cost
and i cant find this ic listed in many places so i suppose its ok :?
--------
ordered ARRIVED

....PAYED... from jemeco 100 off for 221$
100 simm sockets

yet too arrive
no sign of the other simms socket i marked as arrived
but never did
anyway reordered now
--------------------------------
changed type..... DONE ORDERED : ARRIVED
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/100pcs-2-54MM ... 2310207feb
jumpers 3X100 =
same guy £12
**********************************************
DONE.... ordered + ARRIVED
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4606X-101-102 ... 56462bfc42
50 res pack 5X1K +common =
£15.85 {too much!!!!} find me them for a 5 er ?? someone
**********************************************
PAYED £16.99 for 50 + ARRIVED
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/50pcs-PLCC44- ... 2563ab4e3c
50 plcc sockets total
£16.99
**********************************************
PAYED £25.20 + ARRIVED
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4-Isolated-Re ... 4d071ddaae
200 res pack 4res 33R =
£16.80
100 res pack 4res 22R =
£8.40
***************************
payed $done + ARRIVED
VME connectors kindly sent over from the states the cost was $100 inc shipping
£60
***************************
payed £14.40 + ARRIVED
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/10-x-40-Pin-S ... 43c5aa5556
pin strips
5X 10 pcs
£14.40
got the wrong type however in some ways better just need different jumpers
****************************

i ask for £20 a unit as a pre-order and i can keep a running list this will let me get the bits and etc

the target date for filling the initial block of orders will be mid to end march
as soon as i get in enough to cover the pcbs ill get all the rest { this is covered now }

the final price will i suppose be around £45 inc postage or a round 50 and 5 going to the board funds

i can also just supply the kit of bits if you fancy some solder time
as soon as i gather enough to start to cover as much as i can ill add to it myself
the actual connectors are already payed for and have arrived here and many more than i need !!!

here is my paypal details vsmlibs@talktalk.net
ill then post to the list
Last edited by Guest on Sun Jun 01, 2014 8:06 pm, edited 42 times in total.
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4202
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Dal »

Let's try and get things moving rather than wait for 'enough' pre-orders. PM sent.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
User avatar
tenox
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:52 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Contact:

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by tenox »

I've indicated a good few times before that I'm happy to pre-pay to help the cause.

The VME plugs are making their way to Scotland BTW.
Guest

pre orders list of orders and unitation

Post by Guest »

qq1975b Ok, thanks. I have just payed the pre-order of 2 TT Magnum cards
2 unit prepaid = £40

1st
1 unit prepaid = £20

firyembers
2 units prepaid =£40

jok
2 units prepaid =£40 and sent a 10er postage now adds the balance so its all done £100 total for two {cheers and its handy!!!}

DAL
X1 = £50
.....
{ DONE
from this ill order the bits for at least two 50 off's needed from the above list
the pcb as is has far too many via
the original has one or two so ill rip it up and do it right
paying prepay is better and allows me to put orders for stuff needed to make 50 boards atleast
most from the states too get a decent price even with added postage}


/////////////////////
all bits got post orders to board members
you dont need to pay upfront as i have all the bits now

Bumzyman orders 4 boards @ £55 in postage


8 pre order boards sold + 1 to texan for hi efforts
4 boards from bumzyman
1 proto board so 14 bagged

so....
36 boards available now
Last edited by Guest on Mon Aug 04, 2014 8:26 pm, edited 9 times in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

wonder if i can send the mach210 too be programmed to frank lukas pal again

done ....
Last edited by Guest on Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:00 am, edited 4 times in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

tenox wrote:I've indicated a good few times before that I'm happy to pre-pay to help the cause.
you get a free board :angel:
thanks so much for organizing the plugs!!! :coffe:
Last edited by Guest on Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

LOL :) its a two layer board {4 foils}

there is a vcc and ground net on layers 2 and 3
this makes it more complex
Last edited by Guest on Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Guest

Re: Magnum TTRAM 256MB boards for the TT 030

Post by Guest »

bumper issue all parts
4 layer rework finished
i meticulously checked this from all readings on the actual board !!! now took me a few days to complete the chart
i never trust a schematic perhaps not up to date
so im mostly 99.9%
but there is room for errors
so if someone can check over and see any probs let us know i just need someone to say thats a good job and ill be happy
now a few days to tidy any bad tracking {done} and ill send off to germany for a production test board
{tomorrow morning wake up early and place the order for 1 board}

excuse the missing few 3ds models with the drawing but you get the idea

had to use 1 via oh well original board had one in the same place wondered why now i know
anyway this is hopefully error free and is routed fine to go could spend the next 6 months justifying it
so ill post it off and get a board in four or 5 days time for testing

ordered now most sundry stuff as above
so far 2 members have payed a pre-order fee as above info
hopefully a few more will 44 boards left

this will ease the pressure on my ever more emaciated wallet

only ttl chips and pcb is the big outset costs
Last edited by Guest on Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:40 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Locked

Return to “Professionals”