Port of a game - Barrage

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Port of a game - Barrage

Post by jury »

Inspired by Eero's post here:
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 25#p344303
Barrage was ported.
It definitely needs CT6x and works at around 20 frames per second, so its quite playable. I have only tested it through Super Videl, but I'm pretty sure it will work without it ( just did not want to take it off as its not a 5 seconds job ;) )
But if anyone will report that it doesnt work without SV, than I will take it off and see whats going on.
And TOS is more than recommended, under MiNT it starts and plays, but strange things happen, which I do not understand ( at least yet :) )

Edit:
Regarding mikro's remark, I attach the source code and all the original files ( as a separate archive )
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by jury on Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Port of simple game - Barrage

Post by mikro »

Congratulations. :) Two remarks:

1. There's no need to physically remove the SV, SV_XBIOS.PRG -> SV_XBIOS.PRX is more than enough.

2. Don't forget to publish source code with all the build scripts (ideally setup a github repository), you know, GPL and stuff.
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2182
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Port of a game - Barrage

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Thanks! I tested this in Hatari:

Code: Select all

hatari  --memsize 14 --tos etos512k.img --machine falcon --dsp none --cpuclock 32 --cpu-exact off --fpu 68882 ./barrage.prg
It doesn't seem to matter what CPU is used (030/040/060) and it doesn't require MMU or cycle exact emulation, but FPU is needed.

For emulation speed, it's best to disable cycle-exact (i.e. cache) emulation and especially DSP emulation as those aren't needed.

Game fitting into 14MB was a bit surprising for a port of a Linux desktop game. :-)

It doesn't run at usable speed on emulated Falcon (even with 32Mhz CPU), but running at all is enough to be able to profile it with Hatari debugger/profiler and to trace OS calls.
Post Reply

Return to “Games”