Mega drive joypads?

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Mega drive joypads?

Post by christos »

Hi, (again(:))
I remember reading sth about connecting a sega joypad to the st (falcon is implied). I took a look at my brother's megadrive pad. Guess what. It's 9 pin female. After connecting it (difficulty) two things happened. 1. The mouse wouldn't move. 2. Only the firebutton of the pad would work. Should it work or not?

Thanks in advance

User avatar
moondog/.tSCc.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2002 10:00 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by moondog/.tSCc. »

i doubt it will work without any modifications... remember, also simple joysticks needed often a switch to connect them to st or amiga or wont run at all on a special machine...

greetings, eric
Undercover Magascene - observing the Atari scene since 1993

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Sega Joypads DO work!

Post by MacFalcon »

Hello,

I use a sega (master system) Joypad with my sts and falcons for a long time and it works without any problems, also the mouse is still working allright ;-)

But in fact you can only use 1 of the Firebuttons... I thinks with a megadrive or genesis joypad it should behave as above!

I am talking for the normal joystick port, not the jagpads ones, maybe theres a special way to use more buttons there, as the sega md pad had 3 fire buttons as the jag did.

Btw, I always have trouble when I connect atari joystick from the 2600 and 7800 series... while using them, my keyboard is dizzy... strange, isn´t it?

Cheers,

Chris
-------
MacFalcon
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

Post Reply

Return to “Games”