Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

All about games on the Falcon, TT & clones

Moderators: Mug UK, [ProToS], lp, moondog/.tSCc., Moderator Team

Post Reply
nemodhs
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:29 pm

Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by nemodhs »

Hey there,

while spending some time with my Falcon today I gave Crown of Creation another go (after literally decades). And I noticed that I had version 1.4 installed. Which is probably of interest to some, given that only version 1.3 is floating around the net at the moment?

But then I also noticed something curious about the protection. I had a pilot file right after mission 8 and when I continued it, CoC duly asked me for disk 3. But after passing this check, well, that was it. It kept asking for the manual but there were no more disk checks. Even after reset/reload or when playing through the missions with a new pilot.

First I thought it may just be rather random, when CoC checks for the disk and when it doesn't. But then I noticed, that one of the original files (MKN.COC) had an odd new date (odd because my NVRAM/RTC is no longer working and produces fantasy numbers). So I grabbed a backup of the file and copied it in its place. And sure enough CoC asked for the disk again. And once I passed the check, the MKN.COC had a new date and the disk requests were gone.

Now, there may still be more about this. It may yet be a fluke. But it works reliably for me. So I thought I share it for you to try.

The archive contains the modified MKN.COC (after the disk check) and the original MKN.COC (renamed to MKN.COX).

And at the very least some of you can grab the latest 1.4 version (which should be the final release). :)

Cheers,
nemo

P.S.: I also included two old pilot files of mine. One after mission 8 and one after mission 20 (for those who just want to watch the end sequence).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4365
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by Marcer »

Thanks


So there was the disk checksum :)
All these years and finally u solvied. Cheers
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by mikro »

https://web.archive.org/web/20010306004 ... /E_UPD.HTM mentions 1.4A as the latest. :)

So the archives are a copy of your hard disk folder? (I'm a bit confused why they are split to two :-))

nemodhs
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by nemodhs »

@marcer: well only if the game indeed "deprotected" itself. Did you try it on your Falcon?

@mikro: Yeah, it's a copy of my hard disk folder. Had to split it in two as the attachment was apparently too big. But the contents of both zips should be in the same folder. :) Can't remember how I got the update. So there is still one more update to go from 1.4 apparently. Or it just displays 1.4 instead of 1.4A?

User avatar
derkom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:29 pm

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by derkom »

Maybe 1.4A fixes the protection code. :lol:

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by MacFalcon »

Hi there,

I installed your files and it still will ask for disk 3 if you use the Level 8 saved game...

Maybe that's because date of Copy is newer than date of "protection File"...

But thanks for 1.4 anyway ;)

Cheers,

Chris
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by MacFalcon »

Even changing date didn't help. Will ask for the disk after you select "engage" to start mission8.

To be clear: I used the Archive as you provided, not renamed Cox to coc.
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

nemodhs
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by nemodhs »

Ah okay. I already thought that it can't be that simple. :)

It's still interesting how CoC decided to no longer ask for the disk on my system.
Maybe it put a reminder for itself some place else?

nemodhs
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by nemodhs »

Ok, just checked it again today. No request for a disk.

Could my f*#cked up NVRAM/RTC have anything to do with it?

User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by MacFalcon »

No idea... It doesn't ask you for the disk If you start Level 8? That's really strange then... On my Falcon it does... Didn't ask for it when try to start Level 20...
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!

nemodhs
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by nemodhs »

Nope, it doesn't. Only when I replace MKN.COC with the old unmodified version.

Would be great if someone with a Falcon with empty NVRAM battery could check the archive. :)

nemodhs
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by nemodhs »

Or something went wrong when I moved the files from the Falcon to my Mac. Will check that when I'm back home.

nemodhs
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by nemodhs »

nemodhs wrote:Or something went wrong when I moved the files from the Falcon to my Mac. Will check that when I'm back home.
Nope, took the archives I shared and copied the files back to the Falcon and I still don't get a disk request. :shrug:

User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4365
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden

Re: Crown of Creation 1.4 (and other findings)

Post by Marcer »

maybe it took some HW adresses from just your falcon. which it detects. then works flawless. kind of copylock a la falcon protection?
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_

Post Reply

Return to “Games”