Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

GFA, ASM, STOS, ...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by masteries »

This is the definitive Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE
-Using Atari Game Tools, almost all the game is programmed using C language

Features:


-Complementary Dithering colour, aprox. 70 colors on screen; requires more than 40 frames per second. As emulator, Steem in the recommended one, and activet Vsync


-652 KB of digital sampled audio, 3 voices mixed at 12.5 KHz
Music is also based on sampled audio loops at same frequency


-Around 3 MB of graphics data


-50 frames per second gameplay, few slowdowns


-Hardware requirements: Atari STE @ 8 MHz CPU + a hard disk device


[youtube=]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gyRBcTnn-5M[/youtube]




Download:




https://www.gp32spain.com/foros/attachm ... 1626102535


Enjoy it!
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
AnachronyX
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:33 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by AnachronyX »

Unbelievable 8O 8O This is stunning work :cheers:
EzdineG
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:14 am

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by EzdineG »

Amazing! Thank you!
User avatar
chlu600
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:32 am

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by chlu600 »

Thank you for this release. 🥳
You have done an incredible work.
Such efforts gives hopefully dml (author of ATG) energy to continue the development of ATG :thumbs: :D

It gives the whole Atari community good vibes :thumbs: :thumbs:
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2533
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Eero Tamminen »

I've tried this in Hatari, but the program does not react either to keyboard, joystick in port 0 or 1, or joypad in port A or B.

Same thing both with EmuTOS and TOS v1.62, and whether mslug.prg is started from AUTO or desktop.

How one is supposed to control it?
Gnu
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 2:37 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Gnu »

8O 8O 8O WOW 8O 8O 8O
Don't believe everything that is true.
User avatar
Richard
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 3:47 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Richard »

W A S D for movement, M big jump, N fire, B grenade

seems to work on a real STE
User avatar
chlu600
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:32 am

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by chlu600 »

Hi,
I hear several users with problems starting the prg.

Starting from harddisk in GEM gives a frozen and black screen after generating all sprites etc. Same result with Auto folder. Problem verified by several users.

Do you have a clue?
User avatar
Fatberg
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 10:06 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Fatberg »

Excellent work and a great port of a great game!! Plays well on my 4mb STE, using pp hd driver.
Atari 4mb 1040STe+ Ultrasatan+ Goex; Atari 520 stfm; Greaseweasle F7 plus
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by neanderthal »

Richard wrote: Mon Jul 12, 2021 6:55 pm W A S D for movement, M big jump, N fire, B grenade

seems to work on a real STE
Yea about that,how did you load it, tried on my STE but just end up with a black screen after some preload of sprites or something
? Or are you using some weird modern gotek stylish big pseudo drive?..I mean a 3 megger dont fit onto a normal floppy ;)
I moved the main program from AUTO to main directory,it starts and loads some stuff.Then just sits there.

TOS 1.62 on 4megs.Pretty much just AHDI loaded into memory.

edit,A bit lazy just now so didnt check in debugger or anything.
masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by masteries »

neanderthal wrote: Mon Jul 12, 2021 8:35 pm
Richard wrote: Mon Jul 12, 2021 6:55 pm W A S D for movement, M big jump, N fire, B grenade

seems to work on a real STE
Yea about that,how did you load it, tried on my STE but just end up with a black screen after some preload of sprites or something
? Or are you using some weird modern gotek stylish big pseudo drive?..I mean a 3 megger dont fit onto a normal floppy ;)
I moved the main program from AUTO to main directory,it starts and loads some stuff.Then just sits there.

TOS 1.62 on 4megs.Pretty much just AHDI loaded into memory.

edit,A bit lazy just now so didnt check in debugger or anything.
Tested on TOS 1.06 and TOS 1.62
Using my manufactured hard disk unit and Peter Putnik driver.

As well, designed to be loaded from AUTO folder, without any other thing into memory (despite P. Putnik hard disk driver). All is ok in described way,

This is the price of Neo Geo quality, you need almost all available RAM, and very well optimized drivers such P. Putnik one.
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
uko
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 6:45 pm
Location: France

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by uko »

Amazing work ! Congrats !
If only we've had such STE games at the old times ;)
David aka Uko, from T.AL
Take a look at our last STe demo ! The Star Wars Demo and to its "making of"
https://github.com/Uko-TAL
MM41
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: France

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by MM41 »

Muchas gracias Masteries :cheers:
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2533
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Works fine with EmuTOS.

Last things the game says before level starts are:

Code: Select all

creating world...
assigning world map...
assigning world tiles...
assigning buffer 3 world tileset...
assigning buffer 2 world tileset...
assigning buffer 1 world tileset...
assigning buffer 0 world tileset...
If there's only 2MB ram, it stops much earlier while loading assets, and with 1MB it does not even start loading the assets after pressing space. So the issue could be memory use even with 4MB RAM. Try to strip all the extra memory usage out (no ACCs, no desktop etc) before starting it.

The game / level is a great achievement, but as game it is *really hard*... It's good that there are infinite lives. :-)

I guess level end is with the machine that shoots light balls, as that scene is somewhat broken. Jumping to top right from top right platform drops player below screen. And the machine can get broken so that it does not anymore shoot those balls, but it does not take any damage from player either.
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by neanderthal »

masteries wrote: Mon Jul 12, 2021 9:04 pm

Tested on TOS 1.06 and TOS 1.62
Using my manufactured hard disk unit and Peter Putnik driver.

As well, designed to be loaded from AUTO folder, without any other thing into memory (despite P. Putnik hard disk driver). All is ok in described way,

This is the price of Neo Geo quality, you need almost all available RAM, and very well optimized drivers such P. Putnik one.
Since you put it that way,loaded the stuff into debugger and it runs into div zero at $68444 and when searched a bit memory there is just zeros after $e0630,,ie non used memory until usual memtop of course,plenty of space even with driver and debugger loaded.
And reading some more into what folks are noticing, maybe 4megs is something to handle?
After all its just to load into what free ram is available,maybe a hickup in memory handling code?
darwinmac
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:49 pm
Location: San Jose, USA

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by darwinmac »

When using Hatari and AHDI5, I had to boost the ST RAM to 8MB in order for the game to start. I also copied MSLUG.PRG from the AUTO folder to the program folder. Otherwise, I would get a black screen regardless. When I used PP's hard disk driver or EmuTOS's built-in driver, I was able to run the game with 4MB. To be fair to AHDI, hard drive installable games weren't a thing when it was developed.

Bob C
User avatar
Richard
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 3:47 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Richard »

Mine is running on my real STE, with 4MB RAM, UltraSatan HD, running from an SD card with PP driver. Game running from the auto folder.

I couldn't get it to work without running it from Auto. Perhaps not quite enough memory left.

I experienced the same thing with the ending, destroyed (well stopped it shooting at me) the big double cannon thing at the end then trying to figure out where to go next I fell off the screen.
User avatar
manicx
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 646
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by manicx »

I successfully run it. Specs

STE 4MB
TOS 1.06
UltraSatan External
PP driver (registered)

Just copied the files to an X partition and switched to that on boot time. The game runs well and it is VERY impressive. A couple of times it froze and had to reset the ST (see pic below). Otherwise, perfect.
IMG_20210713_140927.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by masteries »

Richard wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:20 am
I experienced the same thing with the ending, destroyed (well stopped it shooting at me) the big double cannon thing at the end then trying to figure out where to go next I fell off the screen.
There is no more on Mission 1, you reached the end.
Final boss is exploding forever xD
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by masteries »

manicx wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 11:35 am I successfully run it. Specs

STE 4MB
TOS 1.06
UltraSatan External
PP driver (registered)

Just copied the files to an X partition and switched to that on boot time. The game runs well and it is VERY impressive. A couple of times it froze and had to reset the ST (see pic below). Otherwise, perfect.

IMG_20210713_140927.jpg
hmmm... these sort of failures are typical when any of the sprites data is bad loaded,
due to all sprite frames contain specific 68000 code, and any minor defect produces bombs crashing.


Despite this, due to you are using a CRT monitor, the complementary colouring shall work in his best fashion!
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
User avatar
metalages
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by metalages »

Excellent. Impressive work.

Were you able to re-use original logic code or do you had to reimplement it from scratch ?
stormy
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1245
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by stormy »

metalages wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 12:24 pm Excellent. Impressive work.

Were you able to re-use original logic code or do you had to reimplement it from scratch ?
He says in the first post.
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2533
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Eero Tamminen »

masteries wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 11:50 am There is no more on Mission 1, you reached the end.
Final boss is exploding forever xD
Some kind of "The End" text at that point would be nice. And a little doc in the ZIP telling the keys to use for control. :-)
User avatar
metalages
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by metalages »

stormy wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 3:21 pm
metalages wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 12:24 pm Excellent. Impressive work.

Were you able to re-use original logic code or do you had to reimplement it from scratch ?
He says in the first post.
Do not really see where. Is it a problem to repeat something ? The fact the new code in developed in c does not mean there is nothing reused as is somewhere... (in particular as neo geo is 68k based)
Post Reply

Return to “Coding”