Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

GFA, ASM, STOS, ...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 915
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by MiggyMog »

Seems ok here after about four hours running, only mod is the machine has a gotek.

https://youtu.be/wvN0yZK7Xo4
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.
User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by Anima »

MiggyMog wrote: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:17 pm Seems ok here after about four hours running, only mod is the machine has a gotek.
:cheers:
User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by Anima »

Tool and CPU arrived and I've exchanged the CPU already. Everything runs fine so far. Yay! :D
tools.jpeg
Now I'll put everything together and I hope there'll be no glitches anymore! :coffe:

Short update after more than two hours: no glitches! :cheers:

Will do another test tomorrow but it looks really good so far. The temperature of the machine is noticeably lower as well which is a nice but expected side effect.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by Anima »

After two more runs it seems that the issue has indeed been fixed by replacing the CPU. Now I can go on with the optimization and an Atari ST version. :)
User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by mrbombermillzy »

Anima wrote: Thu Jul 30, 2020 8:19 pm Now I can go on with the optimization and an Atari ST version. :)
Looking forwards to seeing an ST version of this.
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by Frank B »

Good news :)
User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by Anima »

Frank B wrote: Fri Jul 31, 2020 7:05 am Good news :)
Thanks Frank. Changing the CPU was the last "non destructive" desperate attempt to fix the problem. The next step would've been removing the parity chips on the RAM modules or even recapping the mainboard and that would be a real nightmare. ;)

I really love the low power requirement for the new CPU. The chassis is way cooler than before.
User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by Anima »

dml wrote: Wed Jul 22, 2020 10:05 pm Will be interested to know what you may discover re: support for larger disk images.
It seems that Flashfloppy on the Gotek supports HFE disks with a 1.4 MB format which can be read and written to:
B9B32991-E8CD-4537-BA33-733D7B783043.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Anima on Fri Jul 31, 2020 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
uko
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 6:45 pm
Location: France

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by uko »

Anima wrote: Thu Jul 30, 2020 8:19 pm After two more runs it seems that the issue has indeed been fixed by replacing the CPU.
Maybe this CPU did not want to admit defeat versus the blitter :lol:
User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by Anima »

Here is a first test version for Blitter equipped Atari STs. It has no sample playing and the rasters have been disabled. I need some feedback from hardware users if it runs fine on their machines because I only tested the binary on Hatari so far. :coffe:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
tzok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by tzok »

I may confirm it works just fine on a real Atari 1040 STfm:
https://youtu.be/YRCNRkYfyW0

tin
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:59 am
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by tin »

Nice :) Works just fine on a Mega ST.
User avatar
Anima
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: Atari STE Blitter objects demo (new record)

Post by Anima »

Thanks for reporting.

I am still curious if I am the only one with the hardware issues. Most likely it's related to the CPU type I had. Anyway, I am happy that it's fixed now. ;)
Post Reply

Return to “Coding”