Looking for COBOL

GFA, ASM, STOS, ...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Looking for COBOL

Post by Moulinaie »

Hi all,

I'm looking for a COBOL compiler for the Atari.
I know there were some of them in the past.

I'd be glad to get one !

Thanks,

Guillaume;
User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by Greenious »

Hehe, looking to replace your companys mainframe with an array of Atari's, eh?
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=5040
Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by Moulinaie »

Greenious wrote:Hehe, looking to replace your companys mainframe with an array of Atari's, eh?
Haha !
Why not !!

:-))
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2703
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by charles »

ahh cobol another unexplored language by myself.....and others!!

ill try to dig up what I have from years of scouring the net for Atari st programs.

just a compillier , or do u wish a editor too?
what do u have already for cobol ?
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
User avatar
Count
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by Count »

I think you can use qed for editing. But you have to keep in mind that the columns of a line have certain meanings (1-6 = line number, asterisk in 7 = comment, indentation in data division etc).
User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by viking272 »

User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by viking272 »

Ah, looks like HiSOFT released COBOL in the UK. I've emailed them asking if they would follow Gribnif's lead and release their copyrighted software as Donationware.
(I think they distributed some software and wrote some).
ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by ThorstenOtto »

penguin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:43 am

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by penguin »

Nevada Cobol is listed in Atari's software catalog as a compiler distributed by HiSoft. I don't remember any Cobol compiler reviewed for an Atari magazine. Probably now among many programs that are lost...
AtariUpToDate - Atari ST/TT/Falcon software database and version tracker: http://www.atariuptodate.de
st-computer magazine - https://st-computer.atariuptodate.de/
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2703
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by charles »

lost programs
alongside
trio engineerings "st control"
and
grand slam , akai disk label maker
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by Moulinaie »

charles wrote:ahh cobol another unexplored language by myself.....and others!!

ill try to dig up what I have from years of scouring the net for Atari st programs.

just a compillier , or do u wish a editor too?
what do u have already for cobol ?
Hi

A compiler would be enough. But if there is an integrated system with editor, compiler, sure this is better.

Guillaume
ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by ThorstenOtto »

Would https://sourceforge.net/projects/open-c ... gnu-cobol/ be an option? It translates the cobol program to C, so probably only works in conjunction with gcc (and thus only with mintt).
Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by Moulinaie »

ThorstenOtto wrote:Would https://sourceforge.net/projects/open-c ... gnu-cobol/ be an option? It translates the cobol program to C, so probably only works in conjunction with gcc (and thus only with mintt).
The idea was more to play on Atari and reuse an old software.

Guillaume
ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by ThorstenOtto »

Anyway, if you want to give it a try, it is now available at http://tho-otto.de/crossmint.php (don't get confused, this is *not* a cross-compiler, it just was built using one).

Did only a quick few tests. There seem to be some issues: i could not get it yet to use the multi-lib configuration, so currently it seems to be not possible to build 68k executables with the 020 compiler, or vice versa. And the executables get quite large, a simple "hello, world" is ~700k.
Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 299
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by Moulinaie »

ThorstenOtto wrote:Anyway, if you want to give it a try, it is now available at http://tho-otto.de/crossmint.php (don't get confused, this is *not* a cross-compiler, it just was built using one).

Did only a quick few tests. There seem to be some issues: i could not get it yet to use the multi-lib configuration, so currently it seems to be not possible to build 68k executables with the 020 compiler, or vice versa. And the executables get quite large, a simple "hello, world" is ~700k.
Hi!

I have downloaded the files but my Mint setting is limited to standard 8+3 filenames, I don't have a partition with long file names. Can I rename the files?

Guillaume.
ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: Looking for COBOL

Post by ThorstenOtto »

You can try, but as far as i've seen, the compiler also generates intermediate files with long filenames. Maybe you can work around this by running it on ramdisk that supports long filenames.
Post Reply

Return to “Coding”