YM output amplitude of volumes

GFA, ASM, STOS, ...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Targhan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:18 pm

YM output amplitude of volumes

Post by Targhan »

Hi all,

Is there somewhere a reliable table indicating, for each of the 32 steps of the volume of one channel, the amplitude of the signal? (16 for the "normal" volume, 32 if hardware envelopes are used).

One table I could find is the one from Vortex Tracker:
0, 0, $F8, $1C2, $29E, $33A, $3F2, $4D7, $610, $77F, $90A, $A42,
$C3B, $EC2, $1137, $13A7, $1750, $1BF9, $20DF, $2596, $2C9D, $3579,
$3E55, $4768, $54FF, $6624, $773B, $883F, $A1DA, $C0FC, $E094, $FFFF

Can anyone confirms this table is accurate on Atari ST? Thanks!
Targhan/Arkos.

Check out Arkos Tracker 2, (maybe?) the best 8-bit cross-platform tracker!
User avatar
FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1215
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: YM output amplitude of volumes

Post by FedePede04 »

i know there exists an volume list where the output have been measured from an ST, but i unfortunately don't have it.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)
User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 908
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: YM output amplitude of volumes

Post by MiggyMog »

Hextracker has two versions of PSG tables and they are included as files see docs https://dhs.nu/files.php?t=single&ID=135

There are other examples about. I think ggn has uploaded a few examples on github

https://github.com/ggnkua/Atari_ST_Sources/

E.g.


https://github.com/ggnkua/Atari_ST_Sour ... /ymdigi8.s

https://github.com/ggnkua/Atari_ST_Sour ... tencoder.s
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.
Targhan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:18 pm

Re: YM output amplitude of volumes

Post by Targhan »

Thanks for these links. However, I'm not sure they fit what I'm looking for. I see tables to get the values to send to the PSG according to the samples you want to play. What I need is the "electric" amplitude of the signal, for each volume step, sent to the speaker.

I don't believe any source code will have these values, unless it is for an emulator. That's why I expect someone to have made such measurements.

Thanks!
Targhan/Arkos.

Check out Arkos Tracker 2, (maybe?) the best 8-bit cross-platform tracker!
Targhan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:18 pm

Re: YM output amplitude of volumes

Post by Targhan »

Oh, I've found one from the Hatari emulator:
https://github.com/hatari/hatari/blob/m ... rc/sound.c

It's different from the one I wrote on first post, so... which one to choose now? :)
Targhan/Arkos.

Check out Arkos Tracker 2, (maybe?) the best 8-bit cross-platform tracker!
evil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:03 pm
Location: Devpac

Re: YM output amplitude of volumes

Post by evil »

Targhan wrote:Thanks for these links. However, I'm not sure they fit what I'm looking for. I see tables to get the values to send to the PSG according to the samples you want to play. What I need is the "electric" amplitude of the signal, for each volume step, sent to the speaker.

I don't believe any source code will have these values, unless it is for an emulator. That's why I expect someone to have made such measurements.

Thanks!
Hi,

Ben / Overlanders have a voltage diagram on his sc68 page:

http://sc68.atari.org/developers_technicals.html
Targhan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:18 pm

Re: YM output amplitude of volumes

Post by Targhan »

Yes thanks, I found it too and already asked him if I could use the amplitude table of SC68 and he agreed.
Targhan/Arkos.

Check out Arkos Tracker 2, (maybe?) the best 8-bit cross-platform tracker!
Post Reply

Return to “Coding”