TOS 2.05 vs 2.06 and EPROMs

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
polbit
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Fort Worth, US

TOS 2.05 vs 2.06 and EPROMs

Post by polbit »

Hey guys,

I just got me a BRAND NEW Mega STe... Very excited about it :) But, it is a 1Mb/ no HD, with TOS 2.05 model, so I need to upgrade a few things, and would like to ask some questions about it:

1. What exactly has changed between 2.05 and 2.06? Is it worth an upgrade?

2. Is there a place that can burn EPROMs in the US with TOS for reasonable money? I hate to be paying $75 for it from Best Electronics...

3. What's the easiest way to get an internal HD? I know I can get the HD Kit, but it's $125 form Best, and it's just a bit much right now...

Any help would be appreciated...

Polbit
User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: TOS 2.05 vs 2.06 and EPROMs

Post by Greenious »

1. I'm not sure. Some bugs were ofcourse fixed, and they also added the memorytest in the boot. Also I think 2.06 got support for some hardware not present in ataris at that time, like IDE interface. But I'm not sure.

2. I got TOS 2.06 for 25 USD, see my post in buy/sell forum.

3. The neatest is without a doubt to utilize the internal HDD bay on the Mega STE. The kit you buy includes a new cover for the HDD bay with brackets for a 3.5" HDD, and an internal SCSI adapter.
User avatar
polbit
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Fort Worth, US

Post by polbit »

Cool, I want them :) I sent you an e-mail, but I'll post it here as well.

I'm interested in the TOS 2.06 as well as the SIMMs for 4mb for the Mega STe. Let me know the total shipped to US and what speed is the memory, and finally, which address to use for Paypal.

Thanks a lot!

Polbit
User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Greenious »

TOS 2.06 is 20 USD
4x1mb SIMMs are 10 USD
P&p&p (paypal fees, postage& packing) is 5 USD

So it is 35 USD in total.

The simms are tested in my STE, they are 60ns. With (fake) parity. But if you look through earlier posts about memory for ST(E) you'll see that speed & parity has no relevance. As long as they are fast enough, they work. And faster simms does not improve your STs speed.
User avatar
polbit
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Fort Worth, US

Post by polbit »

Cool, let me know the email address to send it to, I'll pay right now!
User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1462
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Greenious »

For well-known reasons, I don't post my primary email in newsgroups, but I'll pm you with my email. :)

My secondary email is greenious@hotmail.com though.
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Re: TOS 2.05 vs 2.06 and EPROMs

Post by jens »

Greenious wrote:and they also added the memorytest in the boot.
I don't think they added the memory test. It just wasn't showing up on 2.05. Booting takes up the same amount of time with both...
But they added the Atari logo on bootup. :D

You may want to have a look at the in-depth tos 2.06 user guide which I found and now host on my sometimes switched on Atari Falcon.
Try http://jens-inge.dyndns.org/ to see whether my Falcon is online or not.
You may probably succeed on week-days when the european time is near to what is called evening :wink:
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060
jens
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:50 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Re: TOS 2.05 vs 2.06 and EPROMs

Post by jens »

polbit wrote:3. What's the easiest way to get an internal HD? I know I can get the HD Kit, but it's $125 form Best, and it's just a bit much right now...
Look here: http://cgi.ebay.de/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie ... 72668&rd=1
Btw: not my auction, not the auction of anyone I know.
The guy is sending sending this item to anyone worldwide. :D
Greetings, Jens

Falcon030 - TT030 - Mega/STe - 1040 STf - 520 ST+ - ST-Book - Milan 060
User avatar
polbit
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Fort Worth, US

Post by polbit »

Thanks, that would've been good, but I need the whole kit (with the new casing...)

I think I will have to give in and pay the $125, can't find it cheaper anywhere else...
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”