ACSI 2 SD

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
olivierg
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

ACSI 2 SD

Post by olivierg »

Hello everyone,

I did not find a topic about this project on the forum.
Has anyone used this product?
https://www.eltradec.eu/index.php/en/project-acsi2sd-en

I cannot program a blank IC. I have the impression that it is the program that I program and not the target, after that I can no longer connect to the programmer (kitprog).

Thanks
Olivier

Ps: I found this project similar but simpler and cheaper: https://github.com/retro16/acsi2stm
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06 SCSI2SD 5.x HD, Mega STE 4Mb TOS 2.06 DD, Mega ST4 DD miniCosmosEX, Mega ST2 DD, 1040 STE DD, 2 x 1040STFM DD, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1
User avatar
DoG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:02 pm

Re: ACSI 2 SD

Post by DoG »

How much does it differ from satandisk?
tzok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: ACSI 2 SD

Post by tzok »

I haven't heard about the one on Cypress SoC, but I've seen the one on STM32 - it is a pity, that it was done on the Arduino IDE, as it has no support for DMA.
wietze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: ACSI 2 SD

Post by wietze »

I'd be interested in one of those acsi2sd; incase you decide to start making them!
tin
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:59 am
Contact:

Re: ACSI 2 SD

Post by tin »

I got one of those eltradec ACSI2SD - this one https://www.eltradec.eu/index.php/en/w/7914 to be precise.

It is very easy to solder (just one or two smd resistors). Be aware that some sturdy, thick wire is needed (not in the kit) to attach the ACSI connector (the only thing to do that‘s a bit fiddly).

Performance is very good, it‘s a tad faster (a bit over 1MB/s) than any of my CE‘s. I think that‘s the peek performance the ST DMA can deliver.
tzok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: ACSI 2 SD

Post by tzok »

The peak performance DMA can deliver is about 1.8MB/s and it is possible to achieve with P. Putnik's ACSI CF interface (yet, it doesn't support autoboot).
2020-07-30 21.11.51.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
olivierg
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: ACSI 2 SD

Post by olivierg »

I redone the PCB, to have all the components on the same side and used a stencil to solder.

It seemed to me to have less component than ultrasatan. I don't know if it's faster or slower.

I saw a topic on the German forum, but I dare not ask the question in English.
https://forum.atari-home.de/index.php/t ... 964.0.html

Thanks
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06 SCSI2SD 5.x HD, Mega STE 4Mb TOS 2.06 DD, Mega ST4 DD miniCosmosEX, Mega ST2 DD, 1040 STE DD, 2 x 1040STFM DD, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1
wietze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: ACSI 2 SD

Post by wietze »

I dont know how reliable the tool is but; with CE I get these results:
Image
User avatar
olivierg
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: ACSI 2 SD

Post by olivierg »

wietze wrote: Tue Sep 29, 2020 8:50 am I dont know how reliable the tool is but; with CE I get these results:
I use the same tools, it's just for compar.

But CE (CosmosEx) i many expensive for users who just want a 'hard drive'.
You know me, I'm looking for not too expensive solutions (And again, this week, I recommend a smallymouse, but the person found it expensive (extreme case)), to bring life back to ATARI machines, if it becomes too expensive, the old user stops and the community disappears.

If this project offers slightly lower performance than CE, it is not important if the price is affordable (max 40 euro, assembed with case).

For reply Dog:
I do not know the performance of Satandisk. But having 2 ICs to program is already boring, more work on my side.

olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06 SCSI2SD 5.x HD, Mega STE 4Mb TOS 2.06 DD, Mega ST4 DD miniCosmosEX, Mega ST2 DD, 1040 STE DD, 2 x 1040STFM DD, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1
User avatar
olivierg
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: ACSI 2 SD

Post by olivierg »

To come back to my initial question, I think I understood why I cannot program new PSOCs, the kitprog is limited to PSOCs already with a bootloader, which is not the case with blank ICs. you need another programmer 'miniprog' and do it in JTAG. On the PCB there are 2 types of connections for the 2 types of programmer, it is not for nothing.

I redo the PCB with the JTAG ....

Thanks
Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06 SCSI2SD 5.x HD, Mega STE 4Mb TOS 2.06 DD, Mega ST4 DD miniCosmosEX, Mega ST2 DD, 1040 STE DD, 2 x 1040STFM DD, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”