Atari 1040 STe Drive Swap Mod Problem

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Oguzog
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 10:39 am

Atari 1040 STe Drive Swap Mod Problem

Post by Oguzog »

My 1040STe has some modifications;

Quadtos (1.06-.1.62-2.06-SuperTOS)
And
boot floopy selector (by wiring 2 of yamaha chip pins)

I did that because wanted to boot from my gotek (which has HxC fw)

now i don't need to boot from gotek anymore.

All i want is copy from st to real disk.

but i tried every combination but no way my ste see the contents of a and b drive same time. so i cannot copy disks. What do i do wrong?

Whatever i do, I cannot access both drives. Only one works.

My friend made this mod.

Let's see if my mod is faulty.

Pin 19 Chip --> Red --> SW 3
Pin 20 Chip --> Green --> SW 6
Pin 19 MB --> White --> SW 2
Pin 20 MB --> White --> SW 5

Switch numbering (Solder Side)
1-2-3
4-5-6

There is also 2 blue wires soldered;

Blue Wire 1 --> SW 1 to SW 6
Blue Wire 2 --> SW 4 to SW 3

Conclusion;

SW Left (External Boot)
1(which connected to 6) to 2 --> 19 MB to 20 Chip
4(Which connected to 3) to 5 --> 20 MB to 19 Chip

SW Right (Internal Boot)
2-3 --> 19 MB to 19 Chip
5-6 --> 20 MB to 20 Chip

Image
Image
Image
Image
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: Atari 1040 STe Drive Swap Mod Problem

Post by neanderthal »

That was interesting,then you get the same problem that I got when using the jumper fields that you see there in your pictures W300 and W301.The whole thing can be done via them,which I did on a machine of mine.However then I only needed to swap drive A to external so never investigated more.Began to look at it and realized in STE schematics they wired in both D0Sel and D1Sel to internal in comparison to a mega ST schema.Have to take a look at the oldstyle adressing since we are using the internal in adress DS1.
Oguzog
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 10:39 am

Re: Atari 1040 STe Drive Swap Mod Problem

Post by Oguzog »

Progress;

I think i have faulty connection in my cable;

On the left my cable. on the right correct diagram ( i suppose)

So first i will desolder FD14 to DIN5.
then desolder FD10 to DIN8 and solder to DIN5.

Will this be enough?

Also this correct guide states all the odd pins must be connected to 3 and 7.

Is that mandatory? if i leave like this (Only 13 and 27 connected to 3 and 7) will i be in trouble again?

Image
tzok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: Atari 1040 STe Drive Swap Mod Problem

Post by tzok »

For Gotek it will be enough to connect pin 5 of DIN-14 to pin 10 of FDD connector. Pins 6 and 8 from DIN-14 may be left unconnected, as on STf/e pin 6 is never asserted, and Gotek ignores the Motor On signal. Pin 14 on Gotek is not connected at all. Depending on the jumper position (D1, D0, M0) Gotek can pick the Drive Select signal from lines 10, 12, or 16.
Oguzog
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 10:39 am

Re: Atari 1040 STe Drive Swap Mod Problem

Post by Oguzog »

I've corrected my cabling and it works great!

Thanks tzok!
neanderthal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:58 pm

Re: Atari 1040 STe Drive Swap Mod Problem

Post by neanderthal »

A bit of update from me aswell,did a bit of testing and stuff with the internal jumpers thing.
Might be of interrest to gotek folks and others that stumbled on drives gone haywire with age.(actually spent last evening fixing up a old NEC FD1137 while tested it out,that was fun)
Havent really seen this stuff around so did a draft of sorts.
----------------------
Atari STE floppy jumpers W300-301.

W300 position.

2-3 (default)external drive will be fed with +5v(1) on DS1,pin6 on external
connector.
Thus only possible to have one external drive.

1-2 Internal DS1 will be fed out to external connector aswell making it possible
to have both drives external.

W301 position.(selects where external DS0 will go,pin5 on external connector)

2-3 (default)selects internal DS1 making the single external on DS0 drive B:
This is a trick for the old original ST drives to be the second drive.

1-2 feeds DS0 to external connector aswell on DS0(pin5) making it the
boot drive (A:)
which of course makes the standard internal DS0 not usable.(clashes)
However in the STE the DS1 is connected to internal connector so can use
internal as drive B: if drive responds to DS1.

----------------------
My quess would be that gotek and such users will be benefit from this,for then you can avoid the cut MFP legs and such.
All depends to taste I quess?
However by just using W301 you can select external as boot(A:) and even use internal as B: if device is as a default standard
PC floppy,these are normally wired as DS1.

Might be handy a thing,,then again not the benefit of switching back and forth between A: and B: as the PSG switcharoo.

And yea,,depending of mobo version,the latter had this hardwired into mobo,so might have to cut a trace or so and then install jumpers.Fortunately the place for jumpers are there at least on my mobos :)
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”