1040STf chip location help wanted

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
KLund1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 516
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

1040STf chip location help wanted

Post by KLund1 »

Hi everyone.
I have a 1040STf rec D like this
http://www.atari-wiki.com/?title=File:1 ... d_revD.jpg
I pulled out the 2 square IC's in the lower right to test in another board. I got the chips mixed up and now I do not know which goes in which socket.
Could someone be a kind hart and give me the Atari part number COxxxxxx, matched with the socket number for this board?
I have looked at all the google images and they all have the metal strap covering the part number.
Many thanks
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2
User avatar
Arne
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: 1040STf chip location help wanted

Post by Arne »

Why don't you use Brain 1.0?
Take any ST schematic and you'll see that MMU's GND are located on pins 27 and 61. GLUE's GND is on pin 35.
Now take a Multimeter/Ohmmeter and check which socket is which.
-912 is MMU, -915 is GLUE.
Easy, isn't it :?:
Image
tzok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: 1040STf chip location help wanted

Post by tzok »

Image
User avatar
Arne
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: 1040STf chip location help wanted

Post by Arne »

@tzok: don't offer fish, teach people how to do fishing :wink:
Image
KLund1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 516
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: 1040STf chip location help wanted

Post by KLund1 »

Arne; Yes, if one knows how to find the correct version, read and then translate the schematics to actual physical objects with a measurement tool. That is definitely not me. I can barely measure AA batteries with a multimeter, and 50/50 chance I get the polarity right. But I'm trying to learn.
tzok; thank you, very helpful.
UPDATED: Falcon 030(FX-1)(CF int & removable SD), MSTE 4+PS3000 4160STE 2.06+HDFD STacy4-internal-USD 1040STFM+I.B.Driver-5.25"FDD 1040STF 1040ST 520ST-AdSpeed 400-48k 800+810x2+820+822+825+830+835+850, 800XL+IndusGT 600XL 130XE+XF551x2 Portfolio 1200XL APE(Warp+32in1 OS SuperVideo 2.1 256k RAMBO)+1050x2 USD'd+SIO2PC, PC1+PCH204+PCM124+PCF554x2
User avatar
Arne
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 648
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:01 am

Re: 1040STf chip location help wanted

Post by Arne »

KLund1 wrote:Arne; Yes, if one knows how to find the correct version, read and then translate the schematics to actual physical objects with a measurement tool. That is definitely not me. I can barely measure AA batteries with a multimeter, and 50/50 chance I get the polarity right. But I'm trying to learn.
Then you should not - under no circumstances - open the case of your precious Atari :wink:
Anyway: set your multimeter to measure Ohms (most have an additional button to make the meter beep when the resistance is very low - <20 Ohms e.g.). The good thing is polarity of the two cables is of no importance.
Just put one lead at pin35 of one PLCC socket and the other lead at the blank metal stripe surrounding the PCB - that's GND. If it beeps, that socket is for Glue. If it does not beep then try again with the other PLCC. Do this only with disconnected power cord of course. STF(M) and MST do have an internal PSU. Be aware that it still holds hazardous voltages in its capacitors for a while even if switched off :!: Better wait 5 mins before doing any measurement.
And you don't need the correct schematic - just one for 260/520/1040/MegaST with 68pin MMU/Glue as these are interchangeable between these models. Hope that helps as a starter.
Image
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”