My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
LevelFT
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by LevelFT »

LevelFT wrote:
ube wrote:Nah. Wating for a new revision. Ought to turn up next week. And after that one has been confirmed it’s another week for ordering a full batch plus components.
I'll wait patiently.....I'll order one as soon as they are available :)
Any news Ube ? :D
User avatar
ube
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by ube »

Yep. Got the PCBs on Friday. Spent a few hours assembling 25 boards, ran out of solder paste. So production is stopped until Wednesday when I get more paste. Good news is that I had 0% failure rate on this batch, down from 10-15%.
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b
rcamp48
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:03 am

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by rcamp48 »

OK am interested in one when you have it available...... Russ
Now supporting Atari Portfolio , my archives are still being maintained.
BBS is now up again as an Atari BBS, run on PC, cause I sold everything but my Atari Portfolio.
Note: Atari Portfolio IDE CF kits are being made. Get yours today! :megaphone:
Note that my BBS is back online with Win-server 8.0454.8 at telnet://spyvisitsspybbs.com:1990 and http://www.spyvisitsspybbs.com:1991
User avatar
Lando_C
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:31 am
Location: Sweden

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by Lando_C »

Argh. The Ubeswitch mark V is incompatible with using an external floppy on the mega.. too narrow spacing between contacts. Any suggestions?
UK 1040 STF, SE kbd, SE tos 1.04, gotekHxC+floppy B internally, ATX psu on the side
DE Mega 1
SE Mega 2, no keyboard
SE Mega ST 4
Megafile 20 with 2 MFM drive mechanisms (80+20 meg) in hacked case, ATX psu on the side
Megafile 30
Megafile 60
SH 204
SM124, SM125, Samsung SyncMaster 930mp 19 inch 4:3 lcd tv rgbscart and VGA for STHIgh
PC Intel i5 8G ram many disks
5xRaspberry pi
Almerian
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by Almerian »

Lando_C wrote:Argh. The Ubeswitch mark V is incompatible with using an external floppy on the mega.. too narrow spacing between contacts. Any suggestions?
Perhaps a short video extension cable 13 pin male to 13 pin female?
User avatar
Lando_C
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:31 am
Location: Sweden

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by Lando_C »

Good suggestion, but those are rare...
UK 1040 STF, SE kbd, SE tos 1.04, gotekHxC+floppy B internally, ATX psu on the side
DE Mega 1
SE Mega 2, no keyboard
SE Mega ST 4
Megafile 20 with 2 MFM drive mechanisms (80+20 meg) in hacked case, ATX psu on the side
Megafile 30
Megafile 60
SH 204
SM124, SM125, Samsung SyncMaster 930mp 19 inch 4:3 lcd tv rgbscart and VGA for STHIgh
PC Intel i5 8G ram many disks
5xRaspberry pi
User avatar
ube
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by ube »

Lando_C wrote:Argh. The Ubeswitch mark V is incompatible with using an external floppy on the mega.. too narrow spacing between contacts. Any suggestions?
Good thing I’ve fiddled with a Mega version then. :) Can probably make one for you as well, just need to order PCBs.
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b
User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1366
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by leech »

Hey, so I have one of the earlier versions of this adapter, but it has an amazing picture, especially compared to the Best Electronics cable.

https://www.videogameperfection.com/for ... post-20155

That thread went way off topic of my 8bit, but I was able to get ST-High displaying. Do I just have one old enough that it doesn't save if it's Mono/Color? I thought I read somewhere that the newer ones do.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)
User avatar
ube
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by ube »

It should. If you hold the button for +2s it should save the current state as default at power on. It’ll always boot into lowres on reset.
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b
User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1366
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by leech »

Thanks! Couldn't remember that. The image quality is amazing for it though. ST-High on a 55" TV is cool too. Though I have a Falcon and TT, so not a lot of use for me on a 1040STe. But for someone else who wants to go down this route, could be nice.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)
User avatar
ube
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by ube »

And they’re available for ordering now.

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0107
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b
User avatar
Lando_C
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:31 am
Location: Sweden

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by Lando_C »

[quote="ube"][quote="Lando_C"]Argh. The Ubeswitch mark V is incompatible with using an external floppy on the mega.. too narrow spacing between contacts. Any suggestions?[/quote]

Good thing I’ve fiddled with a Mega version then. :) Can probably make one for you as well, just need to order PCBs.[/quote]


Lovely! I'll get on tuch on facebook again (retrodatorgruppen)
UK 1040 STF, SE kbd, SE tos 1.04, gotekHxC+floppy B internally, ATX psu on the side
DE Mega 1
SE Mega 2, no keyboard
SE Mega ST 4
Megafile 20 with 2 MFM drive mechanisms (80+20 meg) in hacked case, ATX psu on the side
Megafile 30
Megafile 60
SH 204
SM124, SM125, Samsung SyncMaster 930mp 19 inch 4:3 lcd tv rgbscart and VGA for STHIgh
PC Intel i5 8G ram many disks
5xRaspberry pi
LevelFT
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by LevelFT »

Yesssss finally available :)

Quick question 1: does anybody have a nice case design that I can't 3D print ?
Quick question 2: since it doesn't fit the Mega ST, will it fit on the Mega STE ?

As an alternative I might try to hack this inside of my Mega STE....anyone ever done that ?
LevelFT
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by LevelFT »

I'm thinking more and more about putting it inside my MSTE. I think it would be easy enough to put it on the spot where the RS-232 connector on the VME position is now. Who needs three RS-232s ?

The "only" thing to do is wire all monitor connector signals from the PCB to the VGA adapter........mmmm
LevelFT
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by LevelFT »

ube wrote:And they’re available for ordering now.

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0107
Would you have one with the DIN connector not installed ?


Probably not....LOL
LevelFT
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by LevelFT »

Ordered one...
mightydimo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:11 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by mightydimo »

Would this work for full colour on an Atari 1040 STf?
User avatar
leech
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1366
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by leech »

mightydimo wrote:Would this work for full colour on an Atari 1040 STf?
Yes. You need a monitor that can handle 15khz VGA.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (VBXE, U1MB, Stereo POKEY)
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)
LevelFT
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by LevelFT »

Well I've been using it for a while now and Im happy with it but it's not perfect.

First of all, there is no manual. I can't understand why sellers cannot make a small manual on paper and include it with the product.

Second, the button is extremely small and doesn't provide a clear feedback to the finger (there is no real click that you can hear or feel) so I have no idea wether I pressed it right or not. Remember that this thing is on the back of the Mega STE which is hard to reach a small it is.....The function of the button also does not seem to work.

However, there is not often need to switch, games usually boot up in hires and then later switch to color fine. Not all, but most work this way. Sometimes a simple reboot helps.

A second issue, and this is a big one, is that there is a LOT of reflections on the screen. It really hurts the picture quality. It seems like the incorrect impedance was used ?
User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1462
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by troed »

Are you comparing to another RGB output cable? The STE is famed for the ringing (dark shadows to the right of high contrast edges). That fix has to be done in the computer.
LevelFT
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by LevelFT »

I can't really compare, all I can compare to is a regular ST to SCART cable on a B&O MX4000 CRT TV which shows no or little of this issue.

But it could well be a problem of the Mega STE itself that only shows up with an LCD monitor.of course, do you have a link or other info to solve this ?
User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1462
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by troed »

Does the SCART cable use RGB or composite? If RGB you should indeed see it on the CRT TV as well.

Here are some images on how it looks, and the fix: https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/ ... /index.htm
LevelFT
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:38 pm

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by LevelFT »

Yes my SCART cable is RGB too.

Thanks for the link !
User avatar
ube
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: My new, compact Atari -> VGA adapter.

Post by ube »

LevelFT wrote:Well I've been using it for a while now and Im happy with it but it's not perfect.
:(
LevelFT wrote:First of all, there is no manual. I can't understand why sellers cannot make a small manual on paper and include it with the product.
Well, there is. It's linked from the store. Paper is sooo 90's and who wants to go back to.. oh wait. :)
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/forum/viewt ... f=27&t=161
LevelFT wrote:Second, the button is extremely small and doesn't provide a clear feedback to the finger (there is no real click that you can hear or feel) so I have no idea wether I pressed it right or not. Remember that this thing is on the back of the Mega STE which is hard to reach a small it is.....The function of the button also does not seem to work.
There is a pin header under the button so you can add an external button, just for MST(E)s. I realise that it's not included in the manual, however it says ext. button on the board. Unless you've got the first version.. If so, I'll trade you that one for a new one. Mega users should have that function. PM ME
LevelFT wrote:However, there is not often need to switch, games usually boot up in hires and then later switch to color fine. Not all, but most work this way. Sometimes a simple reboot helps.
That could indicate your PSU needs a recap. Pressing reset will always bring you into low res since there is no (certain, due to old PSUs and such) way to detect if there's been a reset. Cold boot will bring you to saved state, I usually keep the saved state as hires since a reset will bring me back to lowres.
LevelFT wrote:A second issue, and this is a big one, is that there is a LOT of reflections on the screen. It really hurts the picture quality. It seems like the incorrect impedance was used ?
Reflections? How? Could I see a picture? There's no trickery done to the signal from the switch (apart from the 6ohms added by the multiplexer).
Atari STE w/ MicroCosmosex | Atari Falcon w/ Skunk| ubeswitch mk1 | ubeswitch mk2 | ubeswitch mk4 | ubeswitch mk5 | ubeswitch mk6 | ubeswitch mk6 v1.1b
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”