PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

guus.assmann
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:34 pm
Location: Ede Netherlands

PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by guus.assmann »

This evening I will try to have the PAK68 boot from the MB-Tos and report the result.

If you put JP8 to JP11 on 2/3, then slow Eproms are ok.

Q: If you put a regular 68000 in the MB, with any Tos, will it boot ok?

BR/
Guus Assmann
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4722
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by joska »

guus.assmann wrote:Q: If you put a regular 68000 in the MB, with any Tos, will it boot ok?
Yes, no problem with a 68000 instead of the PAK.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
guus.assmann
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:34 pm
Location: Ede Netherlands

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by guus.assmann »

So I've been testing.
Either Tos 1.04 or 2.06 do get the PAK68/2 started.
But is made no difference if JP2 is on or off. It should I guess.
And it's always the German Tos, not the UK one in the MB.

Removing JP4 does make the board see the FPU.
And I tested with 16, 40 and 56 Mhz. There's a difference between 16 and 40. But hardly any more when I go to 56, just a little more heat.

Moving all JP8 to JP11 to position 1/2 makes nu visable difference, but the board keeps working.
I've tested with Gembench 4.03 and 6. Also tries syscheck. All work fine and there's been no stange behaviour.
All in all, both PAK68/2 do work fine.

So Joska, I guess there's just one question left, are you sure the wire patches are in the right place?
That's the last thing I can think of to look for.
Else, just send the board to Frank, he may be able to sort it out.
BR/
Guus Assmann
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4722
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by joska »

Thanks for testing this :) Yes, the wire patches are OK. Your test-results with TOS-versions and JP2 are pretty much the same as mine. Although I can't get it to boot the logic analyser tells me that it's always booting from the PAK ROMs.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
guus.assmann
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:34 pm
Location: Ede Netherlands

PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by guus.assmann »

Today I put a socket in a MegaST 2.
For the rest it's standard and has the IMP Shifter, MMU, Glue and DMA.
I've left the Tos 1.04 in it.
The PAK68/2 works just fine. I've tested with Gembench 6 and 4.03
That's 3 different boards they do work in. (I have 2 peices)
BR/
Guus Assmann
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4722
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by joska »

Ok, I tried to replace the CPU. It did not make any difference. So I'm sending you the fully populated card.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

fine ...

Please put a 64pin DIL socket over/on the CPU/Board contacts pins from the Card !
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
oehansen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by oehansen »

I'm also interrested! ... any left for me?
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

I have a build up and tested PAK68/2 left with TOS 2.06 (DE, UK or US TOS) for 100,- Euro plus postage with DHL.
fertig_1_klein.jpg
... or a PCB with the Hardware Patches for 36,- Euro incl. postage Worldwide. A GAL Set programmed costs 12,- Euro extra and TOS 2.06 costs 20,- Euro extra, a PGA Socket is 5,- Euro and a CPU plus FPU are 30,- Euro extra. With all the parts the postage is more with DHL.
roh_1_klein.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
oehansen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by oehansen »

What about speeds above 16Mhz? Is there anything that would stop one from putting a 25Mhz on the board?
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

You must modify the circuit and the GALs. For an Idea see the PAK68/3 ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

I have one PCB left at the moment, the assembled PAK68/2 is sold ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

New 9 piece Error free PCBs left ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
Hardcore8UK
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 6:35 am
Location: Scotland

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by Hardcore8UK »

I'm definitely interested in one please fully assembled
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by mikro »

I'm curious, why PAK68/2 and not PAK68/3? (incl. the addons like RAM card etc)
Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by Maeke »

mikro wrote:I'm curious, why PAK68/2 and not PAK68/3? (incl. the addons like RAM card etc)
Do you have the files needed to build it?
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by mikro »

See, that's why I am asking. :-) I had the feeling that someone in the ST Facebook group has shown his own PAK68/3 development but I might have misunderstood.

On the other hand, this: http://www.wrsonline.de/pak3.html isn't enough? (again, just asking)
Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by Maeke »

mikro wrote:See, that's why I am asking. :-) I had the feeling that someone in the ST Facebook group has shown his own PAK68/3 development but I might have misunderstood.

On the other hand, this: http://www.wrsonline.de/pak3.html isn't enough? (again, just asking)
Well can't say, i'm more interested in the panther/2, but for a ste.

Edit; just verified, there isn't any schematics or layout as far as i can see.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by mikro »

Schematics and PCB are here: http://www.wrsonline.de/download.html#PAKPLAN (the PCB is below this one)
Maeke
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 1:54 pm

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by Maeke »

No it's not the schematics, just the componants implantation.
And i can't call that a layout, just unpopulated board photos (and not in a high definition).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by mikro »

I guess that is what is Ingo's project about -- to make *real* layouts out of this photos/sketches (which are hires enough to make something out of it but of course it takes some effort).
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4466
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by DarkLord »

There is a thread here at AF. I think it's called "RePak" or something like that.

I don't believe it's had much activity in quite a while... :(
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
oehansen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by oehansen »

Has anyone modified the ROM part, to use modern flash roms or static rams?
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1941
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

As Amiga Speeder there are a Mod with SRAM´s ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
soviet9922
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by soviet9922 »

Hi some questions about the PAK68/2:
how fast it run in mhz ?.
Works on a 1040stf ?,
Is available for sale ?.
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”